August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Hero's Journey (or get the treasure and run)

by Ludipe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The Hero's Journey (or get the treasure and run)" is a platform game which tries to be fun and somehow educational at the same time. It's a very basic representation of Joseph Campbell's "Monomyth"; if you don't know what this is you'll find out playing the game.

In the game you must get to the treasure chest and then keep running until you get to the beginning again. You'll repeat this task a few times but the stage changes.

The game features three game modes (easy, normal and endless). It's designed to be easy so, from my point of view, most players shouldn't have any problems when playing on endless (which is the hardest).

Instructions: (they are included in the game) Arrow keys to move and "X" to jump.

NOTE: Desktop version is recommended

Includes nerdy references!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#286Mood3.10
#362Fun3.16
#411Humor2.52
#439Innovation3.13
#498Graphics2.97
#548Overall3.06
#774Audio2.10
#861Theme2.81

Comments

Zetsaika says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Realy liked how everygame cicles on a new one. This reminds me of the last game jam i entered, the theme was Ouroboros.

Also like the "around the world" movement. Gives a good heads up on Campbell's Monomyth.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

I liked the feel of running in a circle, and the movement of it. I absolutely hated the music ;P

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:38am

Quite hard but definitely the best game I've seen so far that uses the spherical world mechanic.

netgrind says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39am

That was cool. Each level was definitely longer that one rotation right? Not sure if going crazy. I really enjoyed the circular style.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:59am

@netgrind haha, you must be going kind of crazy, each stage was exactly one rotation

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20am

I think the pseudo-educational part of it is a great concept. I could see quick games like this being really useful.

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40am

I'm always a fan of games that teach in small ways through theme and design. Good job! The biggest weakness for me was the lack of sound effects; I expected to hear them at certain points (jumping, monster spawn, death, treasure opening) and was shook out of the experience a bit when they didn't happen.

Pestodesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:45am

I like the idea to make the runner game on a circle, and how these circles are repeating! The graphics were too gray and boring for me though. Good game, good luck!

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:18am

@kirbytails7 I've always wanted to design a few educational games but being original; I wouldn't call this a totally educational game, but it motivates people to understand the hero's journey.

@Rave Radbury I always have issues with sounds/music. Music is really bad and there were some sounds before. I removed them because I was going a bit crazy hearing them all the tiem, maybe it wasn't the best choice, I don't know, I was a bit tired.

pikkufighter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50am

good game maybe a little short but still good.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

nice amount of challenge and content squeezed in there!

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27am

A bit hard but very fun

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Good idea!! endless fun :)

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:13pm

I like graphics, and fun!

lalanl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Difficult, but a great idea!

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:20pm

I loved this game! I wish I was better at it and it had sound effects though :P

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Nice idea and quite challenging. I would have liked a restart button - while getting used to the controls I died a few times on lap one and although the game appears to restart all the obstacles were already active from the previous go.

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

Quite enjoying the graphics and the mechanic. Also, props for attaching the semi-educational game aspect to it.

HD408 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Humorous one. Maybe lacks some sounds, but well done. Nice style, too.

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:28pm

endless mode is a crazy thing. The circle effect is the coolest thing of this game.
really loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]