August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pathfinders Delight

by Exergy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Heres my entry for the 48 Hour Compo.

First game in Unity, second game ever made.

In lack of ideas I started out by doing my own pathfinding engine, and after that built a game based on it. This is the outcome of that!

Hope you enjoy it.

(EDIT: grammar)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#661Innovation2.82
#730Theme2.97
#735Graphics2.59
#824Mood2.38
#832Fun2.59
#832Overall2.77
#873Audio1.76
#885Humor1.67

Comments

Snurf says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Coooool! Fun playing it, well done sir!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

Nice one. Very smooth controls.

chabuduo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

i cant seem to restart the second level, it sends me to the main menu when i press space (instead of restarting).
really fun though il try to finish

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:13am

Pretty cool - might have to dig around the source to check out the pathfinding stuff - very smooth ;)

Kidney says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:15am

This is a great game for your second ever, and kudos to you for tackling something outside your comfort zone. Quick tip, you are using the pathfinding grid to calculate the movement, but you did not account for the length of diagonals, artificially increasing movement speed.

Exergy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Thanks for your comments!
Kidney: I actually did calculate the diagonals as monter when doing the pathfinding. However, I did not have the time to change the movement speed on the diagonal sections. the current speed is just a distance / movement-time.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:56pm

This was fun, easy to pick up

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:00am

This was a cute little game. The UX was kind of bad, since clicking slightly on a wall would completely negate your path. It would be much nicer if it would snap to the nearest walkable tile. Also being able to click and hold would be really nice. It was otherwise very enjoyable.

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Oh yes, pathfinding! And all that against the clock. Decent game all in all =)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I got frustrated very quickly because of the seemingly random speeds of the character. Other than that though, it was a fun little game with some pretty cool levels actually!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Nice work. I think it could use a little feedback that you were running out of time (like a "beep" sound or something). - this would build some excitement too.

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:07pm

I like it, very fun and well done :)

Exergy says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:05am

Thanks for all your feedback. Good ideas to!
I was taking a shortcut when calculating speed which causes the "random speeds" your referring to. Sorry about that. I'll blame only having 48h ;)

Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:15pm

This was fun! It seemed like a basic get to the end of the maze game but the coins giving you additional time and enemies chasing you added some depth to it. I thought the level design was pretty well done too. Good job!

grayhaze says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:45pm

A good first game, although a little clumsy in control. The movement of the bad guys seemed a bit random.

Spelchan says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Good effort. It would be nice if you had continual movement (if the mouse is down and moves to a different tile a new path is generated) as it would have made the game much easier to play.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Not too bad. Nice job going for some path finding stuff. As Kidney noted, diagonal movement is faster.

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Wish there were more pathfinding related puzzles. The idea is very unique.

mollymus says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Decent game! Could've used some more action to it though! Grats on, and good job, implementing successful pathfinding!:)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]