August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Endless Run

by gmaker - Jam Entry

Can you imagine... an epic chase of all your life. You are an ultra maximum super shimba boomba Knight that found an epic treasure... HOT DOG artifact!! But it was cursed by the ancient god of ten seconds death. Try your skills in this endless run, fight with undead, prolong your life, collect coinz, upgrade yourself and jump, jump, JUMP AND JUMP!!!!
DO
NOT
LET
DEATH
CATCH
YOU

Alexander (gmaker) Tarasov - code
Valery (valerykimart) Kim - art
Soundtrack - Kevin MacLeod (free sound)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Graphics(Jam)4.39
#46Overall(Jam)3.79
#60Audio(Jam)3.65
#97Fun(Jam)3.45
#172Humor(Jam)2.88
#181Mood(Jam)3.21
#186Theme(Jam)3.34
#383Innovation(Jam)2.75

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:26am

Loving the graphics, looks really cool. Nice work!

Paranoiker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

Pretty enjoyably and still challenging one, more over, visuals are great. This game undoubtedly has class.

Cell says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I love the art.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52pm

nice game -- great graphics -- little hard tho -- but i guess it goes with the theme

anjack says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

This is so fun! The chase aspect really makes you sweat. Excellent graphics and audio and the controls are solid. This is a very impressive game!

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Great game, good graphics, and very fun

SneManden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Wow, definitely one of the best games, woah! Graphics are amazing - even the game-over-screen is damn perfect!

Really like the idea, feel, mood and love the subtle yet awesome audio.

There is only one thing that I would really change about it, though: the difficulty is too easy. When you have all the upgrades, you can survive endlessly - it's only a matter of when you (after a long while, though!) get bored of it.

(subtle tip: if you could escape the upgrade-menu with any other key than escape, like a right-handed button or space - that would be great)

But really, fantastic game!

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Good work and great graphics

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I like it, the graphics is AMAZING for me, especially the scrollable background :) You made it? Audio is good too. :) So, HIGH FIVE ! :D

Dew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:07pm

33772 Points ^^ just ended pressing z and x all the time tho.

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I want this game on my android device XD addictive short gamespan is just perfext, pixelart and good audio serves this game wonders :)

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:15pm

The graphics are increds, but the hourglass placement doesn't seem to scale with your shop abilities so often I got hourglasses that were impossible to reach.

rylgh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

Really nice game! At first I thought money was just for score, was delighted to find the little shopkeeper (vending machine?)

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

The knight's animation was relatively rough, but every other sprite was entirely excellent. Never cared for Endless Run games, but I enjoyed the experience. Thanks for putting this together!

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

Spritework is really nice, although the sword should reach out a little farther to give better feedback on the hitbox. Wish the game was a little "faster" overall in the sense that the game could feel speedier. All the hitboxes seem a little too big, it makes judging whether some items need a single jump or a double jump a little hard. Like the idea of an endless runner with a little more skill. Good job!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:03am

spritework was just beautiful. Very difficult for me? I dont know why, but I liked it a lot!

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very well made! The mechanics were pretty slick, too -- once I got the hand of stabbing and jumping, and found out a good upgrade scheme, I was able to go through the game pretty easily, up until I bought all the upgrades and stockpiled about 500 coins haha! This could be expanded to become a pretty slick and addicting mobile game! Great job! :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

The spritework in this game is very very good. I found the vending machine/shopkeeper to be really weird in its design and found that the game became really trivial really quick so that I could live forever essentially ( I quit very soon after this point) but the game was fun to play overall. Great job!

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Awesome graphics and music and quite fun too! :)

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

The graphics are great, and I really like having an upgrade system.

Also, being chased by the Grim Reaper might be one of the best endless runner themes I've ever seen.

Awesome work here :)

The Evil Cult says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Amazing graphics and quite fun, but I felt like I was doing pretty badly a lot of the time but wasn't being punished for it. Very charming game though and a nice entry all-round.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Really liked this! It's a simple idea, but there's enough going on to keep me involved. Beautiful art, by the way! A great package!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

the concept and execution is very well done; the graphics, sound, constant running and buying things along the way really makes this feel like a little journey -- you've managed to make it fit the theme and also made all the different components of the game fit well together. good work!

aldian says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:38pm

nice little game, love the graphics :)

lazyeels says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:02pm

The graphics are really well done. The game play and feel is very nostalgic, reminds me a bit of Moonstone for the Amiga, a solid contribution to the comp, nice work guys.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Very fun! Awesome music, fantastic pixelart, very good animation. Top marks for this!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:06pm

good graphics, catching gameplay :)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Simple, fun game! Liked it!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:05pm

One of the best Ludum games so far.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice game, quite funny to play!!

Blizzil says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:30am

Fun to play, cool graphics & nice sound and i like the idea with the upgrades. Well done :)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Brilliant, one of my favourite games I've tried so far, the music and graphics were awesome and the overall gameplay was gripping and intense, well done :D

ShitAndSon says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Lovely graphics , a really cool gameplay. I can play this game for hours

AidanAK47 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:27pm

I was going to give this a bad review...but then I realized you could double jump. I died a good many times before I figured that one out.
As others have said the graphics are excellent. I have the feeling I heard the music before but none the less it's suitable. The games execution is up to par too.
The only real complaint I can give is that it's hard to go wrong with an endless runner. I feel this one is too safe. While it was made in a short time I think you should have tried to add an element that differentiated it from the large amount of endless runners out there. The ten second hour glasses and attack button aren't enough to make it stand out.
Still, good work.

emveyh says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Wow. Those are pretty awesome sprites! Great music and gameplay too :)

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

wow! you really tie it everything the right way. Graphics are cool, playability is high and you have worked quite a lot on details.
Amazing :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]