August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spatium Secondorum Decem

by GarethIW - Jam Entry

Spatium Secondorum Decem (10 Second Room)


By Gareth Williams (@garethiw) and Paul Yendley (@gredgie)


What is this place? How do I get out? A voxel-based fight-em-up(?!) that takes place in a maze of randomly-generated rooms. Every ten seconds something weird happens...

Needs a reasonably beefy PC until I can sort out some optimization.

Most of the initial bugs have been fixed. There were a lot of things we didn't get a chance to add. A pause option would have been nice. Theres a lot that we wanted to do with the sword combat that we didn't get around to. There's a lot of missing sound effects. Maybe scope for a post-Jam build.

If you encounter a problem, please leave a bug report with as much info as possible, and check back for a fix! We will rate the games of everyone that leaves a message!

Windows:
Should run on XP SP3+. Might possibly need OpenAL installed if it fails to run. I've included the OpenAL redist installer.

If you are unable to run the Windows version, please try the Windows (XNA) version. I have included the XNA redist installer if you don't already have the XNA libs installed.

Linux:
This has been tested on Linux Mint 14 (Cinnamon), you may need to install libSDL-mixer (sudo apt install libsdl-mixer1.2). Run SpatiumSecondorumDecem.sh. If no joy, run from a terminal (mono SpatiumSecondorumDecem.exe) and copy/paste the output into a comment.

Mac:
Special thanks to James (@jhetfield) for the OSX port. Again, if you have issues then leave a comment and we'll try to work it out.

Tools used:
C#/XNA/Monogame
A voxel engine I've been working on for a few weeks (currently closed-source, to be open in future)
Photoshop
Audition
Sound effects from Freesound

As it's not entirely obvious in-game... there is a win condition! You simply need to clear out all the rooms. The game will make it obvious when you have done so...

UPDATE: Now with post-compo/1GAM build. Made the combat a ton better, implemented missing sound effects, made the goal more obvious and added pause when the game loses focus. Grab it from my blog via the Post-compo link!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#28Overall(Jam)3.88
#50Audio(Jam)3.69
#57Graphics(Jam)4.23
#88Fun(Jam)3.48
#148Mood(Jam)3.29
#167Innovation(Jam)3.27
#176Theme(Jam)3.36
#260Humor(Jam)2.52

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:21am

Wow great game ! Music and sound effect are nice, good visual, responsive controller. Perfect gameplay, I loved it !

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

This is really well done. Had to turn off firefox to play it smoothly on my Core2Duo, but it's ok. Really stylish graphics, epic soundtrack! Enemies are quite hard (or I am noob). I think some escape menu would be nice (I needed to pause the game and I actually quit). And I got imprisoned once: http://puu.sh/4cdyA.png

gredgie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

We usually throw in a pause when a game loses focus but this LD we ran out of time to implement it.

As for the imprisoned-ness, use bombs to blow apart the inner walls! Show them no mercy!

Bombs will explode even if you're not in the same room as them too.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:04pm

This is a very good entry. i always liked voxel style with this level of granularity. The concept of the game is quite interesting too, and you managed to be broad enough with the type of enemies. if there is something negative though, that is the lack of a clear goal for the player. though i spent quite a lot of time on a killing spree, i didn't feel like i was accomplishing anything other than killing monsters and bombing walls to get hearts. if i may, i'd suggest either to increase the rate at wich the rooms become more difficult or raise the difficulty cap/number of enemies per room etc.. in a way that a certain point, clearing a room becomes almost impossible (you'd have a nice arcade with just this). if you feel generous, place a clear goal , like finding a way our, or beating a boss, or even better find your D&D campaign dungeon master that exagerated with the session planification and got imprisoned on his contraption. Apart from that, awesome work guys :D

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Great! :D
liked the style :D

Beerman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice job - I'm a sucker for voxels and this is a great example of why.

motty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30am

Bah. Wouldn't work. Really wanted a go on this. Running Linux.

Output of mono SpatiumSecondorumDecem.exe is:
"WARNING: The runtime version supported by this application is unavailable.
Using default runtime: v1.1.4322
The assembly mscorlib.dll was not found or could not be loaded.
It should have been installed in the `/usr/lib/mono/1.0/mscorlib.dll' directory."

A little digging turns up the fact that I do not possess a /usr/lib/mono/1.0 directory, though there is a /usr/lib/mono/2.0 directory which does contain an mscorlib.dll.

Have had problems with other games involving my machine being too old (still running Lucid) but this is the first instance of a game not running because my libraries are too new.

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

Thanks for the report. I'll fire up my Linux box tomorrow and get a handle on which version of mono I'm running, and what is required.Pretty sure Mint has 2.10.8, but maybe the game requires something from 1.x

ComicSans says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:54am

I tried playing this on Windows 7, and it works but there were no enemies. I ran it twice, but no change. I hope you get it fixed, it looks awesome!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:57am

There are no enemies in the first room, subsequent rooms are either clear (green) or have enemies in (red). If you wander through the rooms and never come across any enemies, then something is wrong for sure!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58am

Oh dear lord, this is amazing, well done! :o Graphics were so cool!

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:14am

Crashes without any error or screen :(
Windows 7, 32 bit

klambrike says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:52am

One of the best games I have seen so far! Very good work. Works good on OSX

Mironix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Masterpiece!

Magdev says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:16pm

This is pretty rad. I like the per-voxel destruction. Deflecting rockets that destroy terrain is a pretty cool idea.

Yngar says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:53am

The game doesn't start at all for me.
Windows 7 64 bit

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

For you guys with Windows issues - I've uploaded a standard XNA build which should be more compatible. I've included the XNA redist installer if you don't already have XNA installed.

lcass says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

very neat

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Love the music.

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

This is simply great :) I never figured out if I had to look for something or if there was a way to beat the game, but everything was well made. It reminded me of Knight Lore for some reason :)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knight_Lore

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Awesome!!!

Venturelli says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

The look and style of this is so amazing, but I really didn't like the gameplay. Felt like a wasted opportunity, looking forward for something more fun in the same engine!

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Pretty cool premise, I really liked the graphics and sounds, what frustrated me was the seemingly unkillable blue spinny things. Everytime I walked into a room with one of those I just ran out. The 10 seconds theme did not impact the game as much as I would have imagined but overall pretty cool game!

FrozenCow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Wow, awesome game!

haxpor says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:08am

Really nice and polish title. Super awesome for wall that can be destroyed. And I love your room generator :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:04am

good job

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:29pm

It's neat and I think the visuals are nice. I couldn't place what it the "weird" thing that happens every 10 seconds was, besides the doors opening and closing.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:34am

Looking interesting, but very hard and I can't understand what I need to do.
Good job, anyway.

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Wow, what a great game! I really loved it, the gameplay, the gfx, the sound, everything. Well done! :)

A bit hard to hit the enemies maybe (haven't tried the post compo version, but I'll do that later). :)

psychomonster says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Graphics are so cool... all this destroyable stuff. Love it! There are some problems with the Controlls... maybe my keyboard is to sensitive...

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Crashes without any error or screen (both Windows versions).
Can you please help me with this? I would like to play and rate your game.
Windows XP, 32 bit, 512MB RAM

Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:23pm

At the end I decided to install Mono Framework on my Mac. I guess 512MB for Windows version is not enough. I like your game! You played our game 17 days ago and today is finally my turn! ;-) Your game reminds me about Cube movie (1997). Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]