August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Love you more

by Jod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Love you more - A visual novel about the last ten seconds of a bank robbery aftermath and why things escalated the way they did.

############################################

There are four different endings, and almost every scene can be viewed in at least 2 different ways. Enjoy finding them all!

############################################

My second Ludum Dare entry. I managed to add some sound effects and music this time.

Apologies in advance for the typos. Out of time... out of time...

TIPS:
-Right mouse button brings up the menu during the game where you can save.
-CTRL lets you go through text you've already seen
-Four different endings, including a realy happy one!

A Ludum Dare Visual Novel entry.

Created with the Ren'Py framework in the JEdit editor.
Pictures made with a Samsung S2 phone.
Graphics edited with Paint.net
Sound made with FL Studio.

Game contains mature content, cursing and violence. You're welcome.

############################################

The game contains 427 screens of dialogue and at least five movie references.
These screens contain a total of 7,733 words of which about two are spelled correctly,
for an average of 18.1 words per screen. A widescreen. Why did I use a widescreen resolution?
The game contains 26 menus and part of my soul.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Mood3.90
#135Audio3.35
#322Overall3.30
#326Graphics3.29
#378Theme3.35
#639Fun2.82
#693Humor2.00
#838Innovation2.59
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

Not a fan of visual novels/text adventures, but it's a nice game! Liked the story, the options menu, and the sounds/music. Only critique I have is that the file size is very big.

Jod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

@vittorioromeo: Thanks for the kind words! And yes, it's way too big, isn't it? I messed up there somewhere.

ChronusZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45am

Wow. This was intense. Despite the frequent spelling/grammatical issues (I'm assuming English isn't your first language), I enjoyed this very much. I was thunderstruck when I told Sofie I loved her more and she only said "I know". I have no idea how you wrote so much content in the 48 hours. This is incredible :)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

As someone who really loves visual novels, this was an interesting one! The graphics weren't really my taste, but the story was definitely very engaging. Great work!

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:23pm

even though I am not a big fan of Visual Novels but I liked this one ... great work

oajfh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Very interesting, although I seem to keep getting the same ending through my choices.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nice word game, I like the story. I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Agreed @vittorioromeo, these text adventures are really common for some reason, but the graphics and audio were great. Not much "fun" though, also doesn't really fit the theme, oyu just sort of threw 10 seconds in there

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Interesting. Although not really my type of game, I can see how much work went into this.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Great story and take on the theme! You really used the visual novel format very well, and produced an highly engaging work. Very good job!

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:01am

I never played/watched a VN before. And... well... I want more now! Excellent take on the theme. Good story. Sometimes it was difficult do read the "top" texts. Great job!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

This is a really good idea for a narrative, and one that used the theme quite well. However, given that you didn't do anything particularly special with the game engine, I feel like you should have been more careful about your grammar. Get to know the engine a little better, too... when the flashback titles popped up, it would have been better if the titles had come up automatically rather than waiting for player input on a black screen.

Khopa says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:11am

I love visual novels when it's well written, and yours was really great.
Very nice experience.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:34am

Great atmosphere and very engaging story. Also great work with the sounds and music. Especially the dynamics of the music volume. Not much "game" here since there's not much player choice, but good work all the same.

mitkus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:19pm

This was awesome! Liked the story very much, I'll make sure to get all the endings.

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:39am

Damn, intriguing story! Wasn't expecting to get into it. Over stylized photos strangely work ok in this case. And all that in 48h ! Crazy amount of work. Great job!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Very nice atmosphere in that.. Did you make all those photos in the 48hour, while programming? That's amazing! Didn't liked too much the filter you used, but probably help to mantain the atmosphere of flashbacks.. Nicely done!

Antylum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Nice story, it's rarity to see a novel among other games.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

Great work, I tend to like visual novels a lot more than normal games and this one is way above the average LD games I've played, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]