August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Seanan's Brewery

by ZYXer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As the proud new owner of Seanan's Brewery, you are in charge of building the new factory floor.

Your goal is to produce a crate of beer every 10 seconds.

BASIC INSTRUCTIONS:
- Start out by building one of each facility type.
- Each crate you produce gives you 60 coins.
- Hire more employees by clicking the +1 button next to the employee counter.
- Optimize your production until you produce one crate every 10 seconds.
- You can read the detailed instructions on the game's page while you wait for crates.


I hope you have fun playing! :-D
- ZYXer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#27Graphics4.26
#30Overall3.96
#35Fun3.86
#59Theme3.88
#75Mood3.63
#82Innovation3.80
#237Humor2.89
#930Audio1.47

Comments

mirzasan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09am

I love this game , everything move smoothly , design and graphic nice Good job!

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01am

Very creative idea. Beer!! Nice graphics too!

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Hmm. Beer. Love that 10 seconds was the target. Nice objective for a production line game.

NMcCoy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:59am

Lovely game!

iiechapman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:59am

Great reversal of the 10 second idea, build yourself up to 10 seconds, I like it! The graphics and execution are wonderful!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:02am

I really enjoyed this one. I like these kind of resource management sort of games. I think you should continue to work on this game. The art-style and overall design and presentation was very pleasant. I would have liked to have some more control over my workers. For instance, tell them to only focus on one particular job. This would have allowed me to micromanage my operation a lot better. Overall one of the best entries I've played so far for LD27.

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:07am

It was a very nice game with beautiful graphics! Love the disclaimer :P I really enjoyed playing it, but I couldn't help but feel a bit powerless.. there didn't seem to be much strategy, it was just like: if this thing isn't being done fast enough, build more; if things aren't being moved fast enough, hire more; I feel like there should have been another few strategic choices to make, but this is incredibly well designed (including the website) for 48 hours ;)

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:12am

BEST.GAME.EVER. Simply Amazing!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:41am

The ability to demolish facilities could be nice; otherwise, you can paint yourself into a corner, if you get proportions or spacing wrong (adding new facilities and employees has actually decreased my production time, because I can't control AI pathing.)

That aside, this is a nice, simple, fun production line game, with some very polished artwork. I could see something like this debuting on Facebook. Good work!

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:48am

Very impressive work!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:28am

Neat game! Was fun!

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53am

Good management game! At first it's easily stucked but when you figure out how to play, its really nice gaming experinece. Good job :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:59am

Never thought a beer game would be good. But it totally is.

LoneStranger says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21am

Very well done! I got it as far down as 10.8 before it started to go back up. I think I needed a better layout pattern. :)

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21am

I'm making...beer! Seriously, why isn't there already a beer making game?! Nice work! :)

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:26am

Good use of the theme. Very interesting and well designed game.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:31am

It could also be very useful to have the possibility to delete buildings.

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

This is a very impressive game, both visually and functionally, for something made in such a short amount of time! Good job!

haxpor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20am

Nice idea! I love how you illustrate it out for detailed information like that. Graphics is very detail, remind me about the good old day classic game (I can't remember the name). I love to just see those guys take something from one processing line to another, that's happy mood. BTW, really twist adapting to match the theme, creative way :)

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:26am

Excellent! The early-game is very dull, since you're waiting two minutes for any new money to come in, but once things get rolling it's pretty fun, and it looks great. My beer needs more vespene gas!

rpmoura says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:31am

Great game! Great mechanics and graphics. :)

lekochen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:05am

Completed. Very well done! Love it!

redo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Very good graphics. Well desing.
Nice Simulation/Strategy game!

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Great Job , very Addictive.. hic..

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:14am

This is far more solid than I was expecting, and the 10-second goal was exactly the right amount of difficulty. I eventually got to 1 crate every 8.3 seconds.

The amount of available building space felt like a limitation toward the end, a 'sell/destroy' function may have helped, or a larger play area, for further expansion.

Fun game though, I'll be replaying this one a few times :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Very nice game! Everything feels polished about it, the graphics and animations are nice, and the difficulty is nicely balanced for the 10 seconds goal. I would have like to be able to destroy/sell machines and farms to optimize. And a win screen for meeting the goal would have been nice. Apart from that, I feel like it's enough to fill the screen with machines and people and eventually it will work out, so if you continue working on the game after the competition you might want to add more mechanics.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Stunning, and featuring beer! I'll drink to that.

raincole says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:03pm

The graphics are amazing! It's very impressive that you did so many details in one day.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:44am

Brilliant game! Just a bit of audio, and this would've been perfect! It's very well polished, and even though waiting for a crate gets a tad bit boring sometimes (specifically when out of money), this is very impressive work for 48 hours!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:32am

Great entry in an underrepresented genre! However I missed the ability to (re-)move facilities.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Loved this game, loads of fun. I think i became an alcoholic while playing this!

Karlux says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Excellent game! Fun to play. Lovely graphics. Great managing the various elements for the best strategy. Brilliant!

garygreen says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Great idea. Taught me a bit about brewing too. :-)

kristof says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:39pm

This is so great! It reminds me of the settlers series. Watching all the little workers do their thing is so cool. Nice work!

zzForrest says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Great game but is almost broken due to the fact that having too many employees results in AI failure. I know it's supposed to be a game mechanic, but sometimes buying 1 employee makes 4 others stop working. Also it would make more sense for 2 employees to go over to the hops and collect 2 hops. Otherwise, awesome!! You should definitely make a full length game out of this!

smrt_co says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Lovely game. :)

XaiZil says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:48pm

I loved this, really cool idea. Well done on getting a tycoon-style game done

Karlux says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:27am

Love managing my brewery!

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:36pm

great concept, but nothing about 10 sec

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]