August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sixths

by dylanwolf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Burst all the green balloons, while avoiding the red balloons. A one-minute game divided into three 10-second rounds punctuated by three 10-second intermissions.

Built in Unity 4, using the 2D Toolkit and ThinkScroller.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#154Audio3.29
#391Graphics3.17
#820Overall2.78
#820Fun2.61
#1031Theme2.50
#1099Innovation2.06
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09am

Great art style and the guitar background music was a nice touch. I got 5700 (after turning the targets up to the max).

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20pm

I was never sure what made for a good difficulty setting, so I just made the target and penalty balloons options (with, of course, unclear labels based on my variable/function names). You can totally game the system.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Good old concept :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:21am

Yay 5000 pointrs :) You should add a little bit more difficulty, maybe moving ballon :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

I loved the music sooo much. Its a great game as well, though very easy. I featured it in my video compilation of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/J-5j5_FYNQI

Liz England says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Pop. Pop pop pop. I liked this. Fun, and while it's timed it's not quite as frantic or panicky as lots of other games, especially with the soothing music.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:37pm

nice game, i really like the music, also this is the opposite of my game.. balloons are awesome. good job

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:00am

Very relaxing, and I like the style.

psc1997 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:04am

Great graphics and music. I like concept :)

Danex317 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Cute idea. Simple and effective

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Interesting art style and music. Very effective. Didn't understand why you have to wait 10 sec every 20 sec though. Also, it would be nice if you hide the mouse cursor.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]