August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lair Raid

by Parappa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm generally a fan of RPGs with automatic combat systems (Ogre Battle, Final Fantasy XII) and I've always wanted to try my hand at writing one, so I used this Ludum Dare theme as an excuse to throw together a crude prototype of an RPG where the only control the player has is over what members join the party, and each phase of the game lasts only 10 seconds. The result is, I hope, something like some random Windows 3.1 shareware game you might have downloaded from a BBS.

If you get frustrated trying to finish it, don't worry. There is no ending.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#406Theme3.32
#439Innovation3.13
#518Audio2.62
#528Mood2.76
#617Humor2.14
#647Overall2.97
#858Fun2.55
#1031Graphics2.07

Comments

raincole says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

Honestly, I can't understand what just happened.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

I think there's something to this, though the 10-second Epochs (at least for party selection) seem to be working against you. I've kind of always wanted to do a puzzle game about RPG mechanics, and I think this goes in that direction.

bushmango says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58am

It's like 10x Progress Quest! ^.^

Tortche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01am

That was strangely addictive. Awesome work!

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

"Diablo's minion grows stronger"
OMG gotta kill 'em all!
I really didn't know what the fuck was going on, but then I read your notes, and it became easier to abstract the concept.
This game is pretty much automatic and you could add some instructions in the main menu or whatever.
But you know f*ck it! My wizard's name is Ygritte AND THIS MUSIC IS TOO AWESOME!
P.S.: Gotta ask, did you use flixel?
P.S.S.: I laughed my ass off with raincole's commentary LOL

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

I really the art, especially the boss monsters. Fun setup, but it might be more if it was a little less? I felt like I did a lot of waiting.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:26am

Making an idle game with the 10 second theme seemed like a gamble as those are notorious for having you sit through them for days, but it seems to work ok. It would have been nice to have more than 10 seconds to assemble the party though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45pm

RPG inspired too Parappa? Great game and simple concept, would play for longer if it had a save option. reminds me of candybox :)

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Thanks for referencing Progress Quest and Candybox! I hadn't played either of those before, but they're amusing. :)

If I make a successor to this game, the 10 second limit for party selection would definitely be gone. It's a fun experiment and addictive to the right kind of player, but overall I think the player needs to have more options / control.

Parappa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Oh, btw, I didn't use Flixel. I used a Flash lib called Starling and a UI lib on top of it called Feathers.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:21pm

A fun concept, but in the end the game just isn't quite clear enough. The player needs to know way more about the game (like what the classes are and what the different stats do) before the choice of party actually starts to become meaningful.

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I don't understand your game.

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I don't understand your game. The time goes before I manage to know what to do. Maybe with a better tutorial or something...

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Never heard of this kind of games before! Thanks for opening my eyes :)

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Great concept but there really is no gameplay. Quickly selecting a party and watching them go is kind of boring. Most auto-combat rpg's give you control over the role of individual characters allowing you to change them based on the state of the combat. Well balanced ones actually make this an important strategic requirement.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

You are really sticking to what makes an rpg great. Metal chiptune!

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:56am

I liked having a giant team would like to see them represented in the battle even if they were just one pixel. Would be fun to watch.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

I had no idea what was going on but the somehow by clicking randomly on selection screens I got a few fights in... somehow..

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Intresting, but I'm not sure what did what, I just clicked on loads of dudes then stuff died? or what? A nice concept and if I'd taken the time to understand it it would have been great, nice work

nikkesen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:19am

Very cute. I like your troll and ogre. Excellent use of mechanics. Good game.

Fervir says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:21am

This game is really cool.
I like your ideas.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:51am

At one point in the game, 2 of my characters started one-hitting bosses with 5000-10000 dmg hits. :p

To be honest, why would you ever want to change characters if they level up? You just stick to your first characters anyway. That makes for 20 seconds of waiting with nothing to do. Otherwise it's fun to watch the monsters get wiped out.

Good concept, could use some fleshing out!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]