August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds and The Wizard

by michail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help Garry find a wizard in this funny point-and-click adventure!

Created using Flashpunk, graphics made in GIMP, music and sounds - Tuxguitar and Sfxr. Everything done by myself in 48h.
Hope you like the game and my interpretation of the theme ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#76Humor3.54
#274Audio3.04
#347Mood3.02
#439Fun3.06
#459Overall3.15
#626Graphics2.77
#633Innovation2.85
#1055Theme2.45

Comments

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I just love the 10 seconds thing XD. I play until the portrait, but I couldn't figure out how to move it :(

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:47pm

The flying keys are annoying as all hell. Nice music, though.

BUT WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS ROOM WITH A HUNDRED FUCKING FLYING KEYS? AND HALF OF THEM AREN'T ACTUALLY KEYS? I HATE YOU SO MUCH.

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

@madk, thanks for the love :)

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Argh i hate those flying keys T_T But nice game anyway :)

Subi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Hehe, that was fun. I suspect it's better played on a tablet though, that room with the appearing switches nearly killed my wrist. ;)

Zccc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

At first I tought it was a kids game(not the 10 seconds part :P), but then it got really hard xD Good job, nice humor.

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice game! The connection to the theme is a bit far fetched but it works :-p. My only real complaint is that while playing the game a small textbox kept appearing next to my mouse. Remove the " title="10 Seconds and The Wizard" " part from your html file and it's much better imo.

Xotraz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

I cheat (click right to paused game and click). :p

Really hard at the end.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

It made me laugh out loud in a couple of places, especially the text when you win. The gameplay is incredibly tedius yet compelling. I think the cute graphics and story made me want to see it through even though I was tearing my hair out. I've never tried acid, but I'm thinking this is the kind of games the Beatles would have made on their trips to India.

ps I don't think enough was made of his premature ejaculation problem.

michail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

@Kevlanche - thanks for the tip!
@Dream Of Sleeping - Maybe you are right, but you know, I didn't wanted the game to be 18+ :)

Balooga03 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Haha, nice one!! I like your twist on the Theme, makes you wonder about the kind of magic the Wizard performs...
It was pretty annoying and difficult at times but the nice music sure made up for it.

DaVince says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Not bad!

Where this game shines is in the humour. You've got some nice jokes, and damn do you love trolling the player. My mouse isn't that precise so this was quite a challenge!

I like the basic gameplay elements. Sort of a hybrid between action and point-and-click adventure. Though I do think you could have done more with the character's movement, like put some obstacles in the way. As it is, his movement is no more than a visual distraction as you try to hunt down those keys!

Also, the entire "10 seconds" theme didn't factor into the gameplay in any way. It factored into the story, but the story was so simple that it hardly mattered (except as a joke that made me laugh!). Could've been more creative with that! ;)

fluffypillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Good ideas and funny levels, but those DAMN KEYS :)

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56am

this is fun and I'm glad I can play till the end

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12pm

The reaction time puzzles were the best (Random key placement, clicking the pop out books).

A bit of a bummer ending though.

nikkesen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:00am

The click box for the flying keys is rather small, but otherwise it's a fun little game with good mechanics.

Darien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:04am

It's fun to see a new take on the theme. Well done. :-)

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:27am

Cute point and click game. Sometimes clicking the disappear books was difficult, but I did manage to make it to the wizard's room.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45am

Simple yet compelling, nice balance. I liked the old-school children's game feel to some of the puzzles.

I did find the flying keys to be more challenging than you had probably intended though. even when I'd hone in on one key and track it's movements, there seemed to be some randomness in their bounce trajectory, plus they were small enough that it required incredibly fast fingers. But I did make it all the way to the end, and I'm glad I did.

Honestly, if you wanted to do so, I can see this turning into a very decent kid's game for tablets/smartphones, if you made the story and difficulty a bit more kid-friendly.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:32am

I love the mood/charm of this game. It has a soul.

michail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:07pm

@BlennosoftGames: No, the flying keys are not more challenging than I planned - they were meant to be a hell for player ;)And, although they bounce quite normally, they randomly change the direction a bit every frame, so there is indeed much randomness in their movement. I believe you can get mad at this keys, but it's 100% intended :)

And thanks everyone for comments!

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

really cute! though I doubt the wizard has much to teach Garry, if he spends all of his time locked up...

Alink says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Fun simple game. Flying keys a bit hard to hit, ended up spam click more that aiming/timing. But the "secret" and quick reaction puzzle were well balanced.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:40am

Nice art and music. Was getting into it when suddenly....had to click on 5 books that slid onto screen :) /ragequit. Nice game though. Could see it being great for kids. Had that vibe to it. But WAY too big of a difficulty spike. Balance toward easy and not what you can complete as the developer :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Not a bad one. Kept me entertained to the end. Could use a bit more work/polish but that can be said of all games made in 48 hours :P

Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:56pm

"nooooo.." XD
Terrific and quirky!

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:09am

Nice mood. Cute, and.. bloody hard. :)

Cryovat says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:54pm

I liked the theme (risque aspects aside) and the music. It's always nice to see an adventure game. :)

Unfortunately, some of the puzzles didn't work so well with me; my mousing isn't precise enough. I really wanted to go on, but after a few dozen attempts at the room with the sliding key drawer, I had to call it quits.

Shame though, because I enjoyed the rest of the game a lot. Good effort!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:30am

the puzzles need some work but the graphics and sound are good! I couldnt record this with fraps so I cannot put it in my LD27 compilation video however. :/

Livsk says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:17am

Very creative and fun! Good sounds and graphics combine with the game. Nice game.

Croze says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Was pretty cool.

dj_pale says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Played it to the end, nice puzzle ideas, annoying with the flying keys ;P Theme was a bit slapped on.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:07am

gets hard quick but a good adventure game. nice one michail!

douglasv says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:44am

Awesome game, laughed a lot in the introduction and the end

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:59pm

A pretty fun experience. The graphics are crude, but charming, and the writing made me laugh a couple of times. The puzzles are pretty basic, but most have taken some coding skills, and none of them are bad. I liked the ending, too.

Nothing groundbreaking, but a decent enough Flash game.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:08am

I gotta say the theme interpretation and the ending were precious!
Cool music, right mood and fun mechanics. It ended exactly where it should before game play started to feel repetitive. That room with the chained books was kind of hard!
I'm giving 5 stars to Theme and Humor for original theme interpretation and funny story line. =D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]