August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Rodeo

by anjack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

***Update: I don't want to clutter this page with post-compo information, so please read about the improvements to the post-compo version here:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/27/robot-rodeo-post-compo-version/

Thank you again for all the feedback!***

Here's my game, now with SOUND!

The game is called "Robot Rodeo". The theme made me think of a rodeo where the rider has to stay on the bull for 8 seconds. In this game, you upgrade a robot and send it into an arena. The arena is littered with traps which will damage the robot.

After every match in the arena, the robot will be repaired back to maximum health. You will receive a certain amount of money for every second the robot survived in the arena.

If the robot lasts the full 10 seconds, you win! If you want, you can keep going at a higher difficulty. That means more traps in the arena!

This game was written in JavaScript with Notepad++ and NFOPad. I didn't use a pre-made framework so the code is pretty janky. I used GIMP for the graphics and both Audacity and BFXR for the sound.

I wanted to set up some kind of leader board so people could compete for higher scores, but my web programming knowledge isn't up to the task.

I am currently working on improving and expanding the upgrades available for your robot. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

Known bugs:
1. *FIXED* You have to click "Close" twice on upgrade windows.
2. Some parts of the buttons don't respond to clicks.
3. *FIXED* Strange graphical errors.
4. *FIXED* The "Heat Shield" upgrade doesn't work.

I greatly appreciate your feedback! Please let me know if you see any bugs or have any gameplay suggestions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#690Humor2.02
#726Innovation2.75
#792Theme2.90
#881Audio1.73
#926Overall2.66
#929Fun2.44
#938Mood2.18
#1051Graphics2.00

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34am

Props for rebindable keys and it's always fun to make a thing get bigger and badder. You might consider giving the player some starting money to make it start faster. Nicely done for 48 hours!

oxysoft says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Pretty fun even though it's so simple and games with similar mechanics were made many many times before. The movement is annoying to work with

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

I admit it, I cheated - but I beat the highest difficulty level :P

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44pm

It was a bit boring since you couldn't control the robot in the arena :(

Orava says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Played on Firefox so the sounds didn't work.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:49pm

An interesting idea, but it needs more tuning. I feel that I'm too much dependent on the random movement of the robot -- if it goes over an area where it's been before, I'm much more likely to make good money.

The UI design could be better. It's annoying to have to (slowly) walk around in a room just to get to fragments of menu. Sometimes I can't buy things without apparent reason -- armour seems to max out at 19 and Auto Heal and Heat Shield at 3, which means after a while the only investment is Health. At $10 per click, that takes a while if you've just cashed $1000...

For UI things, I often find it easier to use HTML instead of drawing everything on a canvas. You get click detection, styling and event handling for free.

It was pretty satisfying though to see my tiny robot grow into a mean mine-busting monster :)

Kep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Well done. Very simple, yet addictive.
"hummm... max health does not seem to have a limit, everything else seems to be maxed out, and I have a ton of cash... Buy More Health!" 100+ clicks later... "Yay max difficulty beaten!"

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Pretty fun game and I like how the robot becomes cooler looking as it gets better. I'm not sure how to beat the higher difficulty levels if all of the upgrades cap.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Really hard to understand at first sight, i desperately clicked on "Instructions" on main screen but a blank screen appeared. Luckily, the ? ingame explained the mechanic to me.
Very interesting and original idea!

m1_10sz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Unusual idea, but totally fun to play, good job!

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Loved the concept but the controls were annoying.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:15pm

A for effort, but some of the objects in the game disappeared at random (like the powerup shops) and I really wasn't sure what was going on in the because I think something was missing like the shops. Did you test this in different browsers? I'm using Chrome. Congrats for doing this in HTML5 though!

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Thank you everyone for the feedback!

