August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Anti - Explosive Babies

by Roan Contreras - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Free the babies from the 10-second explosion. This game has 30 levels with a time limit of 10 seconds every level, be quick.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#54Fun3.76
#104Humor3.37
#136Overall3.58
#146Audio3.31
#337Innovation3.28
#402Mood2.93
#463Graphics3.04
#529Theme3.21

Comments

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Nice! This is a really good game. it works well mechanically, and it's fun.

robbe says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 5:55pm

It is pretty random. And it has physics. Always a good combo :)

Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Finally I can get an answer to the age old question, "how many babies does it take to paint a wall?" - good work!

Sink says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Really fun mechanic! I really liked it. The game was very satisfying because of the ragdoll physics.

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:12pm

That is a really fun game! I found myself getting quite frustrated in a similar way to playing super meat boy! Good job!

Grip says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Great mechanic. I loved the blood splat. xD

Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:36pm

This is neat. It's a pretty simple avoidance game but it definitely requires finesse, and pulling off the weirder maneuvers gives you a good feeling. The difficulty is a little erratic but that's the only blemish I can see.

Ice says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Good game,
Good gameplay,
Good Musics,
Easy yo get into =D
Congrats!

Croze says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Love it!!!

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

That was the most beatiful baby explosion I have ever seen.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

Don't you just hate it when you get explosive in your babies...

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

Good effects, minimalist graphics, and simple mechanics. This is a game worth playing. However,10 seconds doesn't matter that much; the puzzles can be done in 5 seconds or less.
Also, the levels seem to lack decision making.

Khopa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47am

Excellent Music, Good gameplay.
Nice effects when you die :)

HoWseR says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

Really fun game, fits with the theme, even though the graphics are simple the are very effective

vani77a says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04am

Probably I don't get it, but I'm not digging the extreme floatiness of grabbing the babies.
BUT the ragdoll, and the explosion makes this fun :)

Gus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:25am

Didn't play it all (yet)
So still don't know if any surprises are awaiting for me at the end xD, but dude I will be hearing those beats for quite time, I mean, Is there any other game in this compo with SOUNDTRACK? dont think so.
Random, good physics, simple, functional, challenging and fun, there is nothing left to ask for.
Excellent Job, Roan!

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:53am

Fun game, playing with physics is always fun. Plus it's exploding babies ! Who wouldn't love that ?!

donan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Hahahaha. Got till level 21. Its a really fun hard game :)

Clurect says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

That music was amazing, just saying. The story was funny and I'd like to get to the end eventually (if there is one) :D

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:23pm

DIE BABY DIIIIIIIIIIIE!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

Maybe I shouldn't find it funny..but I do :P Great game!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28am

A nifty reflex based ragdoll physics platformer

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07am

Those poor babies T__T. Nice concepts and levels though!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:10am

Nice game, with awesome music. Well planned, and challenging levels. Cool death effect. My only complaint is that the 10 second time limit never seemed to have a huge effect on game play. Overall, very nicely done!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:40am

Simply a great game. This was way more fun than it should have been... red innards everywhere! Awesome job on the physics engine, and the music was epic, too.

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:26am

Interesting story and fun gameplay! I was a bit frustrated from the death when going off the screen, but it made it more challenging. Good game! :D

caranha says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Heh, funny but frustrating game. Awesome audio! The baby story is kinda all over the place, but it makes you cackle when you get frustrated with the game and just start throwing the babies into the spikes for fun.

What kind of hospital has exploding spikes in the baby pens?

Thanks for the game, and here is a video review for you:
http://youtu.be/yioYFjuXgEU

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:37am

Pretty solid game here! Its seems like an easy game, but the way the baby moves makes it tough and fun to maneuver around. I had a lot of fun playing this!

RadJor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:56am

Haha tasty explosions.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

Nice game and really adictive, good use of the physics.

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:11am

Nice mechanic, and well done. Nice amount of levels too.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:11am

Interesting mechanics here, fun use of physics too. I love the music, and the minimalist graphical presentation is cool.

darkshadow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:21am

Nice rag-doll physics, intro text was silly and bizarre (could exploding nappies be anything else?), all in all nice game.

Ossi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

Fun and challenging game! Really fun mechanics and tough obstacles. Also the music is really good although it seems a bit too loud. Very well done!

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:16am

The violence in this one is a bit unnecesary.. Maybe if you had handled it with more irony or sarcasm, that would be ok for me. That being said, I enjoyed playing it a lot.Is a great approach to the usual 2d physics game. Sound worked very well too. Good job!

hypp says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:31am

Excellent! Really like it!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:38am

Enjoyed playing this game for a while, the physics are fun to play around with! I noticed there were a few levels which were basically the same situation mirrored twice, you should watch out with that, doesn't add much to the level.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:23am

funny game.good job

JokerDen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

Awesome game! You must make post-compo polished version and can it port to mobile.

mollymus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

I was never under any real time pressure, and the time between a level being completed and the next one starting was longer than the actual playingtime.. I think I spent half the time waiting and half the time playing for the first ~15 levels:/ The game has potential to be a good time-killer, maybe on mobile devices? Would've liked less waiting and more action to keep me from getting a bit bored!

aquilicoco says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:41pm

nice game. Love the explosions :)

Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:11am

This is a great idea. Nice work!

Sascha says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Quite fun actually, nice to play around with ragdoll physics a bit. Graphics are fine and music is quite good. I seriously WTF'd when I read the intro text though...

armixbear says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:56am

Really enjoyed playing through this one. Similar to Super Meat Boy, I was pleasantly frustrated. Nice game, thanks. :)

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:19am

Cool music and graphics!
A little bit too hard, though. Managed to go as far as level 18, but game play became very frustrating, it was too hard to keep the baby inside the screen AND avoid the spikes AND collect the stars. =(

Story was funny, sounded like a psychedelic surreal dream. A little creepy. xD

Good work! =D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]