August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Demon Infiltration

by Zekyon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A group of mysterious creatures have ventured into the world of demons with the objetive of capture its power. You are the last free of your specie and as such your mission is to delve into the base of these creatures and rescue your brothers.

Unfortunately this will not be so easy. With the power that these creatures have now, they can disintegrate anything using only the eyes, but of course, they don't know about your little super-power, yes, I'm talking of the temporary invisibility.

You can make yourself invisible for ten seconds at the cost of some of your energy reserves, but remember, if your energy reserve reaches zero you will not be able to use this power anymore, so use it with precaution.

Good luck little demon, the fate of your people is in your keyboard!

--Controls--
Left arrow: Move left
Right arrow: Move right
Up arrow: Jump
Space: Stealth
Z: Interact / Pick up key

Spoiler Alert - An user posted a guide in the comments, don't scroll down unless you really get stuck ingame.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#54Mood3.73
#120Graphics3.81
#135Audio3.35
#142Overall3.57
#296Fun3.26
#403Innovation3.17
#593Theme3.14
#668Humor2.05

Comments

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:53pm

This game is awesome, dont let him see you!

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

All in all, a good game. It was a bit frustrating at first how difficult it was, and I didn't really understand the first puzzle, but not bad. I also was unable to progress past the second zone due to some sort of a glitch that occurred, causing the key to disappear from the map and my stealth to stop working.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43am

Acrimiens - Thanks :)!

Falcon - About the key, are you sure you didn't picked it up?(for pick up the keys you should press the enter button)

And about the stealth, may be because your energy bar (over your head) was empty. You can only use the stealth five times.

However, thanks for the feedback and I'm going to check the bugs right now!

Sorry for my bad english :).

Red Mike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

Interesting game. Couldn't understand the first tip about the 'poster'.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:44am

Great presentation and atmosphere. Quite daunting. Regarding the gameplay however - for some reason I could not deactivate invisibility again, so once I was invisible I basically had 10 seconds to finish the level. Is it meant to be this way?
Also, I'm not a very patient person. Having to wait for this almost 10 second long fade-out-and-in-again sequence after dying is like torture to me. Sometimes I died after the first or second jump in a level, it's really frustrating to have to wait for 10 seconds each time until you can try again. But, even though this had a major impact on my mood when playing, it doesn't make the game any worse. As I said: great concept, presentation and atmosphere. Well done!

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00am

Red Mike - Keep thinking, is easy! (sorry for the in-game typos :|)

ShellfishGames - Ok, piecemeal.
When you push space you have ten seconds of invisibility, and when the ten seconds finish you come back to the normal state and can activate the stealth again.

On the Game Over menu you can push Z for revive instant and in the same level you died :).

Thank both for the feedbacks!

Ah about my other commentary, I'm wrong; for pick up the keys you should push the Z key (instead of enter key), sorry for the inconveniences!

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:23am

Nice entry. I love your pixel art.

Oh, I think I've found a bug: when you restart the level, the "invisibility-bar" doesn't refill.

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33am

Any chance you can compile for mac? Look's really interesting - i want to try :D
Nice art!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

Really fun and with lovely pixel art. The biggest issue (at least for me) is that it takes too long to start again once you die, that breaks the game pace, I'd like to be able to die and start playing the next second.

Great game! A must play.

galman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Nice game :) Lovley pixelart, stuck at first puzzle :P

Nitrodeus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

Cool game :)
The fade-out when you die is a little to long...
Nice music !

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:35am

Very awesome :) Really enjoyed the concept and the difficulty.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47am

Added web version, enjoy!

levsha128 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:51am

Nice

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:55am

Love the haunting music and great use of the theme. Well done :)

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57am

Quite a fun challenging game, would have been nicer to have more time to read text, but then I think that's part of the challenge!
Good Job! :)

klambrike says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58am

Awesome game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Really good atmosphere and nice soundtrack. Love the graphics too!
I don't know how to get through the second level :C I picked up both keys, but i don't know what door to open with them.

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Very interesting, but quite buggy.. I couldn't get past the second zone.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Zccc - Can you describe the bug of the second level?, to me it works well :/

lekochen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Finished! Hints:
Level 1: numbers of trees & enemies
Level 2: get the key and reach the light colored door
Level 3: symbols of level 1, 2 & 3

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Lekochen - Spoilers make baby jesus cry :'(

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very very neat game, just really difficult.

graytest says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Nice graphics and good controls.

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Death didn't reset the stealth bar so I ended up stuck in an infinite loop of death D:

Loved the music, set the mood well, the speed platforming mechanic from the 10 second stealth was a great idea and pulled off really well.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:47pm

good job

Lurieh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:07pm

I really like the atmosphere of the game. Also sometimes things happens & I don't know if it's a bug or a feature, wich is nice. Like how death can be useful (was a final round theme right?) or the 2nd door didn't open even when I had the key (had to restart).
Only real bad bug was the randomy spawning area which make the hero spawn outside of the level. Really liked the game overall.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

You set a wonderful mood and the audio and graphics are superb! Unfortunately I couldn't complete the second level because the keys would disappear on discovery and I couldn't use the hide skill anymore, but this is definitely something worth expanding upon.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Really great, very moody. I found the second level a little tricky, I liked the mechanic. A little difficult at first but the atmosphere really won me over.

