August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Stuffuv

by roaet - Jam Entry

Pronounced (Stuff of)

This is a horror themed puzzle game (Push Box) with a twist. Not many levels were made and even music and sound effects to totally give it the horror feel were not able to be made.

Also made by Aerryn.

Controls:
1 - 4 : Select your match
Shift : Will snuff your current match
Spacebar : Will light your selected match if you don't have one
Escape : Will restart the level so the stuffuvs don't kill you
WASD or Arrows: To move

(apparently you can press 9 to get 99 of all matches, who knew...)
The game pretty much ends after the pink room, but you can keep playing it over and over again.

Because there has been some confusion about the match colors:
White - Primarily used to light your way, but may take you to weird places sometimes. Use the white match to get back.

Blue - Will change the level?
Red - Will change the level?

Green - Will take you to the next level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Mood(Jam)4.07
#62Innovation(Jam)3.61
#170Overall(Jam)3.39
#200Graphics(Jam)3.61
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#336Fun(Jam)2.82
#408Theme(Jam)2.86
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:42am

i couldnt figure out the controls...
it looked like it was going to be fun though.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51am

Very neat concept and I love the graphics and atmosphere!

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56am

I loved the artistic quality of it. Very dark too, and I mean that in the erie way. Love it!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice game! I was very confused what the different lighters did, but I managed to finish the game.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

I like the disorienting feeling of moving between spaces in the dark, especially when it leads to creepy dead ends.

TimKaidem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:24am

Very nice mood and a bit creepy. Neat!

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:27am

Awesome mood-setting here, and quite interesting gameplay concept. I really would have played more if there was more content! Good job!

3beards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

Very cool!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:29am

Really well done. The action element of the match-lighting mechanic adds some variety and tension too which is great.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26am

Love the minigame-mechanic, it's much better than "just a button"

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Very nicely done! It took me a while to figure out what was going on, but THEN I was able to make progress. Very interesting and I say keep working on it.

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Nice concept, very atmospheric. Trying to light the match when everything goes dark can really make you panic and screw up :D good stuff!

cerberus98 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:49am

Brilliant

atrodo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Pretty fun, even if the hitting the match right in the red area was tricky.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

This had a lot of potential and was kind of freaky but I couldn't work out how to do the two box puzzle haha. Also was there something I was meant to do in that room that basically has an infinite path going upwards?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Omg this is super creepy! Thanks for making it!
Top points for mood and audio!

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:32am

Very moody and I tensed up every time you have to switch matches. The expectation of something bad happening worsened the farther you got into the game! I only wish there were more levels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]