August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lucid Journey

by Purplescape - Jam Entry

Journey to solve a series of visions. Use the mouse to play.

This game is abstract. There is a way to complete all 18 levels, but you will have to experiment to figure out how. The level titles are hints.

Post-Compo Version - Please just rate the original version
Adds extra hints, increases player and object speeds, switches the first level with an easier one, and some graphic changes. Try it out if you'd like, it is more user friendly.
Now updated with easier object movement, a hint button, and some more graphic changes.

Created by Purplescape
Music by dactylopus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#138Mood(Jam)3.35
#149Innovation(Jam)3.31
#258Audio(Jam)2.94
#270Theme(Jam)3.13
#325Graphics(Jam)3.13
#361Overall(Jam)2.96
#438Humor(Jam)1.79
#452Fun(Jam)2.50

Comments

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:39am

Interesting, but it's hard to recognize what exactly player needs to do. Also, 10 seconds sometimes just not enough to perform an action.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Hey purple this looks pretty cool, any hints for the first area? I am not sure what to do with the rock

Purplescape says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Thanks for the feedback, Nerlin! I agree, I need to work on how to give more hints and feedback to the player. 10 seconds should be plenty for some levels and just enough for others, but maybe a little too close.

lordjosephdeburg you need to move the rock to the right on the other side of the pond. The idea is that it blocks the wind from making the water ripples.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

Good concept, but yeah I need some hint, I couldnt have complete it without reading your comment :)

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:28am

Amazing work! Loved your concept.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:47am

interesting game. I really enjoyed the visuals. not sure I always understood what to do. but nonetheless I kept trying to figure it out. Well made.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:06am

Good music and interesting graphics, but 10 seconds just isn't enough. The player doesn't move fast enough and the collision with objects seems buggy.

johnfn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:17am

This is a pretty neat game, though I felt like the theme was working against you - I wish I had more time to figure things out. I liked the abstract nature of the game, but felt like it was a double edged sword because it could become frustrating at times. Still, not bad work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:41pm

great use of theme -- im trippin

Epiphane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

Very atmospheric, experimental game. I sort of liked it, but it got a little frustrating when I couldn't figure out what to do. The controls didn't really help... it's not totally clear when you can push objects and when you can't.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:38am

I thought the game is almost under a sort of guise, like it's almost trying a bit too hard to be something it's not. That something I would think it's trying to be is cerebral, meaningful, maybe enlightening. But it doesn't really hit any of those marks properly to me.

Here's where I think the game took a bit of an odd route for how you labeled it. It essentially boils down to similar issues some point and click games tend to have, and that issue is completely relying on player trial and error to solve the puzzles the game presents. Now the game is supposed to be abstract, but I think in reality it's pretty far from that. The gameplay isn't very abstract at all, it has very concrete ways of solving the puzzles and there's no other way to go about it. Dressing up the game with surreal art doesn't make the game itself abstract.

Now, all that picky word selection stuff aside, the game just isn't ultimately very rewarding as an experience. There's either a very obvious solution or there isn't. And when there isn't an obvious solution it quickly becomes a frustrating affair figuring out what to do.

As a plus though the art and music weren't bad and provided the nice sort of surreal/ambient thing I think you were going for. My main suggestion is trying to get the way you play the game similar to the way you experience the other parts of the experience. Best of luck to you in your future projects!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Thanks for all the comments! I have created a post-compo version of the game which adds extra hints, increases player and object speeds, switches the first level with an easier one, and some graphic changes. Try it out if you'd like, it is more user friendly.

hogjed, I certainly see what you mean about it not hitting the marks properly. It was supposed to be like dreams that require some interpretation, or a recurring dream that you do differently each time and finally "solve". The titles were hints but ultimately too vague to help as much as I thought.

I understand that the gameplay isn't abstract in that there is a definite solution to the puzzle. It was supposed to be abstract in that you have to think about what you are seeing in a somewhat abstract way to solve the puzzle. For example, you see closed flowers and a moon, and the level is titled "Bloom". You might first think to click on the flowers to make them bloom or try moving the moon to touch the flowers, but you in fact have to raise the moon because the flowers bloom at the moon's rise. In the post-compo version that level's title has been changed to "Moonrise" with the added hint below of "Shine light on the flowers." I wonder if this makes it easier to play but takes away some of the abstract thinking and interpretation you had to do before.

Thank you all for taking the time to provide feedback as it helps me to understand what the game feels like from an outside perspective.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:54am

nice graphics and music but I couldn't make sense of the controls - for example on the eclipse level I just wanted to move the moon towards the sun - but sometimes it went straight up off the top of the screen, sometimes it went to the middle and stopped for no reason, sometimes it went straight down... and I felt like I wasn't choosing any of those actions

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:51pm

cool idea! very interesting! good job! ;)

bitserum says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:12pm

I really like visuals and idea but its hard to guess whats the best way of moving objects and very hard to accomplish anything.

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:08pm

very cool graphics .... yet need Instructions

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:11pm

It's got a cool mood and really nice visual style. Got stuck on the pillars level.

Morusque says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I made it to the end of the compo version without hints, although the controls on some levels seem weird or difficult to use. I liked some puzzles like the "bloom" one.

ramoncb says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I think that maybe too much hints can break some of the experience
I like the way the game was made

plus, have a mysterious atmosphere

(sorry my bad english)

Jedi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:08am

I agree with ramoncb, some levels NEED hints (the color change on the pillars is too subtle - especially for me, as I have slight colorblindness) but having each level spell out the exact goal felt insulting. Maybe you could offer a hint on a button press, or after x tries, or just on the levels that need them.

I played through the post-compo version, and got as far as the pulse level (which never responded in the way I expected, in either version) on the compo version.

I think your use of a series of very simple puzzles / games is PERFECT for Ludum Dare! Although, I do agree with what Morusque said about the controls.
For instance, I have to attempt the eclipse level a few times but it doesn't feel like it was my fault for not getting it the first couple of times, so as a player, I feel like I'm being punished unfairly.

I appreciate the changes you made post-compo and I'm VERY impressed with what you finished during the jam!
Overall - AWESOME!

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:01pm

It's kind of awkward to move any objects around.

Purplescape says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Thanks for the comments! I really appreciate it.

I've updated the post-compo version to include easier object movement and a hint button.

Jedi, thank you for your detailed feedback. I added a glow to the pillars so that the color isn't as important now. I think you're right about the hints being too obvious sometimes, so I moved the hints to a hint button that you can press if you're wondering what to do. With the updated controls, you should now be able to simply drag the moon to the sun in the eclipse level.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:34pm

majestic. awesome art and concept. lots of variety in gameplay.
only trouble is finding the borders of active zones. other then that one of the most polished game experiences I've seen in this jam.

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice atmosphere. I got stuck on "Pulse". I solved "Pillars" and one other one (I forget which) without really knowing what was going on. Everything else has been said.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:09am

Beautiful spiritual journey... This game is wonderful!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 11:30am

Very intresting idea and moody game. I think that in the post-compo the hints are too explicit, they should help you figure out the puzzle instead of telling exactly what to do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]