August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Real Life Simulator

by TailyILoveYou - Jam Entry

HOW TO PLAY: Every ten seconds you remember a chore. If you stockpile too many chores, you get depressed and kill yourself.

WASD to move, E to interact, ARROW KEYS to look around.

Special thanks to everyone who let me steal their music without asking,
LINKS FOR MUSIC:
Shepherd's Pie Right Now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoF_cgomrKI

Weed Circulation: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEoMI9BwHp4

Kokoro: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baUY9LFlYh0

Slap Time: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_L_e1GcddRQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#38Humor(Jam)3.75
#80Innovation(Jam)3.55
#85Overall(Jam)3.58
#103Fun(Jam)3.42
#124Mood(Jam)3.38
#149Graphics(Jam)3.79
#186Theme(Jam)3.34
#457Audio(Jam)2.09

Comments

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:33am

Not working on Firefox (Windows) :(

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:39am

This is the first game I've played that had an existentialism meter. You certainly nailed the dark humor, and the graphics have a certain charm.

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

Worked on Chrome. Funny game, after retrying the music cut off a couple of minutes into my second round and stayed off which was sad.

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37am

well this was silly :3

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:19am

love the graphics, animations, humor. well donee

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

I'm not okay with you just grabbing music from others without permission since it's against the rules and the spirit of the whole thing, though maybe things are more lax in the jam vs. the compo? Nice graphics though.

Tiago says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

Didn't work on Safari, but worked on Chrome!

Very nice and funny game hahaha, finally got to finish it after some tries, the to do list can get quite hard some times! just missing some music, but overall good job!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23pm

@Steve Cochrane Yeah I feel pretty scummy about just taking people's music, but the Jam is indeed much more lax about that kind of stuff, and I tried to hide the music a little so it's more of an easter egg than a crutch of the game. I would have totally made my own music if I had the full 72 hours to work.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Good art and design!

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Nice game! Very nice art style and funny chores. I couldn't play the newgrounds version because I don't have an account, so the mirror was nice :) well done!

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Try to give credit to the creators of music somewhere. Soundtrack is great! :D This game is really funny! I wonder, where did the dildo disappear to...? And why does he want to make a toast when he says "Fuck."? :D

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18pm

One of the funniest games I played yet! Ending "reward" was best.

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Hehe... man that was dark. But the sounds and graphics are superb.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:40pm

I like the movement, the concept, missed music ingame, but anyway good job.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

funny but the music did not work.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Great :D First time I can make suicide.

Meep says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20am

Brilliant! Like others've said, dark humor, but very well put together. Nice work!

jrbitt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

Very fun and I good the sensation lot of thing to do each 10 second one more thing, one more more...very good!

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Skeleton in the first room) lol

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Was fun! saw some strange objects also!

manuq says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Very fun and great humorous graphics!

Tritax says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:13am

Web link doesn't seem to work. Stealing music from others really goes against the spirit (and rules) of Ludum Dare as well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]