August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Faster Than before

by martijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You live for 10 seconds. Grab as much coins without ten seconds and use to coins to upgrade your abilities. Grow stronger every 10 seconds. Beat the game by reaching the finish line (right side of the level) withing 10 seconds.

You start out with slow movement speed, this is by design and not an performace issue

Runs flawlessy under wine, so Linux user can enjoy it as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Fun3.54
#418Overall3.19
#418Innovation3.15
#459Audio2.72
#510Theme3.23
#556Graphics2.88
#814Mood2.40
#919Humor1.56
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

There are issues with frame time. When I get low FPS I move too slowly and cannot jump, and it happens constantly on Wine.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Pretty cool upgrade system and the 10 seconds you have to reach further distances. Also I was constantly getting missing DLL error.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44am

Very nifty idea!

It really gets tough to the right end. Quite well done!

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Overall: addictive evolution-type game. The fun saves the whole thing.

Innovation: not the first time, when a game with this concept is made, but still enjoyable.

Fun: instafive.

Theme: you have 10 seconds. Nothing special.

Graphics: menu texts are horrible, remind me of CilpArt texts from Microsoft Word (or whatever, can't remember which program used them), the rest is minimal but OK.

Audio: one constantly repeated music. At least it's not annoying.

Humor: no.

Mood: neither.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59pm

That unplayable on my PC :(, seems that you can't jump when you have low FPS :/

totalspelnerd says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

@vittorioromeo and @necmelt2006,
there is no fps problems, you need to uppdgrade your jump height when you collect coins, same with the speed.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

@totalspelnerd
now i get it, sorry ^^'

kannas says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:32am

i found the start of the game quite confusing due to the shop commands. i spent the first minutes stalling trying to understand how did it work. neverthless, interesting game, good job :)

chaosBrick says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Cool concept, i like how the platformer feeling progressiveley turned into a racing to the right.

VardGames says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:08am

the audio was good

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:00pm

First off, I got "Inside a Star-Filled Sky" vibes from both the graphic style and the gameplay (even though they are not really alike mechanics wise...). So that is a very good thing. Then too bad the audio was mainly the drum loop for a long time, it got a little grating after a while. Very good concept though, with enough polish, this would make a very nifty game.

Tegu says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:16pm

"You beat the game!" Yayy! The upgrade system was pretty funny and it was nice that you could rebalance your skills if you had for example too much jump and too little right speed. And yea, separate fields for left and right movement was kinda unique, too. Not sure if this is a bug but it felt a bit weird: if you pressed space in the shop, you didn't spawn to the beginning but if you pressed enter you'd get back to the beginning. That way you could travel over 10 seconds and only had to reset if you fell down. It made this a lot easier. It was good that you could control your jump height, saved time when you didn't have to make giant leaps if smaller bump was enough.

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Fun game, especially like how the gameplay evolves and strategies change for traversing the level. The shop could have used a bit more love, but hey, compo time is limited :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Really neat idea. Good job!

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Not bad idea, i like this simple graphic style, is very suitable to main-game idea. Good work.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:56pm

The idea of starting from the same point each time, but with upgraded abilities was quite remarkable. Things really got hectic after a few minutes when the speed an everything boosted up. Also, I liked how you could just reallocate coins to any ability.
The music loop got boring after a while. The movements were nice and smooth, though.

mitkus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Nice graphics, cool idea. At first I got frustrated when I got stuck in a hole to the left of starting position, but then figured things out eventually.

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Cool game. I like the concept. After a while it's hard to keep having control over your character though.

Gazok says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I admit, I wasn't expecting much from the screenshots, but it has a really good feel to it, and I actually started to like the graphical style. I did feel that the "coins" were a bit hard to see sometimes, but overall it was a lot of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]