August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chicken Philosophy

by Dwel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare (I know, you've heard this before). There's a help page inside the game.

Notes on the assets and source are included in text files with the PC build and Source downloads.

I have not included a Mac build due to not being able to test it anywhere. If there is any interest, please leave a comment and I will do my best to provide it as well.

----

While I'm not extremely happy with how simplistic and short it is, I'm proud that I've managed to finish it in time.

Enjoy, it may amuse you for 2 - 5 minutes : - )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Humor4.00
#41Fun3.81
#74Overall3.75
#104Theme3.75
#172Audio3.25
#178Innovation3.56
#521Graphics2.94
#1806Coolness17%

Comments

devi ever says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

GOTY! 10/10 EVERY YEAR!

loolpolo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

DUDE,THIS IS THE MOST EPIC ADVENTURE I EVER PLAYER. seriously, it IS awesome.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

nice!! great job!

Gus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59am

This is some deep shit

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19am

I can't describe what I just felt hahhaha pretty good stuff man! Really good!

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:24am

Dude. I'll never look at chickens the same way again. Though I usually look at them with a crazed grimace... so it's probably for the best.

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Very funny game!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Great idea; Frogger + chicken jokes + weirdy-beardy philosophy. Trouble is the hit detection is really strange; Sometimes I get bonuses or get killed without seemingly being anywhere near anything to collide with.

Wertle says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I love the idea of the near-death bonus - it puts a nice twist on a familiar mechanic.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Nice work! Awesome music, not repetitive at all. This reminds me a lot of the flash game "Let's Go Jaywalking"(http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/622374) Very nice graphics, as I said, good sounds, very nice take on the theme Bookmarking this one for later! Keep it up!. 6/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]