August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

How Low Can You Go?

by Hayawi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where a mad scientist marches into the caverns of the underworld to try and find the essense crystal. But the question is not whether he will find the essense crystal, it is whether he will make it out alive.

When you kill an enemy, your gun, the KR-BEE MK07 gets boosted with higher damage and speed and shots per second for 10 seconds. Killing enemies heals you for 20 life. You can mine life from blocks for 2 life per hit. Try to get the high score and post in the descriptions. This uses the same honor system that Ludum Dare does.

Controls:
WASD + Arrow Keys -> move
Space -> jump
Mouse -> shoot and aim

If using Mac, open terminal and use java -jar HLCYG.jar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#819Humor1.80
#820Fun2.61
#884Innovation2.50
#908Audio1.59
#937Graphics2.23
#943Overall2.63
#1033Mood1.88
#1152Theme1.94

Comments

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:30am

I think a timer would have made it more challenging. 'Get as far down as you can in 10 seconds' or something of the sorts. :)

Hayawi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

I seriously cannot believe I didn't think of that...wow

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Crashes on osx mountain lion

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:00am

I like the fact that the "environment" is destructible. The enemies are quite dull but this is understandable since 48 hours is a short time to create art. There is no end game and no real challenge, but this has some nice potential. Boosting the weapon each 10 sec is cool, but then I just have to wait for 30 minutes on top (all the enemies are going down) and have a nuclear weapon in my hands (haha). But good job anyway :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

A cool concept. I had fun getting chased by those blue things. It doesn't really fit in with the 10 second theme though.

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

I like the platform with a destructable terrain! The 10 seconds theme is a bit forced.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Amazing job. I wish there was some sound, I played it for a good 40 minutes so I just listened to some dubstep. Fight well and made me panic. (Consider it.) I LOVE the idea and it was executed perfectly. I would have been fine with like a green rect being the main character. The blue rects are impossible to fight if more than five get in a group. Hahah. The collision detection is spot on. The destruction of levels is great to. Wonderful work! Keep it up.

Hayawi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Thanks for all the advice and complements, btw be sure to check out the post compo. Its under developement right now and I will be adding new things periodically :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

Neat little start for a game. Felt a bit like I was playing Terraria.

mklee says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25am

Interesting idea to dig down as deep as you can. The connection to the theme is a little weak admittedly and I wished there was a little feedback when you were getting hit, etc. Good job!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25am

so fun :D

Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:52am

It may not match the theme perfectly, but there's a great feeling of being hunted, when you are chased by blue squares, and freefall down into the caverns is really fun!

codifeye says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

I enjoyed this, but think it would be cool to make it just about how low you can make it, with a distance display on the HUD, and maybe even doing without attacking the enemies. Could really suit suit mobile, tapping on blocks to remove them as he falls, and double tapping to activate a shield to defend against enemies or something. Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I like this, but the theme fells a bit out of place.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice idea but the game need some work.

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Good idea. altho needs some work.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:51am

Good job. Some sound would have been nice. but it plays well

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Probably the longest I have spent playing one game :3, nice and fun although had to knock marks of for lack of theme. Although overall you did an awesome job. I enjoyed playing this allot.

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very cool! I like it, very good idea and solid game :)

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:19am

game feels solid and playability is so good. It doesn't perfectly fit the theme, but I wouldn't care that much, you did it great :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]