August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Burning War

by MegaMasterX - Jam Entry

2xH Studios' first public release. There are events unraveling that are causing strange events to occur worldwide. Animals are mutating. Spells suddenly are gaining strength. Mustaches are growing more lusciously. You engage to find out what is going on but are halted by some mutated rodents. Fight your way to them to find out what is going on!!

Your team has 10 seconds to decide what actions to take before the rats take the preemptive strike!

Minimum requirements: XNA Game Studio 4.0 redistributable (The Prerequisite link above)

Version 1.1: (8/25/13 - 6:41 PM EST): Changed download location to a trusted source. Added flare effect to show whose turn it is. Put controls on the title screen per feedback. Changed healing to, instead of targeting a party member, heal the member with the lowest HP to accommodate the theme better (Requested via team feedback).

Version 1.1.1 (8/26/13 - 5:36 PM EST): Implemented a pause function based on feedback.

Version 1.1.2 (8/27/13 - 10:10 PM EST): Changed the XNA profile to HiDef from Reach for compatibility with more GPUs. No content was modified (If you wish to confirm, the Mirror link is the Reach version)


Follow the team on dem twitters: @2xhstudios
Click that big blue thumbs up (or gray...whatever the Facebook team changes it to this week): https://www.facebook.com/2xHStudios

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#285Humor(Jam)2.42
#379Audio(Jam)2.55
#426Overall(Jam)2.79
#432Graphics(Jam)2.77
#434Theme(Jam)2.80
#464Mood(Jam)2.41
#471Innovation(Jam)2.48
#477Fun(Jam)2.44

Comments

namrog84 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:18am

I loved the graphics and mood. I felt like I was inside a childs imagination somehow. Would have liked a little bit more animation/selection of wahts going on. But overall a pretty decent game.

Played through to the congrats screen! Good job Bryan Matthew and Ace!

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

The music could have used some variation, and I wasn't always sure about whose turn it was. Also, there was no indicator about who could do what (many times I tried to use magic with someone who couldn't do that), and I was able to attack the "dead" enemies.

Nevertheless, this shows effort and the FF-style fighting works for the theme quite nicely. Next time, I'd suggest to spend a little less time with the huge selection of characters and try to focus more on the smoothness of the game. Cheers! :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

Browser warning on the .zip download, discarded. Sorry.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

I'm not very good with timed rpg-style battles so I tried to 1-F1-1-F1 the whole way through until 3 of my guys died and it's only my necromancer dueling with the last rat minion. I managed to burn it to death so it was pretty fun.
The important game messages could be placed in a more prominent spot imo, like right on top of the enemy being damaged or in the center.
I liked your graphics too, felt like cartoony van Gogh, and it's consistent. Consistent art beats jumbled collections any day.

Ramon Imbao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:11am

Quite confusing at first. Also, the only quirk I have is there's no ability to pause! Other than that, great job!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25am

@Dark Acre Jack: We haven't paid for an SSL certificate yet. We also didn't do a ClickOnce installer, its just the Zip file and XNB assets.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Thanks for the feedback! We've left feedback on all entries and will continue to!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Amazing graphics! A bit confusing at first and could maybe doing with being a bit clearer but I really liked it

Big Dave says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Definitely took a moment to get into the swing of it but once I did it was neat! Enjoyed watching you stream on Friday, cool to see the finished product!

tiagosr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I seem to have landed on an error page when trying to download your entry =/

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Absolutely love the character design, particularly the one with the purple head and chubby belly. xD Highly rated because of this. :)

Lissar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Trying to access the site tells me it odes not exist!

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I also got the message that the site does not exist.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I have increased the bandwidth on my Azure storage. Try again please and thanks!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Hilarious and fun! Definitely needs more feedback as to what is happening, maybe some animations...

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I love the original graphics!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I like the concept, but I think it suffers a fair bit from the controls and missing/misplaced feedback. If you ever want to make a post-jam version, here are my suggestions:
- Control the game entirely with the mouse. Have the available options in a circle around the characters, and drag the one you want to take to the target you want to hit with it.
- Basic attack animations, with characters actually walking over to where they attack, and hit points and notifications how many hit points you lost over the corresponding characters.

These two things would probably make the game feel a lot tighter. Right now it's a little bit awkward to control, so I mostly did 1-F1-1-F1-1-F1 until I needed to heal, healed up and rinse and repeat.

The graphics are quite original, and the music works well. I like the character designs and descriptions a lot!

Congratulations on your first LD entry!

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Thanks for the feedback! We are certainly planning on taking this one beyond the Jam. The mouse controls...I haven't honestly thought about that. I do like the idea of having the abilities in a 'skill wheel' around the current turn's character. I made it Keyboard-Only simply due to the 10-second theme. I may increase the turn timer after adding skills aft....*rambles*

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:01am

'No suitable graphics card found' :(

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:10am

You may have to redownload the application. I changed the Profile to HiDef (Some more advanced GPUs require it, and legacy GPUs use it. JUDGES: This fix follows the jam rules, as it was a small setting change and has not changed the game itself.

NachoDA says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:51am

Really a special and good art style. Well done.

sittaman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:49pm

A bit tricky to think the actions in short time, if each character had 10 seconds would be better =) Also the art is great and the classes system shows you put much effort on it. Congrats!

DY says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Interesting style. Battle system like from jRPGs. As someone above say, 10s per character should be good.

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Can't play on my computer either. My archaic graphics card doesn't seem to be up to it.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Try the mirror link if the original link doesn't work :]

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

good job

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Mironix says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:57am

Some transitions and animations would improve game a lot! Interesting graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]