August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cedarville

by BenWhi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are about to decide the fate of 6 people from the town of Cedarville.

You will be shown 6 scenarios of which you will have no prior understanding. It is your job to pick one of TWO possible solutions. Both solutions will have DIRE consequences on the life of the individual in question.

If you do not reach a decision in ten seconds, a random decision will be made for you (unless otherwise specified).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#199Mood3.28
#304Innovation3.33
#425Humor2.49
#459Overall3.15
#551Graphics2.89
#603Theme3.13
#677Fun2.78
#789Audio2.06

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

There's a bug on the second to last page, text appears scrambled?

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:30am

Got a weird bug where Carol's ending had two texts imposed on each other. Think I chose 3 nights, don't shoot dog, give password, walk away, visit mother, and don't look in shed.

I had a hell of a time with this game. Loved the surprises and the connections between the characters. I'd like to see all the endings, but don't know how long I'd spend finding them...

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35am

Why did I have to make everyone die?!!
Good game, cool idea.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02am

Really nice although for me the consequences seem a bit too random, I get that you're forcing the player to make out of context decisions but there's less weight if you have no clue what's going on. Also the whole countdown on a choice is fairly common in games nowadays so it doesn't feel like you stretched the theme.

Overall though I really like it, great sense of atmosphere and strangely pleasing visuals

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53am

Nice faces.

Eirikir says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58am

Original idea! but some consequences feel a bit random

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:06am

It was interesting how some of the stories were connected in little ways.

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32am

Great dark mood! Feels a lot like the Walking Dead as a minigame!

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39am

Great concept! I especially loved how the different choices played into the results of the other characters. However, I had a hard time keeping everyone straight in my head. It'd be nice to have another animated scenario with the conclusions, maybe, so that I could remember what the choice was about. It'd be cool to maybe see the conclusions woven together more too, instead of shown one-by-one. Also it seemed a bit odd to be making choices without context for people who would have the context if they had to make the choice. I was expecting maybe to be acting more as an arbiter.

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Interesting idea, really innovative.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Awesome idea. I really really liked how the stories were connected to each other, I wasn't expecting the connections to be that good.

smotko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Interesting concept. I think I managed to make the wrong decision every single time :)

The game would be a way better if there was more art and less text though...

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:57pm

A little slimplistic on the choices. But not too bad.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

The art style is quite stylistic. Nice storytelling. ^_^

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Interesting concept. Awesome how all the stories entwine at the end. Art is on the simple side tho but great job.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Interesting Game. I really liked how everything started to ocnnect towards the end.

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Awesome game! I love the confusing morality behind the story, though it would be a little better if you had a tiny bit of knowledge about what your choice would effect. Great job.

tony.pe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Neat idea, it was cool seeing the connections play out at the end. I think the point would have be driven home more by illustrations showing the connections rather than text to read, but I liked it!

CoOz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Interesting game. Theme is well managed. Nice faces ! ;)

kannas says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I really like how the story evolves. And most of all, i like the idea behind this game. I am overjoyed every time i see a non banal approach to this kind of theme. Thank you for the experience :D

Mythalore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Wow, that was amazing I especially like how the stories overlapped!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Played it twice. I liked the connections as the others said. Although the effects my choices had were kind of ridiculous and unrealistic. What are the chances that either choice would change certain peoples' lives forever? I would also appreciate if the choices had a little more emotional weight, and if you used a better font. But overall, not bad.

syradinegames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Great mood for this game. I couldn't read all of Carol's outcome, but it was a happy ending from what i can tell. I must have been lucky since almost everyone's outcome was good. Makes me curious to see if I can make them go bad, so some replayability is there. It would have been awesome to have a 7th or overarching story that combines all the outcomes into an ending, like those romantic comedies with 30 A-List actors.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33am

I loved the art and the sound used when you had to make a decision. Cool idea for a game.

anjack says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:48am

Very cool game! The intertwined fates are fun to follow.

GrimGary says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:48am

Had to play it through a few times, just to see different conclusions. Liked it overall! =)

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:11am

daaaaang

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

Nice Job Ben! Enjoyed the intensity brought on by only having 10 seconds to choose. Really like the art style too :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20am

Very cool - seeing the stories interweave was pretty interesting. Would have liked to see a shot of the characters in the conclusion though to enforce the connection more. Really unique entry!

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Quite a cool game, the style you went with suited it really well. It's just a shame there wasn't time to make cutscenes for any of the outcomes, that would've set it off really nicely. Good work all the same.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Don't know why, but I like the graphics ;) Interesting idea, Well done!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Nice idea :)

joekinglake says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Really enjoyed this, great use of the theme. Very different to everything i've seen so far. I found myself constantly second guessing myself. Awesome job! I can't help but feel you knew from the beginning exactly what i was going to pick :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16am

Good writing and the tense music with the countdown adds a great atmosphere. Well done!

Jacic says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41am

Interesting graphics. :p

I really liked the idea for this!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice game, with engaging narratives.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Interesting idea. I like that the conclusions are given all together at the end. Too bad I did not remember the names. Luckily it was clear who he meant. I like graphics, too :)

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Narration narration narration. Narration? Narration! Narration narration. Loved it bro, keep it comingggg.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

Waha, that's extremely awesome and dark! Loved the haunting faces of all the characters, and loved the care given to the writing! Awesome job!

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Having the player impact on the storyis always great, I really liked this!

It would be nice if the game showed and image with the ending text of each character, just to make it easier to commit them to memory.
Also, I didn't understand why you have to push space to start, and then A to continue. Could be the same button.

Nice work!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

Nice change from the pace. Interesting story. It would have been nice to see some of your choices play out in animation form but considering the timeframe it's no biggie.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Niiiicee!!

stenol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Great concept :)

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Like the setup, a bit more information about the decisions would have been nice. Like how the decisions affect other decisions. As other have mentioned, I got the bug with text not readable on the last scenario conclusion description.

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Nicely written, it was interesting to see the results. Good job!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Really cool game, love games that question what's good or bad/right/wrong. Only down side for me was on the last page, with Carol's story the writing went a bit haywire and I couldn't read it.

Still, great game, thank you!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Good concept and a terse, effective writing style. I really liked the crossover between some of the stories and the way you made the player question the limits of their agency. Good work.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Good and nice game

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:38am

The faces made this game at least 32.333 percent more classy :]
Very interesting intertwining between the stories. I went on to play it a few times just to see the endings.
Great work!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:18am

Hey, I couldn't play it, the very first game screen (with the character in hotel lobby) just freezes on "press any key to start" and doesn't respond to any input. I'm using Chrome on OSX Lion.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:46am

I think I sent everyone spiraling down the wrong path. I'm sao bad at making decisions! :p
I love playing games where they show a scenario and our decision plays a part in how the scenario ends. And I certainly loved this. Good job!

kristof says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:58am

Cool. I like seeing the connections between the characters.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Good game even though it's a bit banal. But I like the play with choices..

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Interesting game, some of the effects choices had felt a bit random, but it was still near to try and see how many different things I could make happen. There was a bug on the final frame that usually made Carol's ending extremely difficult to read, so I'm not always sure what happened to her, unfortunately.

farmergnome says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:00am

Very original game, loved it!

Rabbits... says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I liked how the consequences seemed to be linked, great storytelling!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:58pm

so many outcomes and all interesting. One of my favorites of this competition.

Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:06am

Great job on this game though I also saw that bug on Carol's ending where the text are messed up.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]