August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Total Spaghettification

by unusualcadence - Jam Entry

Update: I've reclassified this as a 72 hour Jam Entry, and taken the opportunity to create a new practice/sandbox map so people can get used to the controls without getting frustrated with the main game's time limit!

I've also tweaked levels here and there to iron out some of the kinks and sticking points, hopefully resulting in a fairer experience! Oh I also threw an extra tune in there for good measure.

The Game:

Oh no! Your spacecraft has hit the event horizon of a black hole, and you're going to experience Total Spaghettification if you don't act quick and run to the other end of the ship!

This game is about speed running, preserving momentum, and doing sweet lines through levels. Each level has a set amount of time to clear, make sure you do it before the clock runs out!

The controls should be explained in-game. If it doesn't make sense, then I have failed and will have to do better next time :D

Hope you enjoy this!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#21Audio3.89
#30Fun(Jam)3.74
#50Audio(Jam)3.69
#69Overall(Jam)3.70
#124Mood(Jam)3.38
#125Graphics3.79
#142Innovation(Jam)3.33
#187Fun3.42
#229Graphics(Jam)3.51
#241Mood3.19
#271Overall3.37
#365Humor(Jam)2.13
#528Theme(Jam)2.49
#563Innovation2.95
#1083Theme2.37

Comments

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10am

Great music and mood. A bit hard to taste and the tutorials were a hard to read while trying to jump and slide :) Solid work though!

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Okay so I loved the mood, and I think the control systems are a good idea! It does need some tweaking to avoid being incredibly hard though - I thought fall damage maybe made it a bit too difficult. Did you try giving the player the ability to control normal movement? Was that too easy?

I liked the idea though. Would like to see this control scheme panned out in another game!

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I really liked the run animation!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Really tough to get the wall jump working so gave up. Great music and visuals though.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Nice! I really liked it. If it gets a little bit more developed, this can be totally awesome. Nice soundtrack and effects. The "10 seconds" stuf is not always present though.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Very good and fun game. Especially for two days, great job

Muznak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Really enjoyed it, tutorials could have been better though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:24pm

That is some rad soundtrack you've got there! The 8-bit-style graphics are also awesome. Once you get the controls, the gameplay bocomes one of the smoothest and most enjoyable things ever. Great work, definitely one of mt fav games so far!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Game mechanics are good and movement/control is feeling right. Maybe little bit bigger resolution, we aren't in CGA era anymore :-). Well done.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Good, I suck at platformers so I haven't been very far but I liked what I saw. Tip: the controls are less friendly for players with non-QWERTY keyboards (my Z key is where the W is on a QWERTY layout), using the X and C keys should work for all keyboard configurations.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I had a bit of trouble with the controls... Losing momentum when you hit a wall, but not when you jump-hit it and keeping grabbed to a wall even when running (if 'z' is pressed) took me some time to get used. But those are mostly caused by me not having fully learned the controls.

The level tileset is really detailed, and particles are always welcomed! xD

Great game! :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:01pm

The concept is innovative and the graphics are really good. The controls are a bit difficult to manage at the beginning, but then the game is pretty cool! :)

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I got really far, but it was getting very difficult and I gave up :( Well, I think I got far, for all I know there could be 500 more levels!?! Wall jumping can be pretty hard at times, but it was more the leaps of faith that done me in. Love the level graphics!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:38pm

@cafeine: ah whoops, that was a bad oversight. I can quickly add some alternative keys for non QWERTY players!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

OK I did a quick patch to add additional keys. 'Z/X' can be replaced with 'A/S' or 'O/P'. I hope this is useful. Also updated the webpage (which I need to format nicely, haha) to reflect this, plus letting you know that F1 and F toggle full-screen. Do'h!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Argh, great music and mood oh damn it's difficult. Controls definitely take time to used to. Nice game though.

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:57am

I was going to give this game another go and was surprised to find out that you updated it.