I tested the game in Chrome and IE but not Firefox, which was a big oversight on my part. Also I understand that the upgrade system is not balanced very well. For the next LD I need to find people to test the game while I'm developing it so I can address these sorts of things.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03pm

This was surprisingly fun, I just wish that the robot was controllable in the arena. Overall, cool idea and good implementation.

cschwartz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54am

I stuck with it longer than I wanted, due to the upgrade system. I not so fond of the rodeo system itself though, maybe you could tell the player if there is something to be done during the rodeo, or if it happens without input.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Not sure what's happing in that rodeo, but it seems brutal. Nice work!

flamecow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Interesting idea and fun game. However, the movement is very offputting.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I love grindy games, and this one was pretty addicting.

And yes, it is possible to beat the hardest difficulty, without cheating :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12pm

good job

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36pm

The movement its a little slow, and you cpuld work more in the game design for the player could actually play de rodeo. But very well made for 48 hours.

HD408 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Is the player supposed to move only once per a keypress? Also, I don't the the in-game instructions, it's all white. Using Opera 12.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27am

I couldn't figure out how to not die. Please rate/ play my game!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

netmute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11am

So, I beat the game on the highest difficulty level :) 72115 points.
I basically kept playing until I maxed out everything and then just pumped all my money into health :)

Sure, it lacks animation, but the little black and white workshop was quite charming. The game kept me playing for an embarrassingly large amount of time. I just wanted to see if I could beat the next difficulty level, and then the next, and the next...
The balance between the available upgrades and the difficulty was surprisingly good for a 48 hour game.

Really, the only major complaint that I have is that the gameplay is largely just pure luck. If the robot stays mainly in an already cleared area, you win, if not, you're fucked :)

Good job overall though :)

netmute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:18am

Almost forgot this: My main motivation was to see how many difficulty levels I could beat. After the second one, it kind of felt like they were just endlessly procedurally generated.
That being not the case, and seeing the "you beat the highest difficulty" message was VERY rewarding :)

HD408 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:32am

"Also, I don't the the in-game instructions"

That should be "Also, I don't see the in-game instructions".

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I really enjoyed how Bob's robot gets bigger with the armor.
It's a great idea to have workbench instead of just menu.

For the arena part, I should admit I had trouble to understand what was happening, but I've seen you fixed that in the post compo version.

anjack says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:48am

Thank you everyone for the excellent feedback! I've updated the post-compo version to address some of these issues. Also, I've now tested the game with the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox and IE and I'm not seeing any of the reported issues with sound or images. Please let me know what browser version you guys are using.

I'm still working on an option for giving the player something to do during the 10 seconds in the arena. I don't want to give the player full control of the bot because it's a rodeo and you're not supposed to be in control of the ride. I have some ideas about limited manual control or adding buttons to buff/heal the bot (on a cooldown timer). I'll update the post-compo version with some more new features.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:45am

Like the idea, income is a bit slow in the beginning and then suddenly you can afford everything at once. You should do something to lower the amount of keypresses needed both for movement and for buying upgrades.

It seems like you fixed movement in the post compo version but something should still be done about buying upgrades.

gre says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

Controls at the first screen need some polish and binding.
Quite innovating idea.

HD408 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Still don't see the instructions, using Opera.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:30am

Pretty fun, though it would have been nice to see more kinds of upgrades, especially since all of them except health seem to have a cap.

manuq says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Innovative :) I missed a more understanding of what was going on during the robots competitions.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:54pm

I loved the idea of this game, though I dunno what to do while my robot is in the arena other than watch him die :/ I featured it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksgU2Iicu2g

zanval says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:01pm

The game feels extremely random.
I can ply the rodeo 5 times without updgrading near the beginningb and the results are between 1 and 5 seconds.
after few upgrades I can "try often enough" and reach 10.
So in the beginning, I just start like 10 rodeos and then begin buying stuff...
The menu would have been better with more menu-like controls.
Mouse only would be good with an option to "buy health 100 times".
The idea was good, but the only thing that kep me playing was "higher stats, higher stats"... oh geeze I love having high stats...

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:30pm

this was fun! i really enjoyed going from nothing to being able to survive almost anything.

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:44am

It's an interesting idea. Looking forward to playing the post-compo version :)

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:30am

I won - so good game :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]