August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Test Chambers

by 0xc0dec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a prisoner human, captured in test rooms by evils scientists for their experiments. Gather energy spheres as fast as possible, avoiding being hit by the deadly comets falling from above.

Chambers are separated by doors. After moving to another chamber you first close previous door, which takes 10 seconds, then open the next door, which takes another 10 seconds. During that process you must collect spheres and survive. The more chambers you pass, the more dangerous they become.

Sorry for the music =( First soundtrack in my life.

Linux version was not tested!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Graphics3.94
#199Audio3.20
#425Mood2.89
#518Overall3.09
#708Fun2.74
#773Theme2.92
#811Humor1.81
#842Innovation2.58

Comments

ehnaton says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Got bored after 70th sphere...

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:39am

Interesting. I thought there might have been more depth to it after awhile like some vertical action. that would have been nice. Otherwise it was pleasing to look at and play for a little while :)

Zer0XoL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46am

feels like dancing

whydoidoit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:30am

Great sound track and moody art :)

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39am

haha love the music, great job for a first soundtrack. I agree with the other comments, it was a bit of fun but some more depth would have been great. All in all though I thought this was a fantastic submission.

pyromatical says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41am

Liked the soundtrack and the feel of the controls. Would be cool if each room was different, like having walls and things to jump on. Nice work ;)

shohs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44am

Not too bad! I agree with mactinite that it would be interesting to gradually add things to the chambers, but besides that, the art looked nice and the soundtrack was pretty good for this type of game.

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46am

I love the graphics.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:50am

Looks AWESOME! Great dynamic effects also!

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:14am

graphically impressive for a 48h game, but its a bit repetitive. The music is great!

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48am

Looks great but kinda repetitive

0xc0dec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

Different rooms is something which I had no time left for to implement =( Would really be cool to have that.

lcass says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

it had a nice mood but its very repetitive.

Forstride says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:18am

The visuals are nice, of course, but the gameplay itself isn't really that fun. There's nothing that makes me want to keep collecting the spheres when every room is the same (Or from what I played, at least).

Less repetition and more challenge would've been nice, basically.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

29 spheres and 101 seconds later I can say that this is the best game I've played so far, only thing I would change (for the sake of it) would be the timer, I would stop in while entering a room and start it when touching the first sphere

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

I liked the concept and all that but you didn't think about performance. I have a powerful computer and that game lagged me. Everything else was good other than that.

gravyhands says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20am

Controls were fantastic! Very smooth, felt like gliding.
Also, graphics were very nicely done as well.
My only complaint was that it was too easy, I don't think I ever lost any health.

SteveSalmond says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:59am

Loved the graphics and controls - the gliding feel is very pleasant!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:05am

Hum. Interesting. Got a lot of lag on my pc for some reason but I enjoyed it.

Yozz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25am

A bit laggy in browser. It affects controls.

RadJor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:05am

I'm glad you were able to get sound in at all. A lot of games didn't have time for that. So nice job there. The game is pretty polished. The action wasn't that enjoyable because it was so limited. It would be cool if there were some variety.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13am

The game has a great look, but it was a bit difficult to control.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20am

Looks cool, is in general well designed, but i feel it lacks something.

Still, good job!

Katamori says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:32am

My computer is too weak for this game. It runs with 15 FPS on these settings.

I got 9 spheres in 88 seconds anyway, to I'm trying to rate.


Overall: entertaining for a while, with good music and fancy graphics, but gameplay becomes exponentially boring. Definitely not a bad entry, but for me, it's far from the win. 3/5
Innovation: you collect balls in similar rooms. 1/5
Fun: you collect balls in similar rooms. 1/5
Theme: theme is obviously involved. 5/5
Graphics: shadows, particles, textures lighting, etc., a lot of fancy stuff, supported by Unity! 5/5
Audio: I have to agree that if this is your first music, then it's great! 4/5 because of the lack of other sounds, though. Fortunately, it doesn't really miss.
Humor: nothing to explain. 1/5
Mood: a bit dark. Almost nothing, but compared to game mechanics, there's a smaller miracle that it even has. 2/5

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12am

I really like the look and feel of it. You probably already know about this, but I found a bug while playing; If you take a sphere and instantly run back to the previous room you will be trapped there. Then if you go back one more room you fall through the ground.

