August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Burrito Blaze

by Skye - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well it looks like it's another boring day at work. Might as well make a burrito. What's the worst that could happen? A fire you say?

Use WASD to run away from the fire while eating burritos to keep your energy up. Make sure not to eat the poison ones!

Try to beat my highscore of 96.7 seconds!

Disclaimer #1: Don't play this game if you have epilepsy or are prone to seizures.
Disclaimer #2: Turn off your volume while playing. Don't question, just do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#12Humor4.12
#227Mood3.23
#418Fun3.09
#465Audio2.71
#636Graphics2.76
#647Overall2.97
#861Theme2.81
#884Innovation2.50

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54am

I use the Windows version, unfortunately, as soon as the intro is finished and the word Start appear, the game close :(

ToxicHen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Lost at 68.08 seconds. I used the windows version, and the game quality is good. The sound FX are interesting to say the least, lol. Overall it's good quality

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Best at 64 seconds, i really enjoyed the intro

Afal says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37pm

won't run on linux :/

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:42pm

I'm really glad that he got that burrito.

Skye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

sorry for some problems. Seeing if I can get the HTML5 version working correctly now for universal play

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Very addictive game, I liked it!
But I find that the acid mode (after 60 seconds) rely too much on luck, often there are so many green burritos that you can't possibly go through. Also the hit box is too large, you can take burritos without touching them.


On Linux I had a few problems to make it work. First the .sh failed with the error:
> Error: Unable to access jarfile /home/fractal/LD27/Burrito Blaze.sh
> : numeric argument requiredxit: 0

So I tried `java -jar "Burrito Blaze.sh"', and it worked, except that I got a NumberFormatException which was due to the fact that I use a locale using , as a decimal separator.

In the end, I had to run the command `LC_ALL=C java -jar "Burrito Blaze.sh"'

Skye says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Acid mode was a result of the algorithm that I used to spawn burritos going a little insane after collecting a lot of them. It's not based on time, just burritos

coeoliver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

man you say my game was phenomenal I can lose hours in this game it is so mesmerising no need to turn the sound off..:¬)

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

so it turns out that the HTML5 version is completely broken when it comes to sprite animation. I may work on that later but for now it will remain on desktop platforms only

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

Game crashes as soon as "Go!" disappears. I would give 5 to humor though because I laughed uncontrollably when I saw the intro at the beginning

Skye says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

I've figured out why it's crashing. I'll see if I can do something about it soon

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39am

Awesome intro, and quite addictive gameplay!

Infernal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:54am

The game just up and closes on it's own sometimes. Other times I had just eaten a normal burrito and got the "you got dead" screen. otherwise it seemed to run clean. The intro text at the very start built high hopes on visuals, but your programmer art cutscene was a harsh reality :P

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Very funny! The music got a tad annoying, but the gameplay was pretty good.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:09am

I hate when my burritos get too hot.

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:08am

I don't even know what to say about this game. It's great. Man, I could go for a burrito now.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33pm

funny stuff nice work :)

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:36pm

not bad, great intro and fun game play. Acid mode was pretty intense but maybe a little too hard due to the number of burritos

djbriandamage says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Very fun! I'm not entirely sure why my burrito can only be the optimal temperature while I am alive, nor why my burrito is worth dying for at all, but it doesn't matter.

Loved acid mode - I lasted all of 3 seconds.

h_double says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:30am

Love the intro. Gameplay is simple but kept me playing long enough to get to Acid Mode a couple of times, but I never beat it. It's too frustrating having to restart, especially since there are about 5-10 seconds at the start of the level where there's basically nothing happening. Maybe pick up the pace at the beginning, and make the poison burrito penalty not so harsh?

awppy says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:52am

not a lot of game CONCEPTS make me laugh, but there's something about the magic of burritos that hit the mark

Game closed when I hit "Play Again", but other than that it ran fine

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:59am

Nice! Got to 60s then hit a dreaded green burrito!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:48am

look out for burritos -- nice game

Skye says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:01am

I've been working on the game a bit to get rid of the bugs. So far I've fixed the issue with it closing after clicking "play again" and I have it find the correct symbol for the OSs locale for the decimal seperator

domrein says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:57am

WAT

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:21am

Hahah ! Great backstroy! Player mechanics are solid but gameplay gets a little to repitive to soon. Still solid entry overall!

Mekuri says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:52am

aww, it just closes the game after the count down at start :(

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:33am

Game will crash after the intro, when the timer reaches "go!".

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:36am

Haha, the intro made me laugh. The game itself was pretty fun too. At first I was like "Well, this is incredibly easy". then it turned Acid Mode and I died almost instantly :) GG.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:12pm

This is a funny concept. The intro is a nice touch and overall the gameplay is fun. The animation on the character is a bit wonky and it starts off a bit too easy. The music doesn't quite loop properly and there's also the issue of burritos overlapping. This is a good attempt and I hope you keep up with these funny game concepts

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Wooooaaaaah! An acid flashback! D:
As has been said, the hitbox on the (green) burritos is too big.
Overall, I liked it :)
73.71 seconds.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]