August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The children's songs

by kunzbe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm proud to present you my second entry.

It's kind of a music game. I hope you enjoy it.
You have to bring all children back to their mother.

Features:
- Always new melodies everytime you play the game
- Procedurally generated music, never the same
- Sing to gain trust
- You can use the game as a simple ear training program :)

Tip: When you mastered the game, just let your browser window open, catch a good drink and listen a bit to the music. After this busy weekend, I'm doing exactly that ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#21Audio3.89
#84Innovation3.79
#166Mood3.35
#289Overall3.34
#476Fun3.00
#477Humor2.38
#646Theme3.08
#656Graphics2.73

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:06am

Oh this idea is great. If a bit difficult, though.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Interesting idea, Still I can't beat any of the challenge how much I try so I can't really rate it.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Nice! Love everything that involves indepth music usage. The problem is that i brought one child back, and nothing happened. And graphics could use a little bit of touch.

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

I love the idea ! But I think I have bad ears so this is too difficult for me :p

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50pm

@all: Hi there, thanks for the reply as a bugfix I changed the hero's singing voice to a bit more prominent instrument, now it is easier to beat.

@CustomPhase: You have to catch them all ;)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Cool idea, I really like the mood of this game!

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice idea, just wish I could work out what notes the little things were playing.

Omnus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Cool! I managed to beat it once I figured out which notes were mapped to which keys.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:53pm

@Omnus: Great :) I'm happy to here that. I hope you enjoyed the harmonies at the end :)

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01pm

This was great, a bit difficult but I completed it :D Great work!

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:01pm

*hear

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43pm

hard but very good! :D
gratz!

Whiteclaws says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Interesting idea , but reproducing the song is a bit too hard in my opinion :(

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Love the music, my ear is not so good xD

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Very creative, cool idea. My listening skills are not very good, so sometimes I had to use trial and error, but enjoyed it. :)

skarab says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Wow, stunning idea. Me and gf failed to reproduce melodies (hard to know because of ears, and source/voices differences). But it sounds really good, and visuals/mood are nice too. Congrats!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Wonderful idea.

Afal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40pm

I like the idea but it's tricky as heck.

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Bloody difficult but awesome at the same time

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

This was fun! I'd suggesting adding a bit of difficulty by not letting the blobs sing the tune before you accept the challenge.

senseidav says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

Very good prupose, only must know its a little difficult to listen the notes with that synthe.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:29am

The singing part was very difficult for me. Like the idea.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Great idea! I'm not very good at it, though. It's a cute story and cool that the music is different every time.

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Really like the idea, I love anything with music especially playing music. I wish there was more to the music than the Simon says gameplay, but still really neat. Enemies have a Yoshi's Island vibe.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]