August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Power Surge

by timothyolt - Jam Entry

Power Surge is a 2D platformer game created by Bytefire Games. In Power Surge, you are in charge of a moon base that creates robots, rovers, and weapons. You must use these creations to attack and steal power from an adjacent moon base. The challenge is in that each robot only has ten seconds of power, so you must make the most of each robot.

WASD/Arrow Keys to move your robot
Hold left-mouse to aim/shoot
Z to spawn ally light robots
X to spawn ally heavy robots

To win shoot at the enemy base enough times to cause a power surge.
Note: it is going to take multiple lives to destroy it.

Other info: normal blasters do 1 damage, heavy blaster do 2 damage.
Light robots have 3 health while the heavies have 4.
Bases have 50 health.

The team power system is what is used to spawn robots, plus there is a small cooldown on spawning your own robots (and a max of 5 at a time). To spawn multiple robots hold the appropriate key. for more info

Downloads and Links




Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:28am

Nice work!
Games that let players be an expendable common soldier are awesome, and there aren't that many of them around.
I didn't understand the rules of this game very much, but apparently I won after shooting at the enemy base long enough.. A little disappointed I didn't get to be one of the big robots. >:[

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:41pm

First java game ive seen and lots of fun. Just couldnt get to that enemy base!

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06am

Good mechanics, although I did not understand when I could spawn robots and how the power system worked. Very fun anyway!

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:10am

Cool idea to let the player control one of the robots that spawn.

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Cool idea, could use some more polish, though. Good job! :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:22pm

I like it! Being an expendable soldier is awesome, but I wish every so often one could play as a heavy robot! I didn't really understand hwo to power surge the enemy base though... :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:14pm

got the adrenaline going :)

cwkx says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Nice work on this entry, its a good idea!

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Good idea and nice realization. You could use some extra polish on audio & game mechanics (I felt frustrated not to be able to reach the base without shooting enemy robots - I had to wait to counter-attack), including challenge. But the concept prototype is well made. :)

Supercannon says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:12am

Seemed to easy to just run in a line in spam, otherwise was nice.

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:35pm

My laptop is unable to play this game. Shame.

timothyolt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

@Starspell If its a problem with the game, try runnng it from command line and send me the error.

Kurisu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:54pm

There was no challenge and it was possible to just stay put on front of the enemy base inside enemy robot and keep shooting. Information about the health of robots and bases would have been nice.
The graphics fit well together.
Some obstales or similar would have made the jump usable.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

fun game but need more Instructions

timothyolt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:29pm

We did not have time to put instructions in the game, so it is included above. Please see that if you are having problems figuring out how to play.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Stupid ennemies that don't even fly while they can, I used that alot!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Interesting idea. Too bad that heavy units were too slow to be able to reach enemy base in their ten seconds of lifespan.. That made them pretty useless if you want to win.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]