August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Goat Tower

by klianc09 - Jam Entry

Have you ever wanted to be a goat? No? However, now you can!

Smash your head against a wall, eat grass, smash your head against your foes, jump around, smash your head against another wall, jump on clouds, take a shit on your enemies, make that awesome sound that goats make when they are angry (or happy).

And then defend that tower of your's from those pesky little robot-frogs, who send a new wave every 10 seconds. Do you have what it takes to beat the ultimate challenge and prove you are a true goat?

You can fight against the frog hordes alone or with a friend in awesome Co-op mode.

Controls:

---Player 1:
- Move with: W, A, S, D
- Dash with: F
- Make that noise that goats make: G
- Eat grass: H (Heals your Health)
- Take a shit: T

---Player 2:
- Move with: ArrowKeys
- Dash with: J
- Make that noise that goats make: K
- Eat grass: L (Heals your Health)
- Take a shit: I

--Post-Compo---
Post-Compo Version has several bugfixes and an easier difficulty curve.

So, if the game is too hard for you, you can try the post-compo.

Now also implemented Powerups falling from the sky from time to time.

--BUG-Notice--:
You can enable the music in the Options-Menu, but it sounds distorted and crashes the game after a restart.
This doesn't happen when I execute it in Eclipse, so if anybody has a lot of experience with LibGDX, maybe you could give me a hint.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#56Humor(Jam)3.58
#264Innovation(Jam)3.04
#274Fun(Jam)2.98
#361Overall(Jam)2.96
#400Graphics(Jam)2.86
#423Audio(Jam)2.34
#436Mood(Jam)2.49
#566Theme(Jam)2.20

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18am

Hahaha cute game ;) You made me laught. Good goat sound effect ;) It's kinda hard to kill all the ennemy but interesting gameplay anyway !

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:22am

Game is fun in the first minutes. Later it becomes impossible to fend off enemies. Anyway I really like different actions! :)

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:07pm

how fun!

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very fun... and funny. Good work!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

It felt almost impossible to kill any enemies.... It felt that my dash worked 33% of the time.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

@archaeometrician & naufr4g0: Yes, I added nearly all the waves in the last hours and wasn't able to play-test it enough, so it's really hard to win. But I rebalanced the difficulty in the Post-compo version.

@Xgor: The dash only gives a sudden speed burst that you lose very fast again. And the damage you deal depends on your speed at impact.
Therefore: the faster you can smash the dash button, the faster you go and the more damage you deal.

(In the Post-Compo version you can also hold the dash-button to run faster, but it's still not as fast as rapidly smashing the dash-button)

tompudding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I appreciate the digestive accuracy, though I wish the goat poop could be used to damage or dissuade the enemy!

mochalematazi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

At first, I was confused since I only thought dash was used to go fast. Had to look in the comments to figure out that it's used to hit them! Haha. Overall, it was very silly and pretty fun. Difficult to kill the flying crows, though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:22pm

i liked the goat stuff, but that was about it -- funny concept tho -- nice effort

wintermute says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Awesome when played with a friend. Really made me feel like being a goat. But yes, the flying enemies are too hard to kill!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:52pm

That was fun!
Like others said, enemies are a tad bit too hard though. :S

euske says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Both links didn't work for me?

JHollands says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Great fun. Upgrades would be hilarious.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:00pm

@euske: Strange, they work for me and everyone else. Did the server not respond or something?

@JHollands: Yeah, Powerups had been planned in the original brainstorming, but time-constraints and stuff...
But I will certainly implement them in the Post-Compo version sometime in the next weeks.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:06pm

super awesome
goat tower is the best title

h_double says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I couldn't figure out if I was supposed to be able to kill enemies, but goats own and I had fun running around doing goat stuff. Well done!

Sebby says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:49am

Goats, hell yeah! :D I enjoyed head-butting things very much.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

very fun good job :D

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Love the idea!

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Now that I've had the opportunity of being a goat I can die in peace. :D

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I can't download the game, it's say something about server problem and the website directs to ads-page.

klianc09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

@everyone who has troubles downloading: I put up a mirror on dropbox, hoping that they are more reliable.

So if downloading it didn't work for you, try the mirror.

Antidote says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Lol played with 2 players, kinda fun xD Wish it was easier to kill the enemies

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:24am

good job

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Yeah it was hard, and I didn't care about that at all to!
Nice idea!

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:11pm

lol, goats.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:22pm

The mirror works, the other URL gave me a corrupted file.

manuq says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:23pm

The authentic goat controls were great :) I wished the poo was useful to attack your enemies. Or it is and I didn't figure out how to use it?

Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:24am

Haha I am very amused...
It would be great if the enemies could be easier to steamroll though. That would make this even more epic.
Also the goat poop should really be a special attack XD

crueltear says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Really funny game. Simple, but humor and fun is highlight of this game.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Cool idea, but poorly polished. The sounds are annoying (especially the ones in the main menu). The pixelart is good, but may use more "funnier" colors. The difficulty really needs to be more balanced, the singleplayer mode is too hard.

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:30pm

That game has everything that I expect from a goat defense game: Making the sounds that goats make, shitting on enemies, muching delightful grass, holding down flying enemies with my weight and walking on clouds.

No seriously, the gameplay was good, but it was those fun touches that made the game great, haha. And it's super cool that you added a co-op mode, pity I don't have a friend near!

BradleySmith says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I love the way the goat shits. xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]