Joror says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01pm

At first I did not know the stealth button and was just timing and jumping, with the stealth it was almost too easy. ;)
Nice color scheme!

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Great game! I love the graphics

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11pm

LOVE the art! Really cool. Also a cool concept, though i found myself using the power up really quickly, forgetting a little about the theme towards the end.

Could also be really nice with some more levels (but 48 hours isn't that long, i get it) - it ended kinda quick. And i never really figured out what that combination lock in the end was for? :D found a couple of the symbols, but just ended jumping over the pillar to the gate.

Happy i played, and thanks for making a web version :)

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Thanks all for the feedbacks!
I'm now fixing bugs.
About the "bug" of the stealth bar, it not reset because the game's difficult come of the management of it and if it reset when you dead, you can kill yourself and make the game very easy. Ok is hard to explain but is not a bug, you must believe me!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Great art, but very hard to play.

Alink says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Good game with some nice ideas. The puzzles were surprising hard to figure out. I think the player should be forced to use the rocks. I found out about it only at my second run and it made the game better.

someone says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very nice. Didn't realise you could press space at first due to not reading the instructions, that made it hard...
I did end up in an endless loop of death at one point.

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52pm

For all, where's produced the death loop? that information would help me to fix it

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16am

I would have liked an indicator for how far enemies could see, like a cone of vision.

Perhaps you could try 10 uses of 1 second stealth each. It's less powerful, so you could possibly be more lenient about refilling it (such as with collectables).

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

I love this art style it remembers me the knytt stories. Continue please!

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I really liked the style of this game. It looks very interesting and had nice game-play. It was a tad bit short but all the same I really enjoyed it! The music was nice and gave the game a good atmosphere.

Great job!

Mr. Jif says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Love the pixel art and the music!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

The game had interesting concept, but the puzzles were really obnoxious. it wasn't clear in anyway you can enter the white door that's high in air and the game never hinted anything about the symbols. Not a bad game, but it should be bit more clear how to proceed.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:18pm

once i figured it out, i had a good time. good job.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Stealth? Check. Nice little puzzles? Check. Demons? Check. I like it!

I would've probably prefered if I could switch my invisibility on/off and had a certain total time on it, instead of a certain amount of charges.

The character design looks well, and so does the environment, even though it is a bit on the minimalistic side.

Overall, good job!

PS: DANCE PARTY!

Spiderhund says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Really nice game!

Although I wish there were some way to regain some of your energy reserve.

Other than that I really liked the atmosphere and the puzzles! Good job!

Zekyon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Thanks all! I'll keep your feedbacks in mind for the post-compo version :)!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Really cool atmosphere aided by the graphics and sound - where did you find the time? Did you actually sleep!? I was really impressed and although I didn't even get through the door and the invisibility bug issue, I can see this game going somewhere, make sure you complete it. :-D

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:09pm

this is pretty awesome:3

bnhw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very stylish!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Good music and gameplay mechanics

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:16am

The graphics and audio really complement each other, it gives a nice mood to your game. Great work.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:01am

I like the mood and the graphics a lot! The puzzles are very simple and the game is very short, but I enjoyed playing it nonetheless.

I couldn't relate it too much to the theme, though. I ended up using all my energy mid-game and had to beat the rest without the invisibility power... which kind of made it useless to me. =(

Interesting experience, overall. =D

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Was really nice trying this out. Was to incompetent, will try again later :) Great work!

Mesene says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Nice entry, keep on!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Solid mechanics, fun game!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:46am

Stylish and moody. I encountered a bug with the door between the second and third levels where I'd keep going backwards and forwards between them even though I wasn't pushing up.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:01am

This one has great mood. Liked the music and the overall stealth mechanic. Solid entry :)

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Pretty interesting. I didn't like how the stealth ran out, I think you should have implemented a recharge to the stealth rather than run out completely. I still had fun playing this though, interesting concept. Good work.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice look and audio. I, too, found the game a bit difficult. I ran out of health trying to collect keys for the door in the second area and wasn't sure what to do. I'd love to play a stealth game with this look and feel, so perhaps keep at it to work out the kinks.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Awesome! Love the graphics! :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Good entry. Mechanics looking interesting. Good atmosphere too.

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I just liked it so much! the graphics are simple but good!

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Hi Zekyon! Can you please help me with controls? I am able to enter 60 (as two digits) but not 06. '0' seems not to working (playing web version).

mobyvb says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:42pm

I really liked this. Great music and art.

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Good job!

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Nice game! Just one problem: I was able to enter codes from 10 to 99 only. '0' seems to be not working on the first digit (tried web version in Firefox and Chrome on Mac). I was not able to finish first level because of this.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]