August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 10 Second Game Design Lessons

by douglasv - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry \o/

Game made entirely in contruct 2

Sound made using sfxr or from:
http://opengameart.org/content/short-alarm
http://opengameart.org/content/a-cloudy-morning-jazz

All graphics taken this charming set:
http://opengameart.org/content/kenney-16x16

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
Humor4.41
#66Innovation3.86
#141Mood3.41
#178Fun3.44
#237Overall3.42
#372Audio2.86
#529Theme3.21
#606Graphics2.79

Comments

Fervir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

Haha, that was really cool.
Thanks, now I can make better games.

Alexander says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:52am

Funny--but in a haha I'm afraid how many of these my game fails at kind of way...

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

Simple and to the point. I Love it!

Simulacrum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

Cool use of the theme, and valuable lessons.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:47am

Nice ending, :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:49am

Hahha amazing that was really nice !
I laugh all the way throught :) Nice work !

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50am

Great idea

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53am

This game made me LOL! Though you got some points there :D

vani77a says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Fun game lesson, i really enjoyed that :)

RobotParking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Haha, I really enjoyed the concept.

f345an says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Fun and really informative at the same time, awesome :)

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Cool game and very instructive! ;)

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

The controls were a bit fuzzy at first.. you made a very bad first impression ^_^

The game was very cool, unexpected and well implemented!! Had a smile on my face the entire time ;)

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Great idea for a game! And those were all sensible tips. :)

EggPlant <3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

It's always worrying how many games fail to meet these basic ideas. Still, a fun and practical concept. :)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:56pm

"Always leave the player wanting more"
Well, that's exactly what you did.

Great advice, and it's presented in a really creative way! :D

Lustdante says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:29am

Always leave the player wanting more.

Timeless advice.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55am

Some words of wisdom in here! Very enjoyable, thank you.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Awesome, a meta-game :D
The music was perfect for this game, where did you get it?
At first I didn't notice why the levels reset, but that was of course the theme-time limit.

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05am

This is so enjoyable, and yet so shaming. Really well done. Meta-games are great.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:25am

Haha, I like it. There aren't enough meta-games in LD! The advice is great, and the presentation - well, it's not exactly flawless, but funny instead! Oh, and: Congratulations on finishing your first LD entry!

(Gosh, HTML5 can suck a lot. Firefox: Looks and sounds fine, but runs extremly choppy. Chrome: Runs and sounds fine, but the text is blurred. Internet Explorer: Looks and runs fine, but there is no music - curiously, the sound effects work though. Sorry for the rant, but uuurgh.)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28am

Eh, I just read your description - I really don't want to be the guy to call you out, but it might help you in further LD compos: The rules don't allow to take premade graphics/sounds. Everything you use must be created by you in the 48 hours. (Except fonts, drum loops/instruments and some exceptions for code - more detailed here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/rules)

It would be a fine entry for the LD jam though!

Flames5123 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:07am

Very fun and very cool. Great game!

douglasv says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:12am

Thanks a lot to everyone for the compliments and advices!
@Dining Philosopher
The music was taken from the link in the description which, as @TobiasW pointed out, is cheating just as the graphics:(

Oh well, at least I'm happy that you guys enjoyed the game and maybe learned something.
Won't happen again!

siat says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:05am

That was really funny, thank you!

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Great, short but sweet lessons, haha! Loved it! :D

I think it would be okay to edit your entry as a Jam entry, so that it could still be rated properly. Cheers! :D

PeaCe says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:11am

Very cool, wished it was longer...

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:45am

This is awesome. Thank you. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVlJsYHr1MU

Antidote says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice lessons ^^ interesting to see this concepts being broken and how that makes us feel xD too bad it was only 10 levels, would have enjoyed to see more

Gabriel says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:51am

Really fun! It is interesting how much this can actually teach by showing the effects of doing things wrong! A very clever and interesting design, congrats man!

Cheers from Brazil!

blackotus says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I think this is great, and very creative!
Pretty funny too.

Nice job!

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Something very different! Great advice and nice visuals. Should be used in any game design 101 course instead of the first batch of slides!

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Haha, this is great.

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Other than the compo-jam issue this non-game game is quite amusing. I laughed out loud at the menu :)

Diogo Muller says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Very good way "tutorial-game" :)

Broxxar says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Enjoyed the humour, I imagine you'll do particularly well in that category!

Sebastian says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Hah that menu screen was hilarious. Brilliant concept for a game, or whatever you want to call it!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Very clever, I liked the message and the level design a lot.

I can't give merit for the creation of the graphics or sound but they are a nice choice and combine well. The best part of the game is that it is very humorous.

HeroesGrave says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Believe it or not, this is the best entry I've played so far.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:24am

Great advice! You've managed to take lessons everyone of us developers should learn and turn it into a game. The theme connection seems a bit arbitrary to me, but it's still a very interesting entry :)

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:41am

Clever little entry that any dev can appreciate

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:15am

Nice work! Loved the idea and I did enjoy playing, though there wasn't much gameplay. Too bad you used external audio and graphics, but I'll rate it as if it were a Jam entry because of it.

bitowl says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Awesome!
Need to come back to this before next jam :D

megashroom says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Nice!
You should have made this before the compo though!

lucidlarva says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Went in expecting little ten second slides. WAY better than expected. Nice job.

michail says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:02am

Nice to see something different and creative :)

Jan Marcano says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 6:39pm

This was really nice! Didn't expect it at all.

Great great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]