August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Treasure Hunt

by GodsBoss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The level screen looks shitty, but I ran out of time and my art skills are ridiculous.

I think the game may be too hard with a fast browser, my Firefox is a bit slow so the levels are beatable.

The game was tested in Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox. Internet Explorer 10 should work too, but I cannot test this here.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#218Graphics3.52
#383Humor2.58
#432Mood2.88
#584Overall3.03
#666Fun2.79
#714Innovation2.76
#786Theme2.91

Comments

panuo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13am

it was a well made game. i think the graphix were good at least as well as the gameplay. But i don't really think the game fits to the theme, it would be fun puzzlegame, but the 10second timelimit made it too hard imo.

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Damn, my mouse button just broke ;P

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Game is fun, but you should make a keyboard control option IMO. It won't affect the gameplay and it's much easier to play this game in keyboard.

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Really neat idea, but I found it exceptionally hard to do within the time limit, especially as I kept accidentally highlighting the game so my clicks didn't go through properly. Perhaps keyboard controls would improve it?

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Really simple and quite a neat idea.. enjoyed the gameplay and the level design. The pixel art is beautiful too. Rated this very highly, excellent work for 48hours! :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Liked it, reminded me a bit of chip's challenge :D

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I enjoyed the gameplay. I wish I could use the arrow keys to move the character though.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Arrrr! That was fun! I'm too slow for any of the non-tutorial levels though, it's just mega-hard. A keyboard option would probably help, too, since I kept getting stuck while mousing around. Anyway, great concept, great execution. Awesome!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Well, I kinda love the graphics, those animated natives were quite cool.

sev_inf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Very interesting theme and well designed game with good art that fits this concept. I have played it a lot of times. :) This game remembered me about 1990's King's Bounty game, first of all with controls :) Big plus of this game, I think, that map can be "rotated" sometimes, it's make it playable again and again.

However, I found this game "unbeatable" for me. I thought that I'm a hardcore player, but in this game I have completed only 3 missions after all tutorials, and my arm hurts a little after this :)

Also I think you can add "clickable area" around the game screen, because when you try to take something near the gamescreen's border - you can miss and lose too many valuable time.

Overall, I very enjoyed the game! Thank you!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16am

Using the keyboard would have been more fun than using the mouse

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Really like the pirate sprite and the animation on the water tiles. It's an interesting idea for a puzzle game. Wish it would have had keyboard controls as well.

GodsBoss says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Currently, my time is short, but there is a list of things I will change (the Ludum Dare version itself will remain unchanged, of course!). Keyboard control is definitely on the list, and so is an easier gameplay. Maybe I'll just make the seconds longer. ;-)

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

I really liked the graphics and the writing was pretty funny! Well designed maps and really cool concept. The theme was implemented well but man my finger is tired from clicking so much! Maybe add an option to tap the arrow keys to move. Well done!

TheDreik says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

It's strange, thats in Firefox game too hard to play for me. But I like idea of game anyway and want to beat this if you make it in more slow temp.

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:00am

Never managed to get very far in this one. Really could have used keyboard controls instead of just the mouse. Playing with a trackpad was a nightmare.

foumart says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:48pm

The game has very nice look but themed that way with the controls works against it. Things could be right if there was a pathfinding implemented (at least to not get stuck)

nilo says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Fun game and well done, however, really hard on laptop with touchpad, would be nice if i could have used the arrow keys

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Really fun game! Nice, simple and funny artstyle! Well done! (Too bad my computer is too fast to beat the levels in time.)

Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:03pm

The different types of barriers all work the same way. Like a door with a big key and a door with a small key, what disappoint me.
I like that if you retry a level it change a little bit.
The general map is nice.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:09pm

The controls feel awkward. I think that's the main limiting factor of the game. It's funny and very hard, but those controls man.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]