August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

High Demand Secretary

by TheColorMan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as Marsha, the secretary for the Mr. Courtland, the world's most impatient buisnessman! Some say he can't keep his temper for longer than 10 seconds!

Type out the assignments that he gives you before Mr. Courtland looses his temper. It's all case sensitive and remember the spaces. See how many assignments you can last!

Source is found inside of the zip in the "src" file.

This wasn't too complex of a game so I managed to get it done much faster than my last submission. Thanks for trying it out!



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Humor3.25
#606Graphics2.79
#752Theme2.94
#906Innovation2.47
#948Fun2.42
#958Overall2.61
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:30pm

cute graphics, nice use of the theme, texts are funny, but sorry man, it looks too much of a typo software I had to use while studying to be fun

MrBlade says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice job! There seemed to be lag on the menu, and the first assignment would not register "v" or "e". Some sounds would have been nice if there was sound. Awesome visuals though.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I would have liked to have more varied texts, not always the same three texts. Also I'm not sure if those are really 10 seconds you have time for typing?

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:06am

Mavis Beacon has got a make over... of sorts. I really like the character and typing games aren't the devil. Lack of content to type is a shame.

JokerDen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:39am

In generall it not bad idea but i think it must have difficult increase from low to high: first letters must be shorter. For me (non-native english) was hard to type it all in 10 seconds.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I've got a french keyboard, and some letters seem to not work!
and that guy nas very short nerves...

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:29am

Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaamn, i type to slow (english is not my native language). Only managed to finish one assignment. But sill very proud of it! :P Good job, enjoyed the challange!

X-0r says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:08am

It felt like there was a lot more time than 10 seconds... Too bad there was no actual "goal" of the game... I thought at first, that after a while you'd win or something, but as I had to re-type what I already typed before, I decided to forget about this, and go for some sort of highscore instead :P

I believe there should be penalties for mistyping, after all, there's no point in having a message including the letters of the assignment, but having whatever amount of wrong characters mixed inbetween^^

Nice graphics, btw =)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice one, very cool drawings. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]