August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Short Nightmares

by Martin_Monosys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Short, creepy game, guess you can figure out what to do on your own. Playthrough only takes about 2 or 3 minutes when you know what to do... :)

Link to theme : Every dream only lasts 10 seconds, but they can go on forever if you don't "escape", much like in a fever. ...

Controls : W-A-S-D for movement, Mouse to look around

Have fun and sweet dreams!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Mood4.16
#62Audio3.61
#373Innovation3.22
#446Graphics3.06
#449Overall3.16
#646Theme3.08
#839Fun2.58
#861Humor1.72

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54am

Well, this is creepy. Nice job on the atmosphere! It's just the right amount of dark, where you can only spot the important stuff. The glitches are also cool, you notice them only the 3rd or 4th time around.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice! Got stuck on third night, didn't know what to do =(

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:56pm

@Feysoura -> Hint: Turn left in the dark!!!

Spit Tex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58pm

The tension in this game is amazing, I am not normally scared of games, but this game's graphics, audio and repeating game play left me honestly quiet tense.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Kinda annoying to host your game on a website that makes me watch an ad first...

The images and sounds, along with the text, definitely give you a very cool and creepy mood.

I got to "3rd night" and had no idea what I was supposed to be doing. It just kept repeating.

Mouse sensitivity was REALLY high for me, making it kinda hard to do. Not sure why using the mouse for looking was even necessary here.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

This was soo creepy! Congrats for carrying such a mood.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

2spooky4me





(10/10)

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Some auditory clues as to the correct path would be nice. I think I stubbed my toe in the dark.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I couldn't figure out what to do on the fourth night, but certainly a very creepy and unusual approach to this theme. I liked it. The flat textures were a bit weird, but that kind of fits the surreal dreamlike atmosphere. Would be nice to see this idea expanded on.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Hiya!
This was a simple and straightforward game, but it was VERY well-executed, stylish, and polished... obviously I lvoed the graphics... the sound fit very well too, and overall the mood really sucked me in.

Needless to say, it scared the crap out of me, but I think it ended a bit on a low note and that it could have used a slightly "stronger" ending.

Good luck!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35pm

@scriptorum : Can't you hear the 'glitch' ?!? :)
@esayitch : You are right about the ending, I ran out of time.

Anyway, thank you all for playing and commenting, I hope I creeped you out a little bit! :)

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:40pm

I would love to see you develop this with higher quality textures. The concept, the mood, and the audio are all perfect. Great job.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:30pm

@Atmospherium: I don't think it would work with any other textures... They are perfect, too!!! :)

davisan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice mood! But I got stuck on the third night. Any clues? I want see the end!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17pm

I think this game would be perfect as an installation, an interactive space with projections over the walls, it would be insane. The mood is great and overall quite fun to play, I'd love if there were more levels, it ends a bit abruptly.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04pm

@davisan:Fourth night, go to the right... I think... :)
@Lokarunith:The end is weak,I'm sorry... :(

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55am

There's a fantastic sense of atmosphere to this one, really enjoyed it.

davisan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:58am

Thanks! I finished now!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:09am

Textures are great as is. great game too! What I would love to see is a version with longer levels, and rather than a 10 second restart, an optional restart button in case you get super lost. May just be me though :p

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:27am

Full props on the creepy mood, like always. :D
Needed a better ending though, IMO.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:29pm

great atmosphere, very creepy. got stuck on the fourth night but you comment on the site helped me get to the end.

you could really expand on this, but there would be great to have some way of knowing what's up and down. so maybe something to help you distinguish the ground and sky.

dudsen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Interesting that one sentence with the information of being watched from the dark changes the whole perception of the things going on around you... at least for me ;) very minimalistic and effective. Unfortunately i was being stucked in an endless nightmare, couldn't find the 4th image :(

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Another horror game \o/ Unfortunately I was not able to complete the third night: the sensitivity of my mouse was WAY too high, and it made it very difficult to orient myself. That said, the aesthetics of your game are awesome. The textures are so perfectly fitting... And the audio is great too. Might come back to it to finish it if I have time. Very well done!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Very good atmosphere. The blurry lights and shapes give the game a very unique style. I got stuck on some kind of door shaped thing. No matter where I went, I always got set back. Great entry!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:33am