This time I can say for sure: I was lacking practice. Now, playing it for the second time, things were much more smooth (but the last stage was freacking hard... it took me 5 minutes, I think).

Photon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

Stopped playing after awhile because of the controls. I feel like jumping and wall-jumping should be the same key. The controls in general feel sketchy, and don't seem to respond right all the time. Otherwise, I like the cool space theme this has going on and the idea is nice, but those controls just feel sooooo unorthodox and they brought the game down for me.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12am

Fun. I'm not sure which level I gave up on, but I made it through quite a few. Very addictive, well done!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28am

Great game, unusual controls aren't a bad idea, forcing the player to learn a new skill effectively. :)

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:49am

cool mechanic, awesome music, cool puzzles, just needs some way of stopping your character wandering off to the start of a level if you make a mistake.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:17am

@Photon: I originally had jump/walljump on the same key, but it didn't uh, playtest very well (my girlfriend got very angry at the game, haha), which is why it's a little bit different. I wonder if there's some input lag now I've upscaled the game?

Zammy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I love the controls but I do not like that I need to bump into walls. If it was endless run in one direction I think ill like it more. With some way to glide for example. Solid work overall! Great game! Seems finished!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Nice Graphics and audio.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

The controls are initially frustrating, but I was soon hooked on this game. Amazing sound, graphics, and level design. I couldn't figure out how to avoid the third set of wall spikes on the "Difficulty Spike" level.

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Quite different controls and even at the end I mess it up sometimes (I think the jump button should be jump all the time and slide also be wall slide)
But I think this is the game I've spent the most time on so far and that's really something :)

My time was 19min 16sec BTW

Flai says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Really really great execution! One of the best games I've played so far in this LD!

Zaelza says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Great game. I love wall jumps %)

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I never thought I would say this about an LD entry, but this game is too long. The levels are varied, yes, but if you want us to speedrun it... well, after 18 minutes, starting over wasn't exactly on my mind.

Pretty good production values. Only one slight physics bug where I'd stop sliding at the bottom of a hanging pillar, and I'd still get the speed boost even if I'm heading to the wall's direction.

Bonus points for investing in audio.

rxi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

The music really went well with the game, and I especially loved the little guy's goofy walk cycle animation. It added to the humor given the pace of the game that the guy looked like he'd never ran before and wasn't sure how to do it.

I think the controls would have worked better if you held the jump button to wall slide, or if wall slide were automatic and you could just tap jump quickly to cancel it, rather than holding the slide button. Apart from this minor frustration it felt good overall and I enjoyed playing it!

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Really smooth gameplay. Enjoyed this one a lot.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Really awesome game. After getting used to the controls, I liked them somehow more than controls from other such games.
I didn't even play the Practice, I just learned it as I ran/died along.

Smooth level design. Really great work, I'm impressed.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

So hard, but just as addictive. Nice work

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:01am

It did take a while to understand the controls, after that the game was pretty fun. Maybe a bit to heavy on the traps.

panurge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Excellent mood, tricky but rewarding level design. This had a real Canabalt style appeal which kept me coming back. Great work!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Love the music on this. You've established a really good atmosphere. Game mechanic is cool although controls take a bit of getting used to. Nice job though!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:04pm

good job

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Very cool, just couldn't figure out the controls, even with a lot of effort. On the third level with the fall you've got to wall slide down, just couldn't get the slide to work. Holding jump and slide would just keep me wall-jumping, just holding slide would have me bump off the walls.

3beards says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I liked this but the controls are a little tricky to get down. Also sometimes he'd jump off the wall going at a very unexpected speed which would throw me off.

tobbez says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I really liked this. Good gameplay, and speedrunning works very well for it. It would be nice to be able to start over from the first level from within the game though, so you don't have to refresh the page as soon as you fail and need to start over.

I think the music is good (and you don't get tired of/annoyed by it even if you play the game for a long time).

