August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Blitz

by Mekuri - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space Blitz is finally done. A lot of things went well, and a lot of things went wrong, but all in all, I am satisfied with the result.

If the game won't run, make sure that you've downloaded the XNA redistributable, and/or the .NET framework.

In Space Blitz you are the commander of a small squadron of space ships, fighting against another squadron of spaceships. You choose what direction each of your ships will fly, and start the round. The ships then continue in their designated direction, until 10 seconds have passed, and then you will be able to change direction again. The ships will fire automatically if an enemy gets into firing range, but be careful - Friendly fire can be an issue.

Things that got cut:
- More than one ship type.
- Ability to deploy ships manually.
- Ship Equipment / Resource Economy.
- Cooldowns - To be activated during the 10 seconds.

Tools used:
Visual Studio 2010 - Coding
Paint.NET - All the graphics
SFXR - Sound Effects
Otomata - Music


Right now I am extremely tired, so I don't know whether or not I will add the things that got cut later... time will tell.

Good luck and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#261Audio3.06
#366Theme3.36
#425Humor2.49
#439Innovation3.13
#458Mood2.85
#497Overall3.11
#543Graphics2.91
#666Fun2.79

Comments

lparker says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:19am

I liked the way that the game was played, although interface wise one of the ships was initially mostly hidden behind the message area.

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

Interesting concept. I know it's the theme but 10 seconds of no input is just too long, especially when you have to be precise. Besides that it was enjoyable, so good job :)

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26am

Doesn't want to start for me... I've got XNA and .Net 4 installed on my computer with Windows 7

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

Quite nice, I enjoyed that :)
Good music.

Loerden says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

Cool idea!

xfxian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:56am

Cool game! :) Just had a problem with spaceships flying outside of the screen and just vanishing.

Maybe in another version the ships could turn slowly towards their new direction?

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice work, the idea has potential.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Good idea, well executed. A zoom out option would be have been appreciated but basically my fav so far.

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I loved it! Especially the part about "ennemy ships candestroy themselves if you lure them together" ; destroying an entire fleet with just one ship feels great !
How much work would it be to make it a local two-player (even n-player, maybe ?) game ? Because that would be awesome.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Hi all, thanks for your input. I'm happy that you like the game.
There's definitely room for improvement, but I ran out of time, so I had to compromise with some of the things.

If people in general like this idea I think I wouldn't mind expanding upon it. Local multiplayer would be fairly easy to implement, the only issue would be that the player going last will have the advantage of knowing how the opponent placed his/her ships. Also I would add the things that got cut, like more ship types, equipment etc.
Anyways, I could keep on ranting all day :P - I just wanted to thank you all for the feedback so far.

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I like the idea of the game but I found it difficult to develop any kind of strategy for what I was going to do. 10 seconds is just too long with the ships fixed in one direction.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Very creative use of the theme, good music and cool effect when you move the camera :)

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

I liked the multilayers starfield and how it turned out to really be a suicide mission in the end. Nice graphics.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:25am

Solid game. Nice polish. Good work.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35am

I'd really like to see where you could take this one with a little more work, very interesting game.

ezolotko says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:15pm

The best game in "Theme" nomination so far!

Joxno says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Incredibly fun and strategic game,

Only thing I wish I had was the ability to select more than one unit at a time.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:13am

Would have been nice to be able to pan out the camera a bit. Neat use of theme.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57am

Nice concept! It's quite original... I loved it that you could scroll in the map. 10 seconds is a bit long, but hey that's the theme after all. Not much strategy involved (maybe I'm just bad), but it was fun nonetheless. Good job!

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:58pm

\o/ yes! won a space battle. Nice work.

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Good example of simple rules, but interesting tactical effects. You kind of have to cover a wide range, and stick together.

Meep says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:46am

Very nice implementation of this idea!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:05pm

good job

GVmakesGames says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I liked the graphics and the game style. This is very interesting.

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Really good! I like this idea. :)

Mekuri says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Hey all. I am very happy with all the feedback I've gotten, and your suggestions have been taken seriously.
I already have a new version of the game were some of the suggestions have been implemented. I will wait with uploading that version until the end of the dare, so it won't be mistaken for my real entry. The changes include: More ship types, the ability to select multiple ships, more realistic movement (turn rate on ships), zoom function, and more.

jwolf says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:12am

Pretty cool! You could do something interesting with this if you want to further develop it (different ship and weapon types, etc.)

Antidote says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:38pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MnhMKdWr8V4 - My first impressions of the game :)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Can't play windows games :-(

Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:10am

We've tackled similar ideas! I love what you've done with it. The presentation and sound effects are great! :)

frogmaster says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:23am

Hmm.. I like the concept and assets. This is a pretty decent game, it is simple and has clear rules. But, TBH, I couldn't find how to play it - it is extremaly easy to dodge attacks but I don't know how to say who will shoot first in a direct confrontation. Anyway - well done, I like it!

Oana says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:02am

Awesome idea. Why didn't I think of that...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]