August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Point One Hurts

by Tom 7 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a web-game you can play in your internet-browser.

This game is a bit harder than I hoped, due to too much time spent on the wrong stuff. Your gaming instincts may lead you astray, so if you want to win (it is possible), pay attention and make sure you're using Z and X liberally.

Did this all from scratch in Flash, including the things where I should just use some pre-existing package. I'm happy with the ten songs of the themetrack, at least!

http://pointone.spacebar.org/compo.shtml

If rating, please use the compo version, with its glorious hostile physics. Otherwise, the jam version fixes some bugs and is a little friendlier.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#88Innovation3.78
#114Audio3.42
#288Graphics3.35
#318Humor2.68
#365Overall3.25
#387Mood2.95
#467Theme3.27
#617Fun2.85
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Nice mechanic! ..although I'm still not quite sure what is supposed to happen :P

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Just because I don't understand what's going on doesn't mean it isn't great.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Alright, I think I get it. The goal is to close yourself in to a box exactly when the spikes come, right?

zlowrance says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:58am

Great looking game, and the music was good. Not sure what the point was, but I tried collecting all the #'s

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:23am

Man you never fail to come up with interesting ideas :D Great game, took me a while to figure out what was going on. I still couldn't figure out how to escape from the spikes though... Good job!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:28am

Part of the point is to figure out the point(s), so I won't spoil it in here. :) But it's not that abstruse; just don't necessarily trust your game instincts, and do pay attention...

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13am

Wow! Awesome graphics and soundtrack. Love how the physics and game rules change every ten seconds. Great work! (Though I must admit that I'm not quite sure what I'm supposed to do.)

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:16am

Excellent puzzle platformer, with a truly unique set of mechanics. I finally won, after lots of experimentation. Excellent work on this, and thanks for sharing it!

murilo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:53am

Very solid stuff here, man! Like the graphics, music and all even though I couldn't quite understand the goal.

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

gerdermit I don't understand it still T___T I'll be back with this! I won't rate it till I understand it!

proc says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

YES! Did it! Took some work but i got there. Very enjoyable little game and I feel the end was a good reward :)

goyal says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

I got stuck on a platform with two giant bar on each side. They are higher than my jump height. Couldnt do anything after that point other than to restart the game.

The music is good.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:45am

Never was able to beat it, but I did really enjoy playing it. If classwork wasn't piling up, I think I'd sit here half the night until I won. Great work!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

goyal: It should be impossible to get stuck. You should try the Z and X keys (again, I apologize that there is not enough hand-holding in the game. :( )

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:02pm

This isn't T IN Y WORLD.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Despite that flaw, it's still the only entry besides mine that isn't crap for plebs.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Despite that success, this is pretty damn original.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Together we shall overthrow Ludum Dare.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:13pm

But even if we did, it wouldn't be featured on Indie Statik.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:15pm

We just need to find a third guy who's good at marketing and we might pull it off.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Ugh, I hate businesspeople so much.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:16pm

But we can keep him locked in a cage, much like the metaphorical one us suffering artists who don't get recognition for their innovation are in.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:16pm

innovation are in.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Who said that?

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I think it was Point Five.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:19pm

He's always been such a nuisance. Must be a businessman.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:19pm

He's not a businessman, he's a business, man.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Nope, still not T IN Y WORLD.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I've lost control of my life.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Better hire POINT ONE HURTS to be in charge of it.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:28pm

This is what happened: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3wUcV1-gEtA

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I like taking photos of the countryside.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:34pm

But the countryside is sometimes shy and melts away.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Revealing a world of pure insanity and POINT ONE HURTS.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:37pm

What did the beef chart say to the doctor?

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:37pm

POINT ONE HURTS.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Just so I can fire him in the middle of a recession.

radmars says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Yes.

radmars says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Seriously though, I think the theme might be working against you here. I love the idea but 10 seconds is way too short of a time to figure things out, for me it just feels like frustrating trial and error and then you die. Maybe you should add a 20s+ easymode! Awesome music as usual btw.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:25am

I'm not entirely sure what was going. I think I'm meant to collect those numbered blocks. Eventually they stopped spawning entirely though.

Nice music and graphics by the way.

garygreen says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I wasn't 100% sure about what I was doing and how to move onto the different type of stages, but it was still fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]