Strong atmosphere, great use of simple assets. Would love to see more of this kinda game - photographic elements in three-dimensional space! Though next time, consider giving us a clue or two at the start - trails on the ground? Anything to introduce us to the navigation element... you can always taper off the clues later.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

interesting but i could not get past the third level -- nice job

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Creepy dark mood :D Love this game, good job!

villhest says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Great job! Really creepy! I got stuck half way through though.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

So i'm walking thru a bunch of pics that you took at night. Woope. Innovative but not a game.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:00pm

@killerstarbunny: Oh no, you found out! Please don't tell anyone!!!! :)
But seriously, it's about the mood you get, and it did creep you out, didn't it?!?
So ok, maybe not, hold it against me, that's just fine... :)

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Didn't really get much out of this, good use of audio though. Creepy

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I like the concept and idea, it's very interesting.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

@XaiZil : Well, you got 2 things : Good use of audio, and creepy... So, what more can you ask for in a 48 hours game ?!?

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Interesting experience but hard to get any sens of orientation when you are totally in the darkness.

cafeine says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Clever use of texturing, very good mood-setting. I would love to see a longer version.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:15am

I'm in the fourth night, and I don't find the exit.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:44am

good job

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Very interesting, like the way you handled the graphics :)

panurge says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Got stuck on the fourth night... Really enjoyed the experience up until then, however. Great moody visuals and sound, creepy and intense.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:12pm

The use of sound as a gameplay element is nice, and its contribution to the mood of the game makes it excellent. Using walk sound for localisation was great.
In Night 4, I had to strafe-jump to finish it into the 10 seconds, is it normal ?

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:25pm

@Colapsydo: Hmmm, well you can do that, but there should always be enough time to just walk to the finish, IF you know where it is... :)

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:17am

Wow, hard to play it alone! Very creepy and dark!
Despite the confuse third and fourth nights (which were basically random walking along the walls to find the exits) I liked this game a lot!

Colors/graphics and sound were VERY effective in creating the perfect mood and the ending was VERY good (in a sense that I was very happy to see it and it wouldn't give me nightmares as the rest of the game xD).

Thanks for the opportunity to play such a good piece! =)

kraj0t says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:16pm

This is brilliant. Amazing mood! I got stuck at the third night, though. Good job!

caranha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I really like the use of the Theme, the mood and the audio for this game!

I got pretty lost in there, I'm not sure if it is the gamma, but I got completely stuck at the fourth dream.

Maybe it would be a nice idea that you got switched between different dreams when the timer ended, instead of just being sent back to the beginning of your current dream?

Thanks for the game, and have a video review:
http://youtu.be/AHn-Stre4dA

Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:44am

Terrific use of photographs! The atmosphere is grotesque and surreal.

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I like the recurring nightmare theme, and the dream-like graphics.

Nice style and mood!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 7:45pm

It's about time I thank you all for playing and commenting. This clearly means a lot to me, having lots of people seriously analyzing your game is great! Already looking forward to next time!!! XD

Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Great atmosphere here, I want to know what was watching me from the shadows!

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:51am

Great visual style and audio design. It felt almost like stumbling in the dark in a haunted house. I spent way too much time on the third night. I guess some more audio/visual clues would be helpful as I got pretty disoriented multiple times (or at least as disoriented as someone can get within 10 seconds!). Great submission!

loxo says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Visually and conceptually interesting game, with good atmosphere.

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Very nice submission! Excellent mood and I really appreciate how you came up with an idea that was innovative but easy to execute.

The ending had me scratching my head - it taunts me to replay but when I tried the win condition wasn't cleared - but I won't complain too much :P

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Nice atmosphere. Couldn't figure out how to get past the third night.

local minimum says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cool take on the theme, and nice glitches. A bit hard to see enough, but maybe that's just because I didn't turn all lights off before playing...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]