August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Routine decisions (in 10 seconds)

by Yozz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You`re an extra pair of eyes for some ordinary guy.

Your goal is to control his thoughts, wills and emotions.
You will have to choose answer and put (i mean drag) it into his brain or keep thoughts away from him in some situations.

Total time is around 30-35 hours.
It is Construct 2 + Photoshop, nothing more.

P.S. feel free to have fun in the elevator ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Innovation3.99
#88Humor3.45
#154Graphics3.67
#160Mood3.36
#212Overall3.45
#233Theme3.51
#459Audio2.72
#475Fun3.01

Comments

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

Outstanding work! Love the presentation and writing.

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:23am

Nice minimalist game. Would've fit last LD's theme well, as well.

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

Really neat. I wonder how many endings there are.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50am

Don't know how you got it but you got it! Love your game, a bit too fast for a non-native english speaker but it was fun.

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:57am

Tork, thanks a lot. I`m not an english speaker too. :)

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:10am

Nice blend of weird psychology and arcade-like stuff!

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12am

Great visuals, flow and mechanics. A bit hard though to read the instructions as stuff is happening at the same time.

ecbambrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14am

Really cool idea. I ended up jobless, drunk and swimming in my own piss. Just like real life.

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

Brassawiking, like a real life, eh? ;)

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26am

I'm just going to take this opportunity to say how freaking brilliant it is to be part of Ludum Dare this time around, and for one reason: getting to see the sheer genius of so many brilliant game developers. Not all the games are brilliant, naturally, but when they are... And this one is. Awesome concept, beautifully executed. It HAS to win something. Great job!

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

OldPeculier, i really-really appreciate this. Thanks a lot.

poohshoes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57am

I am really impressed with this game but I have some comments. The first time I played I didn't even have the toilet option. Will all the text flashing and moving around I found the game just a little to hard, I didn't have time to read the story text and read half the options, then when I knew which one I wanted it was hard to click on (especially when they were overlapped). Also I never even looked at the art because I was always busy reading, maybe pause for a little longer after the story and image show up but before the thoughts show up?

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

Thanks for your feedback. One of my goals was to make the process more realistic: you have not too much time, thoughts and wills are distractive, surroundings are secondary - all you have to do is find right answer or reaction.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03am

Interesting concept, i really like the minimal feel and fluid animations.

FatBasic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:12am

This is a really great entry! Nice graphics :)

Toshiro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20am

Evrything I love : humor, different choices, pixel art... It's maybe a little bit confuse sometimes.
Good work ! :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37am

Wow, I would never have thought of this concept. Somehow you managed to nicely capture that sense of competing thoughts and emotions fighting for focus. Great job! :)

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39am

SteveSalmond, yeah, that was the main goal for me. Thanks a lot.

rot13 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:58am

Every little part of this game is as good as it gets.

Aaants says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:04am

That was great. +1 fan to you sir!

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27am

Cool idea.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

This is the first game I've seen so far that has humor nailed.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06am

Very fun game! Nice sound!

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:22am

Y BUGS Y?

Toestee says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

That was incredible, I'd love to play a longer version of it.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42am

AWESOME! It's a shame it's that short, though ;)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04am

I liked it, especially the writing, but it froze after a while. I think I lost just before it stopped working.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48am

I like this new forms of interaction with the character.

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54am

This is great. Really polished and interesting.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Very interesting game. I like mechanics but the words are sometimes completely transparent what makes it hard to find and grab them.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:22pm

This is pretty darn good. An innovative game that isn't a pain to play. Love it! :)

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Wow, this is an insanely cool idea.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:12pm

GREAT game, very creative idea.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Impressive! No time to read, just drag and drag!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I like the idea a lot! Really nice work!! You could explore the idea a little bit more after the LD I think I would be great!

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:34pm

nice !

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Woha, very interesting and original controls! But maybe you overrated the reading speed of the player.. on first time i lost half of the story because i was reading the answer that are scattering around!

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

cool idea and nice concept, could use some work on the presentation but it conveys the idea well.

Nice work!

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Your game is one of a kind. I definitively want more.

Todnut says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Cool art and mood! It was a little difficult to play with all the reading and was kind of confusing what I was trying to accomplish.

AdricZero says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Very innovative concept at capturing quick decisions. I just felt some of the choices were not always appropriate, unless I was missing something. Definitely pleased to see a unique idea.

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Nice mood and graphics!