The difficulty level is also just right.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:49am

Really cool gameplay, feels very smooth. Got stuck later on, but I had a lot of fun playing this.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:42am

great presentation! the controls took some time to get used to, but were pretty neat. would have loved an option to play without the time limit!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

Nice take on a runner! gameplay is punchy, and music fits well Controls and level-design make this somewhat trial+error-y though

Erhune says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:50am

Awesome gameplay! I couldn't stop before the end, and now I'm thinking on about only one thing: how can I beat my time?

I'd say the only weak part of the game is the (relative lack of) relation to the theme, but aside from that it's pure gold!!!

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:30pm

This is exactly what I feared with the 10 second theme. A perfectly good game ruined by a stupid time limit. I'm so sorry, but the time limit gave this game such a high frustrating element, I found it quite unbearable. Otherwise this would have been a really nice game!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Wow, this is amazing! Innovative controls and REALLY good level design - especially for a jam game!

The thing that made the controls "click" for me was holding down the JUMP button and then pressing the DASH when I wanted to wall-jump. This switch between two buttons to jump in two different situations takes a bit to get used to, but the game feels really satisfying when you master it!

Great job, 5/5!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Wow, this is amazing! Innovative controls and REALLY good level design - especially for a jam game!

The thing that made the controls "click" for me was holding down the JUMP button and then pressing the DASH when I wanted to wall-jump. This switch between two buttons to jump in two different situations takes a bit to get used to, but the game feels really satisfying when you master it!

Great job, 5/5! Would love to know what you think about my game as well!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:22pm

And people say my game has weird controls... (I actually think your controls work really well by the way, good job). I think the game itself is fantastic too, well done. I love the graphics and music and the gameplay is extremely addictive. I'll almost definitely be back to speedrun this some time! Theme is not that prevalent, but I hardly care lol.

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Really awesome idea, controls are tough to master

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Beautiful and atmospheric! The music is great! Control is hard, but even fun.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:00am

Best mood so far, great job :D

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Very nice concept and good work on the level design!

However, wall jump was very hard for me to get.

meszka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:27am

Very, very challenging, infuriating even, but also rewarding (in the VVVVVV and Super Meat Boy way). Took me an embarrassingly long time to beat (last place on the board in fact ^^'), but I did it... Cheats a bit in the theme department, but still awesome.

Erhune says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I can't stop playing this game (down to 5:00...) instead of rating other entries, arrrrrgh!!!

Could we have a version without the random GC pauses? It's the only thing that's driving me crazy when trying to be consistent (and that will be necessary to beat the 4:30 mark...)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I really liked it. I loved the music especially in practice mode. What was interesting was how much the music impacted how long I wanted to play for. The soothing atmospheric practice mode music made me want to keep playing, while the main game music made me feel a litte big agitated. It was good music still but I would have liked the practice mode music to have been the main game music.

This is a game I plan on coming back to. It didn't feel too hard to me. Well done.

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:30am

Very addictive game. Well done.

Misfit says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Cool game! Very addictive and gameplay is awesome.

graytest says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:01pm

This is super fun. And difficult. But mostly fun.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Max points in fun category, those kinds of hard parkour platformers are my favourites.

The only weak point is that it doesn't have much to do with the theme and I bet it is going to be a bit downrated because of that. I've seen many other games that used the same idea but instead of having 20 seconds to finish the level they have 10 and there is some item that gives the player the other 10 needed seconds to win the game.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:41am

I really enjoyed this game. Gameplay that's simultaneously simple and difficult. The level design is impressive, you really pushed the player to improve over the course of the game. Great work.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:38am

@Lokarunith: Originally I was going to have every level with a 10 second time limit, but it just got tedious. I didn't want to hamstring the fun of the game by being too religious to the theme... hence all of the time limits per level are *multiples * of 10... do de do :D

emveyh says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice game. It was a bit hard do figure out how to properly do those wall jumps, though

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]