August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Robot

by Linus Lindberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If the game doesn't run on your machine, download the love application here: https://love2d.org/ and then download the love.2d file. This also works on linux.

-------

You are the first hyper-intelligent humanoid robot.
Unfortunately you run out of battery every 10 seconds.


-------
Controll the robot with the left and right arrow keys. Jump with the up-key.
Pick up white energy to keep you battery charged, but watch out for the red energy which will drain your battery even quicker!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#106Graphics3.85
#323Audio2.95
#371Mood2.97
#520Theme3.22
#622Humor2.13
#878Overall2.71
#1033Fun2.25
#1095Innovation2.07

Comments

TinyWorlds says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Too easy. I was bored after 244 seconds and did let the player suicide.
I like the main character.
The music is ok.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33am

Doesn't run on my system. :( The screenshots look very nice though.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34am

I enjoyed this once I figured it out. The game over message is delightful. :D

LittleThor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Need more things to do to be funny : another gameplay brick, or a better level design. The character is funny and the music is nice.

RandomM00 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Failed to start: not a valid win32 application
32 bit Windows XP

douglasv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37am

I would put tha character closer to the left edge of the screen.Gives the player more time to think.

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38am

Great visuals but the gameplay is a little simple. I also think the movement speed is a bit slow. Good attempt.

superjoebob says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:38am

I love your art and music, the art is a really cool kind of surreal and the music sounds like early 70's techno

tiffi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41am

Loved the background and the player sprite

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56am

It looks very nice. I loved the character. Maybe it needs some additional game mechanic to keep the player interested? Solid work though.

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16am

Nice game, fab graphics!

vrld says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Fun game, great graphics and a cool soundtrack.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Lovely character!

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Loved the visuals!

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Cool graphics, cool idea. I wish there was some more variation.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Really nice visuals and aesthetic you have going. I made a game about a robot too. :)

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Nice visuals but not very much to play here. Also, there's no way to reset game?

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Nice looking game. It was kind of hard to see the batteries so you could pick them up. Good animations and backgrounds too.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I like the graphics (particularly the robot and the that background you've done is awesome) and LOVE the music like I think it's the best so far or close to it! Controls are a little bit frustrating, could do with working on the game feel in the post jam version and adding variety and difficulty to it.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:26am

That's a pretty awesome robot.

alts says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:23am

Mechanically very simple. I really live what you're doing with the blend modes in the background. It looks really nice.

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:25pm

I was streaming when I played your game: http://www.twitch.tv/crowbeak/c/2837159

Infin8 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Great Aesthetic overall. Would have liked the player to be closer to the left and faster as well. BTW, walking left also makes the number flip.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Not bad. I like the main character, it's very pleasure. In the long run gets a bit boring, but like a 48 hours work is quite not bad :) ++ for good graphic style!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

real nice graphics. are you from sweden too Linus?

headchant says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:19am

Not a fan of the controls/physics in this one. Great graphics and ambience though.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Nice art. Agree with others on the movement speed, etc. Just didn't feel right. Some places where you can't avoid a red dot. But, a very nice effort for 48 hrs and a nice base to build on. Keep going! Polish and add to it.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Really cool, like the aesthetics in the background, and the whole game kind of gives me machinarium vibes. Nice to play, a little frustrating when the character slows down however it still becomes enjoyable when the acceleration works in your favour. Good job on this.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Love the graphics and the game itself is pretty awesome. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1OMEshCeQ0

Connors says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:23am

I like the graphics, but that's pretty much the only thing I liked very much, it kind of drags on and it's really easy once you figure out how it works.. The music was just okay. So.. Thumbs up for graphics. I guess I'm going with the majority opinion here.

Jools64 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:10pm

This game has awesome graphics. I really like the details like the number on the character's face actually moving around. Unfortunately the game-play was a little uninteresting. Just collecting white orbs and avoiding red orbs got pretty repetitive.

All the same, great work. I loved the aesthetic!

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Cute graphics, but not that interesting a concept. Powerups were kind of hard to make out.

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Liked the graphics, but gameplay is a bit empty...
Nice Game over message!

gmaker says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:21pm

loved art!! nice music very retro! great job!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice visuals, simple controls, pretty nice

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:42am

The character and the background are wonderfull, it create a unique atmosphere. However I found really hard the way the hero just stop when you are not pushing the key anymore. With more fluidity it could be even more fun.
Is there an end ? I went till 266 seconds but the landscape was still changing.

Reyn says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I never knew carpets made tvs slow down that much ;-) The robot was too close to the right edge of the screen for me, that did make the game a lot more intense though.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:37pm

@Colapsydo: There is no end but you can reach a point where it will run out of new objects in the background and there will just be empty sky :P

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:50pm

It felt like I was running through molasses. The music was pretty good and the visuals were pretty good.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Not great gameplay-wise, but I like the backgrounds.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]