August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Murder On The Dancefloor

by CustomPhase - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Music driven top-down shooter with random elements. Very fast paced. Pretty gory.
p.s. You need to kill boss in under 10 seconds or youll lose.

Known issues (fixed in post compo builds):
- Sometimes you will lose after defeating the boss.
- In this build, shield visual effect (can be seen on screenshot) is absent, although its still gives you an 8 sec period of invincibility.
- Crates can (and will) disappear while game is paused.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#10Audio4.00
#35Fun3.86
#48Mood3.75
#50Overall3.86
#129Graphics3.77
#425Humor2.49
#587Innovation2.91
#639Theme3.09

Comments

JQCoding says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40am

Very cool game and great interaction with music. Good looking graphics as well.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40am

Haha! Game over! I suck! Neat game! A little more feedback from shooting would go far! Thankfully I don't have seizures though ;)

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42am

Fun game, great visuals, great music! Well done.

Martze says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56am

Wow! This is great!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13am

Awesome lil' game. I like the design of the characters, they remind me a little of Russian dolls. The music is great, gameplay is fun - lovely entry :)

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:24am

Wow, I could play this game for hours!
The evolution of the music with the game is very well done, the graphic style is lovely. It's just a bit too short...

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34am

@Everyone, thanks for your opinions! Was really glad to read them all :)

Ysty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18am

Awesome, love the look and the music!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15am

OMG I love the style and the idea!

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

Wow! I really liked the blackouts as a way to introduce new waves. The gibbing was satisfying, and the blocky rectangle character shapes were charming. The music was fantastic. Awesome game.

mackthehobbit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Amazing, absolutely loved the game. The art was awesome, and I loved the music!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Love the gore! The atmosphere is great.

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Doesn't adhere to the theme that much, but bloody hell is this game a lot of fun. The mood was nice and the music lovely. Well done man.

Lustdante says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Wow, that was purely awe-inspiring, especially how the boss scenario is scripted. Great Job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Solid shooter! Like the music-beat and lights flashing

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Wow, very impressive! Graphics are extremely good.

kantieno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

It was pretty awesome dude, I enjoyed it!

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Awesome atmosphere and music. The gameplay was fun and the art style sat nicely with everything else. Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Wow. The way the visuals and the music played together really took this to another level! Fantastic! Feels really polished!

I found it to hard, but that might just be me "sucking" as the game suggested ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:29am

Gameplay synced to dubstep? Awesome! I loved the presentation, the music rocked, great to see that being done :)

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Damn! I'm suck again! :D Great idea, and nice graphics :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Great game, the use of lighting was really clever!

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

Wow, those were an intense visuals. Stylish audio-gameplay synchro!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

funny game, good job

Taiters says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:18pm

This game rocks! Well done. Love pulsating dancefloor lights with the music.

PaulSB says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Wow, this is really good. Presentation is fantastic. I was desperate for a slightly better weapon as my pea-shooter chipped away at an ever-swelling horde, maybe I just didn't get the right pick-up. Great job on this.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Ohh, whar a rude GameOver screen ._.
Really liked the fact that the lighting follow the music. Maybe if some enemies moved following the tune the result should be awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]