August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stellar Countdown

by Khopa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi !

This is my very first entry for the Ludum Dare.
It's a little "Shoot'Em Up Scoring Game", where you only have 10 seconds of firepower to take down as many ennemies as possible. (It means that your ship can only fire during 10 seconds). Every wasted ammo lower your score, so you'll also need to aim accuratly.

I tried to make something original with sounds effects, but i'm not sure that it really works. You'll be judge.


------------------------

Controls : Arrow key to move, Space to shoot
Technology : Java + LibGDX

Instruction :
Just double-click the .jar file.
You may need a JRE (Java Runtime Environment) to run the game (Pre-installed on most system as far as i know)

Please report any problems and have fun !
Don't forget to submit your best score in the comments below. Mine is 36270 pts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#389Audio2.83
#467Theme3.27
#536Mood2.75
#556Graphics2.88
#752Fun2.69
#795Humor1.85
#878Overall2.71
#1043Innovation2.20

Comments

TheDreik says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:47pm

My score: 22460
It's an interesting idea - take points for misses.
Don't understand how the girl on the title screen related with the game.

Khopa says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:06pm

The artwork is indeed unrelated, i drew it while searching for ideas :)
She's probably the pilot of the ship though.
Thanks for playing.

Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:11pm

It's fun and it looks really nice, but I lack the inovation a bit. I think you could improve this game with upgrades or different enemies. For example enemies who decrease the time limit...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34am

Cool interpretation of the theme! It's an OK shooter, but you really need some different enemies/challenge to make this game interesting. It didn't even seem like there were more enemies being generated.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

Some nice graphical work in there and an interesting use of the theme. Could use a little more of a steadily rising challenge though.

Markavian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

18105, found the game really easy, not a huge challenge to play. Liked the graphical effects and sounds.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28am

Very nice, I got about 1lK - I guess that's about what you'd expect with the time.

Some way of extending the time and being more difficult over time would keep my engagement for longer :)

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Indeed an interesting take on the the theme. I just feel like a smaller game area would have benefit the game (or more enemies) because the space just feels so empty and boring.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Little bit stereotypic, but graphics and sounds fits ok.

h8urf8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Came for the girl - stayed for the sound shots.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

My score: 21815

Like the strategic element, i.e. trying to line the shots up so you can take out more than one. The evolving background graphics are a cool touch too.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Hey, not bad at all! Nice experiment with ammo/time and the way of making the player save the firepower. This could be the next Sine Mora.

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Solid game!

cwkx says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Really enjoyed this, and love the 2D spaceship shooter genre ;) the controls were very responsive and I loved the backwards mechanic, great job!

fdevant says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I'm running OSX mountain Lion on a macbook pro and it just makes my screen flicker and change resolution but the game doesn't launch :s

Khopa says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

@fdevant
I'm sorry but i can't do anything about it, i don't have a mac to test and fix the problem. I just assumed it would have work as any java application. I removed the link for OSX. Thanks for reporting it.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29am

I played on the Mac (I've got Lion), and it worked perfectly. Please bring the Mac version back.

Gus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:48am

19080

Hell, that was pretty addicting for something so simple, liked the concept, you could improve it into something bigger, but didn't like the music so much
P.S.: What's with the girl?

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:18pm

How the heck did you get 36k+ score? i got 19k and my max score was 23k? Nontheless it was a fun game :)

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

very interesting background transitions, cool style, nice music, would add alot to bring some kind of time power ups :)

Dohan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:35pm

It lacks more variety with the enemies, however the melody generated by the enemies fits very well with the atmosphere and the idea is pretty cool.

Khopa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I finally added a Web version. It only work with Chrome though.
Thanks for playing and for your comments.

I know the game lacks diversity, i wasn't able to implement more on this very busy week-end. I'd like to add a combo system that i originally planned, and improve ennemies' behaviour and spawning as soon as i'll get time to do it.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:08am

I found this game kinda fun, with the amount of "waste" thats listed and what not, makes you really want to save your bullets to last. Very good use of theme. I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOZnQrkIteE

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

good job

Zap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:52am

I really like the visual style of the the ships, they look great. Interesting concept that could be explored more.

mollymus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:49am

Good to see more libGDX games using GWT web version! Your submission even worked perfecly fine in firefox! My highest score was somewhere around 22k!:)

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I liked that you could track wasted firepower. Shooting feels good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]