August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CyberMaiden

by NightShadow0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update 08/29 (post-compo v.): Kongregate version with two new game modes and high scores!
Update 08/28 (post-compo v.): Added manual dialog advancement, cutscene skipping and mute buttons. Also MAY have fixed the hang bug some of you had, but i'm not sure. Thanks for the feedback!

Short reflex-testing game.
ActionScript3 + Starling, art in Illustrator + Photoshop, animations in Spriter via SpriterMC, BGM in SunVox, SFX in as3sfxr.
Twitter: @nightshadow0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#402Humor2.53
#515Innovation3.02
#542Audio2.58
#544Mood2.74
#735Graphics2.59
#752Fun2.69
#775Overall2.84
#816Theme2.87

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:20am

Nice idea! lengthy intro detracts from it though :(

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Nice game! I liked the concept!

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Lol. I have no idea what I've just experienced. I agree with @matthias_zarzecki the intro is a bit long :/ Great concept

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

HA! Disco dungeon. Took me a minute to figure it out for some reason, but when I did, it became rather addicting for a few plays. That thing at the top gets me almost every time. It's very fast.

Subi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

It hung for me in the second chamber (the red scanner), I'm using Chrome. But nice up until then!

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

@Subi: Weird, can you pinpoint what you were doing when it happened?

Thanks for playing, all! :)

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Fun game! You did a good job of keeping with the theme, and keeping it simple. I like the music, although it could be a little more hectic.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:36pm

The concept of the game is great. However, in any game with dialogue or cutscenes there needs to be the option to skip it. I had fun playing the game even with rewatching the cutscenes everytime I died.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53pm

There could be way to speed up intro a bit, but anyways the game is really nice :) Good Job!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59pm

It was ok. The only thing that really bothered me was the scanner. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't get past that stage. It doesn't help that there is a consistent crash when you go there for the 3rd or 4th time where the game decides you just can't continue and freezes, but the music keeps going. The scanner gives you very little indication, with the animation being small and only 3 seconds long. Could you have just made a small circle around it so I could see where the scanner would come from? Otherwise, pretty ok.

RobotParking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

NINJA MAIDEN

everblind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19pm

:D, good concept :)

blay09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I liked the simple, grayscale graphics style. Would have been nice if the restart would not send you back to the beginning but restart the current level instead.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16am

Not bad game. Second level is so fast though, cant do anything there.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:54pm

like the concept. couldn't get passed the second level though. it hung up for me while showing me what buttons to use. That explanation is also confusing since its showing opposite arrows.

Joror says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:41am

Interesting 'rhythm' gameplay - would be a bit better if you had timed the music to some of the moves. :)

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:36am

"Please hold still for best results." :D

There was a nice vibe to this, helped along by slick visuals and a fun mechanic. I just wish I could have got further but the scanner proved too quick for me every time...

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:57pm

good job

Yell0w says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Nice concept! I liked the graphic style.

I couldn't get past second level :/

JokerDen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:35am

I like to make this such games but my prototypes never become good games. But your is not bad!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Neat mechanics, second chamber was really hard though. But the idea is solid! Good job!

blackotus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I really like the reaction-based gameplay. The traps are inventive, as well.

Nice game!

manuq says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Was nice once I understood what to do. Hung for me as well in the second level (red room). Also Chrome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]