August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Merciless Momentum

by tylerb1 - Jam Entry

I made a game called Merciless Momentum for the Jam. I was cut a bit short, so some things are a bit unfixed in the game, and some of the levels are a bit bland. I barely slept during the whole Jam to make this game. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I enjoyed making it!

The goal is just to get to the red portal in under 10 seconds, which is explained in game. Have fun!

Controls:
W/A/S/D - Move
Space - Jump
LMB - Shoot

Credits:

Creator and Programmer: Tyler Bellay
Model Creator: Kyle Knight
Music and Sounds: Garrett "ThoughT" Lindquist

Quick tip: Shoot the turrets to kill them ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1773Coolness20%

Comments

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:43am

Merciless is an appropriate name for this. The speed of mouselook was incredibly frustrating to me. I don't have a lot of the fine motor skill it takes to use a mouse effectively in situations like this so it was pretty hopeless from the start.

I did make it through about 6 levels. The moving platforms worked like magic (in a not entirely complementary way... i really have no idea how they worked... i just kinda got on them sometimes and not other times).

So, overall, an impressive technical achievement for the given time and truly a complete game (which is another huge achievement in itself), but for me, not much fun.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:48am

Your post on the main page made me realize that I didn't really communicate the things I did like about the game:

1. It is complete! That's no small feat as we all well know.

2. There is a since of progression and the level difficulty ramp is appropriate. I liked how you first taught me about switches and then hid the switch from me.

3. You didn't skip sound! Everyone ends up doing that, which is unfortunate because the sound input to our brains is really high bandwidth and a huge part of our overall experience with a thing.

4. You used a player skill mechanic. Meaning, I personally have to improve as a human (not as a virtual character) to progress through your game. That kind of mechanic really appeals to me if I have the base ability I need to get started.

5. You used the 10 second timer effectively. Even when I was frustrated (and eventually quit because I didn't feel like I was capable of controlling the player adequately) I felt like my goals were just a little bit out of my reach and that I could probably achieve them if I kept trying.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:48am

I liked the way all the movement mechanics worked together, but it would have been nice to move slightly faster.

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:59am

I think the controls are ok, a bit cumbersome but ok.

At the first level I had a hard time jumping between the platforms as the physics felt a bit wrong. I kept overshooting it and ended up jumping really early on each platform to get forwards.

On level two I missed the moving platform, and when I respawned I guess I had been mobed to level 3? On that level I moved towards the end but the "door" at the end didnt trigger so I lost anyways.

This is really unfinished but with work could have been fine.

Jools64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Very fun game!

I loved the controls and physics. Would have been nice to have a mouse sensitivity setting. The level design was also really nice. The game flowed nicely while feeling fairly challenging. Some help boxes would have also improved things a bit though such as for the boost pads requiring that you jump on the tip.

The graphics where neat and suited the game. The audio also fit well and sounded nice!

Excellent job guys!

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

Overall I liked it, but the mouse speed was too fast for me!

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:36pm

this really was merciless!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Quite merciless. Once I got to the enemies, I just couldn't do it anymore.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]