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great idea. Would have been even more amazing if you had more time to work on it, more choices and such. Also, it seemed a little too hectic, even for 10 seconds.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Absolutely fantastic! There were a lot of glitches and it would often be difficult to read everything in time, but I was happy to keep replaying it so that I could read everything : ) Really cool art style and a satisfying variety in the game mechanics!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice game! Very very buggy though, as the game said "I wish there were less bugs" :D

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40pm

sgehlich, quite strange: 90%-95% of playtests had no bugs. I really can`t figure them out. And, as it seems from comments, that percentage is true. Just press R and enjoy. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Brilliant idea. Fantastic presentation. I want to play more like this please.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

nice cool idea, really enjoy the graphcis and the mood!

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Some funny stereotypes for a nice game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice, kind of minimalistic presentation :)
It would be nice if there was time to read the text before the timer started running, though :p

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Very funny game. I was a bit overwhelmed at first trying to read all of the thoughts but it was a pretty fun little story.

Volute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Very original concept !

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Beautiful and very creative. Loved it!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:54am

Really unique experience. I just wish the theme was 15 or 20 seconds... Feel like I didn't have enough time to read everything.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54am

Beautifully minimalist.
I couldn't tell if the thoughts were actually getting dragged in. Feedback of some sort would be cool. A tiny bling sound perhaps.

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23am

Amazing work!
Quite humorous, and easily one of the top entries I've played today!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21am

Wow, very clever. Definitely innovative gameplay. Maybe a bit frantic, which worked well for the gameplay, and helped me practice my panicky speed reading.

And now I'm hungry and have to go to the bathroom.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:24am

Interesting mechanic. Felt like a choose your own adventure. Was funny to see the different outcomes.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:23am

Very unique! Love the style and mood, great work.

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:37am

Very fun game mechanic! I love it! :D

Ithildin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Great work! The idea was really clever, and "distractions" made me smile :D

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37pm

This is a really cool little game, funniest game I've played so far. Cool re playability.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37pm

5/5 on innovation

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Very cool game. 10 seconds was a little bit too fast for this game. Good work!

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Cool idea, great graphics and funny writing :)

proc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

One of my favourites i've played so far. Can't knock a CYOA!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:33pm

You are a good story teller~ Nice theme, quite fun overall :)

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07pm

That was an interesting experience! For once, I kind of liked that there is no scoring - just different outcomes. The writing was pretty good!

The graphics are minimalistic, but pleasing, and work quite well. The sound effects were good, but I think it might've done with some music. If you can't make any, you might want to use a generator like http://abundant-music.com.

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

really cool idea of grasping for the thoughts to use very nice

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Linux 404's http://i.imgur.com/WQnhAEZ.png :(

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:05am

Brilliant idea. Minimal great art style!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:01am

Very nice, but the game kept freezing on 0 in different places. Neat concept though. Good job

Ossi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16am

Very cool, great idea and well executed too. Looks good, sounds good and making quick decisions was kinda hard with the 10 second limit. The game sometimes stopped working after each section and I had to restart a couple of times but I really enjoyed it! Great job!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Cool idea based on theme. I like graphics and sound "Brains..." :D Well done!

bufbot says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50pm

I Had beer for beackfast :)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Pretty fun and original! Made for a fun story + had strong replay value.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:56am

I feel I can relate so much to this game!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I get a "404 you shall not pass" message when i try to download the game

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:35am

Very intresting concept but there is something missing. I think that the scenes should be more dependant from each other, it doesn't matter if I piss my bed or go to the toilt or whatever breakfast I choose to have, each scene is independant so it feels like my choices are inconsequent, if one choice led me to another path and there were multiple endings it would be great and I love those games, but how it is right now I feel it's somewhat incomplete.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Such a cool game. Interesting and unusual gameplay and cute minimal art! Really nice. :)

GFM says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:16am

Nice game with an interesting mechanic.

My only complaint is that no matter what choice I took it resulted in the same overall experience. I mean, I could only get one different scene (telling you boss where the assignment is) and a few different answers... This game could really use some different paths (like when you decide to check the e-mails but end up taking a shower anyway).

But for something done in 48h, pretty nice. :D

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:19am

Neat art style and unique gameplay! Loved some of the bizarre thoughts and action choices. I did have a little trouble trying to read all the choices in 10 seconds. And fyi, you're zip doesn't seem to work.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:25pm

The thought blinking makes it a tad hard to read everything on my monitor in time to reasonably pick. I really like the mechanic though.

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

A very original concept but I found some bugs playing the game. Overall, I think that the is a cool game. Good work!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:15am

It was REALLY hard to get fired! I liked the style, nice color theme. 5/5 for humor as well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]