August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lawrence Dare Starring In- 10 Second Psychic

by Beardbotnik - Jam Entry

Take on the role of detective as Lawrence Dare, a sleuth with powers of supernatural proportions! Use this ability to read peoples minds for 10 seconds to help find out who caused the villainous murder!

WASD for moving and rotation.
Talk by walking into the suspects.
Use the space bar to scroll text.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#63Innovation(Jam)3.60
#90Graphics(Jam)4.08
#146Humor(Jam)2.96
#146Mood(Jam)3.30
#210Overall(Jam)3.29
#364Audio(Jam)2.58
#380Fun(Jam)2.69
#385Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

Looks interesting! But very short. And those voices...

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:45am

Couldn't really understand the voices well, but I really like the art

vvolis says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Visual look - 10/10. Really enjoyed it.
Also the voices ver kind of creepy but cool.
Nice job :)

Ysty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Wow, the graphics are great. Great game!

xrm0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Nice art. All the voices playing at the same time is a bit confusing.

tamat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Neat idea, it took me a while to get the concept, I was stressed by the audio.

Infin8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Awesome. I didnt realise the voices were the thoughts i was hearing at first. Great use of the 10s theme.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Interesting idea, although i couldn;t read the dialogs, the text appeard for a second and got skewed then. Is that intentional?
Anyhow, nice idea and like the visuals

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Larzan, how did it get skewed? Not sure what could be wrong, but if you could give me details on what version of the game you were playing, full screen or not, and maybe a screenshot if you have the time, that would be super helpful, thanks for playing everyone! :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Fantastic idea and amazing graphics. Great mood too and good use of the theme. Only issue I had was with the sound, it was a bit too difficult to hear them properly

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Great idea! Though I could barely understand the voices... but I think that's on purpose haha. Nice job :)

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Cool idea! It was hard to make out the thought-voices, but that was definitely a feature - made it more interesting to work out what they were actually thinking. If you can, this would be great extended to multiple levels or randomly generated murders or something.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Thanks! I actually talked to a friend of mine who does writing and stuff, so he can help me make various different cases to solve (and do better voice recordings). I was hoping to do at least 3 random cases, but time constrainst sort of stopped that from happening...

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:30pm

My psychic skills were low today. :D But I really liked the thought idea. :)

Latency says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Love the graphics and feel, brilliant! I needed to mute it after a bit though, all the voices were running together haha, a lot of fun and a super cool style.

recursor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Great artwork, and I like the gameplay style too. The computer generated voices were a bit hard to understand at times, but I still managed to get the killer. Well done!

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I admit, I cheated my way to win the game. All I did was run back, point a suspect, fail, repeat until I get the right one.

It was difficult for me to hear the voices, since English is not my native language. And if I got stuck between the ladies the voices would repeat themselves.

Fantastic job on the graphics! A 3D game with a 2D feel (or is it the other way around?). The shoulder view effect is nicely done.

I liked your game, but I like the concept more. And you conveyed it pretty well. I would like to see this game grow.

In my opinion the connection to the theme is a bit far fetched. I feel no 10 seconds influence... But that's just me.

Rated 7/10 would play again if only I could understand what they think (closed captions would help on this, for us international users).

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10am

I like the style of the voices, but they WERE pretty hard to hear. I think less reverb and slightly longer gaps between the words would have helped. I like the concept and the graphics quite a lot. Obviously not a lot of depth to the puzzle, but interesting nonetheless.

Oh, the perspective behind the detective rules. Its like Resident Evil 4 but awesomer.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

Echoing what's been said about the voices. Subtitles would be appreciated.

I wound up accusing Gordie, though I'm not sure how I concluded that he was the killer. The only clues I remember are that the killer was tall and that Gordie was disgruntled. I had hoped to get more out of the characters' thoughts. It makes sense that they be distracted and flighty (as thoughts are) but I'd hoped for a bit more information woven in between non sequitur.

I like the over-the-shoulder controls, and the characters designs a lot, as well as mind reading as a concept. It would be nice to use 'space' to read minds instead of having them play automatically!

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:31am

I couldn't figure it out how to guess correctly, so I just picked everybody until I got it. The graphics and animations are excellent and the voices are interesting and good. I also think the overall feel of the game was very nice.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Great idea! Nice simple graphics. I really liked the behind the back camera.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Pretty neat game but the echoes and various bugs annoy me.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Oh man, this is great! I love the look of everything, the over-the-shoulder style and especially the bizarre suda51-style voice performances. Please do more with this!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:16am

Very original graphics, I wish I could hear the voices better though, as it's kinda the point of the game.

daOyster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice, liked the art very much. Good concept too.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:03am

Holy the voices are creepy!
Terrific visual style, though. Great job!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

I love the art in this game, really well done! The voices freaked me out though. It's no wonder he looks melancholic. I had a hard time understanding the voices, they might've been a little fast.

Overall clean presentation and well made.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

good job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

What a neat idea! Nicely done on the art as well.

My inner monologue sounds exactly like this.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Genius concept and gameplay, the voices are strange and a bit hard to understand but it adds to the paranormal/murder atmoshpere and if they were easy to comprehend the game would be less fun and challenging.

GigaBass says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

Very short game;
Liked how weird and "psychotic-like" the voices sounded :)

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Really good job on this very particular graphic style. These creepy voices are however difficult to understand.

EternalHero says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:30am

Awesome game!

pighead10 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:50pm

The voices could have been clearer, given that they were essential to the game.

Codexus says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I didn't understand the concept on my first try. The computer generated voices are very annoying to listen to but the drawings are top-notch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]