August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Vengeful Baby-Men

by Jarcas Studios - Jam Entry

This game is... well, I don't know. I guess you'd call it an "audio puzzler".

The idea is that each stage is a 10-second song that has been sliced up and rearranged. It's your job to put the song back together. By the third and final stage each instrument has it's own sequence, so you have to arrange each instrument separately.

Click on the arrows to swap song slices.

Once the song is in the proper order you MUST play it start to finish before you will receive credit for it.

I highly recommend playing without hints (with hints you can win fairly easily without even hearing any of the music), but for anyone that thinks it's still too hard, the hints should help. With hints on it will display which slices are in the correct place once you play through to the end of the full 10-second song.

I actually made this almost entirely under Compo restrictions... I just couldn't find the time to work on it until Sunday night, so it ended up having to be a Jam entry. It was built from scratch in under 48 hours (actually more like 12 hours total), entirely by me using only freely available tools (with the exception of my drum samples).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
Audio(Jam)4.39
#11Innovation(Jam)4.04
#138Fun(Jam)3.31
#149Overall(Jam)3.44
#157Mood(Jam)3.27
#165Humor(Jam)2.91
#305Theme(Jam)3.04
#434Graphics(Jam)2.76

Comments

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:43am

I love this game.
I love the concept.
I love the music.
This game is really unique.
One of my favorites.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

Very cool! I've never seen an audio puzzler game before! Very original!

Animated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32am

Very unique, but it wasn't really that much fun to play (for me).

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38am

Well if that's not the most creative premise ever, especially the band name.

I really like the idea, but it sure ramped up in difficulty quickly. There's definitely potential with such a unique game mechanic.

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:30am

Great idea, and interesting, but there are often tiny "hiccups" between sound segments on playback that can make them sound wrong even when they're right.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37am

It's not tied to the theme as strongly as some others, but regardless it's a great game. Love the band portraits. A really nice touch. Good work!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45am

very cool game.

asc3nsion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:13pm

5 stars for innovation from me. Totally original and cool concept.... The name is awesome too. Good job!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Cool idea. The audio between clips sounded odd on the second track so it made it kinda confusing.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:11pm

very fun :)

-ENDESGA

sittaman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:55pm

A bit too hard since the songs are unknow to me. But is a good take, audio puzzles are nice!

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

wow! very nice game. no lags. theme is nicely fitted in the game

Joror says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

My music sense isn't too great at distinguishing all the parts very distinctively, but still made it through! Unique idea, liked it. :)

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Cool idea! I made it through some of the songs just by guesswork and using the hints but that's the fault of my ears, I think. I could have done with the instruments coming in at different points to really make it obvious for me. Anyway, a very nice, original little game.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Quite hard for me, but I really love your idea and this is the first title about audio title in LD I played. At first, I thought I will be edit those pieces in real time as I don't really want to wait for the whole song to finish playing.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:58am

Very nice! I love the music :D ... Though I want more.

Ithildin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:00am

Love the audio arranging idea. Congrats!

gritfish says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:27am

Hints DO make it pretty easy - perhaps some more subtle visual feedback in the characters would be a good mid-point in difficulty?

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

What a solid and great entry! Loved the concept and the sound work. It was a bit hard for me, but that's because I suck. haha

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Very original love the music, thanks for including the hints option. trying again without using hints and its much more difficult. The clipping between sections even when in the right order is a bit of a distraction if you could fix it to have smoother transitions that would be great. Other than that more songs please! :D

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Definitely a unique gameplay experience with some of the best audio in a LD game!

Antidote says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Great game! It's so impressive that you made all that music for it D: And all in under 72 hours! Really impressive! Cool mechanics too! Super glad you had the give hint button to help the people that are bad with music like me xD

RoyBatty says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I winned! :-D Hints helped tremendously. I like gritfish's suggestion to maybe have the characters give some sort of visual feedback? But awesome in the time constraints!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:36am

This game is SOOO amazing. Love the graphics, love the music, love the general idea. Amazing job!! I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:02am

Really cool idea, I think that there are a lot of possibilities for this kind of game. Great job having a diversity of styles represented by just three instruments across three songs, each level had something new to offer. Great job.

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:23am

Hey this is the same game I have created. At least the idea is exactly the same, but the implementation is slightly different. I found your enty by your blog post 'Thoughts on music in the compo division'
I struggled however already at the second level and was not able to get further without hints. Seems like my musical understanding is not good enough. I like games like yours which try to help the player with hints instead of letting them fail. This is in my opinion a very good design decision.
The thrid level is already really hard. It would be nice to play the instruments seperately.
So when you want to play a very similar game, try mine.

GFM says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:43pm

This was really unique! Nice game! :)
The songs are great!

But I wasn't able to figure out the keyboard of stage 3 without the hints. Having two measures ending of silence confounded me.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:12am

Nice concept and well applied.
Cool music and sounds. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]