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30am

How are you supposed to start the game? What are the controls? Looks interesting, but when i launch the web app, i can't do anything.. (on mac 10.8.4 Chrome 29)

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:48am

Nice game, there was one room where I didn't get any new spheres though and a lot of random lag spikes when the door was closing.

Yaru says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22am

Very cool, I love the art!

levsha128 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47am

Nice :)

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:59am

Is there a goal to achieve? I played it and thought: This is an endless loop. But it's called test chamber, so maybe I get tested if I can escape it. So I realized that the door I went through closes slowly. So I went through the next door, picked up one ball and went back to the previous room. When the door closed, first the shooting stopped and I thought - yeah that's it. And the the room got deallocated I guess, because I felt downwards seeing the other room from the outside. Then I thought: ok, that's not supposed to happen :D

Octopuns says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Interesting idea. Movement feels great tool.

Anton_D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Good game, but you could easily hide in the entrance to avoid the meteors.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Great looking game. Got a bit boring kinda fast. Some variety would have been nice :)

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Looks awesome, good audio, i love this game!

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Loved it!!!
Incredible, how far can you actually go
first shot made it to 610 seconds and collected 115 spheres
i might have added that the spheres may have added to a timer of something (not that i could do anything like this anyway), but i am amazed

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

oh yeah sorry for repost but if this had coop then i would pay for a game like this,
i have a game similar to this sort of concept in mind to make but that's another topic,
great game again =D

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Cool idea, the movement seemed a little too fast but overall good game.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I love the graphics and lighting of the game, really awesome and fun!

Layl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Very impressive

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Not bad, not amazing though.

Obscuremoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

overall it's a fantastic game, best graphics and mood out of the other games I've played so far :D 5 stars!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice game, I like the graphics and particle effects, as well as the music, just would like a sound to indicate when you pickup a sphere, or when a meteor hits the ground. Overall very nice.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Lagged a bit which is strange since my computer isn't exactly low-end. Graphics are pleasant, but gameplay too repetitive to play for any length of time.

tamirespp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:58pm

It`s a pretty decent game, the music was actually nice. I would like to have a sound to indicate loss of health and perhaps when I pick up the sphere. Overall, I think the player walks way too fast and I also think it gets pretty boring pretty quickly. I also feel like it`s an obvious approach to the theme and that it could`ve been better developed on the game play.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Don't know why: it just won't work, the input system just not working, everything seems to be ok just not responding (tried both web and windows, wierd)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Nice graphics! Though it lags heavily in the browsed :(

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Yeeha in a spee rush!
got 40 spheres - nice graphics - the music isn't that bad.

3ndo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Great concept and execution. FPS controls felt solid (strange for Unity). Would have liked a twist or some variation to the later rooms.

Split82 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice. Glad to see another 3D game like mine. Unfortunately my computer sucks so much this runs like 3 FPS :( Can't play it at all.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Nice game with really good graphics, could use a little more variety.

ahm99 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I really liked the graphics. Music wasn't too bad. Powerups would have been cool, but anyway, good job :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Disco feeling :D nice Idea but is there a goal or do i have to stay as long as i stay awake? ^^

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

This game looks really cool! but, is a little repaticious... I included it in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you want to check it out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Great visuals! The gameplay got boring fast though...

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Fast collecting action. I got almost instantly motion sicness and had to stop

Glockenspiel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:58am

was really fun in the first 2 levels but then got boring and repetitive

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

good job

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice presentation, really liked the music! But it needs more variation.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Solid idea! this could be easily extended. Nice work with the light

Codexus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

Nice game. It would need just a bit more variety but it's pretty slick.

Travis Irby says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:35am

love the graphics and music! you got a lot done, nice work

Unept says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:45am

You did well with the graphics and sound and initial gameplay, but ya, got a little repetitive. Well done for 48h!

mollymus says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 8:29pm

The visuals are very nice and smooth, but it lacks some gameplay! I had trouble getting hit by orbs even when I wanted to see what happend..

kristof says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I kind of liked the music. Also great visuals. The gameplay is a bit boring though.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Music was very well done, thought the doors were bugged counting down twice. Very fluid controls.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I really liked the soundtrack! Unfortunately, the game is a little bit repetitive, need more mechanics..

MinionStudios says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Fun and fast paced! Very simple idea, could be made into a much larger game easily

porglezomp says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

It felt a bit laggy. I like the idea, but as it is it feels too simple, and somewhat luck-based. (I suppose I could've looked upwards more often, I dunno.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]