August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Black Hole Arena

by Andrei Müller - Jam Entry

A "top-down arena shooter" game from "Equipe NoName".

Try to survive the enemy waves! Each 10 seconds, a new wave appears.


Credits: Andrei Muller, Alisson Muller, Felipe Faller, Kalil Silva, Michael Vasconcellos.

OBS.: This version of the game has no music/sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#222Graphics(Jam)3.53
#374Overall(Jam)2.93
#498Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1773Coolness20%

Comments

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Good visuals, fluid gameplay, and a fair interpretation of the theme. The aiming controls were a bit tricky, and not intuitive. Good arena and scoring game play. I would have liked to see more types of enemies.

skarab says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Great one, awesome work on the graphics, and the game runs pretty well here. Fit the theme as well.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Thanks for the feedback! I'll be sure to rate your games too! =)

UPDATE: I just changed the Web Version link, now you can play the game directly from your browser, without the need to download it first.

If someone else plays this game, any feedback is appreciated! :-D

DevMax says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:12am

I agree with the previous comments about the graphics, which are pretty good. The gameplay while basic works in this case. Aiming is a bit tricky due to the relation between the fixed camera and craft orientation, it might have benefited by adding laser sights or having faster bullet travel. It seems to chug a bit when there are many enemies on screen at once(Over 10). Nice work!

grozamorei says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

In my opinion, you could make a screen a little less dark, I literally can't see anything. I think visuals would have been great if I could see them properly.

bullet direction is not totally match with my mouse point direction, witch is awkward.

overall game is nice, you did a great job.

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

I was really impressed with your graphics and the amount of detail.

If you continue development a brightness slider would be really great.

overall I had fun shooting up some baddies. nice work and nice game

01rafael says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:42am

Cool, but I'd like to see enemies were different)

Hegemege says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:55pm

This game would've been much more enjoyable with some audio. I liked the visuals, but it would've been cool to actually see the powerups on the minimap or something. The game became really easy after getting a few fire rate upgrades. I tried to wait for the enemies to kill me and there were maybe a few hundred of them or something in the end, which didn't even lower the framerate at all. Good job

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:59am

Made it to wave 59 on my first try! Nice game :)

eskivor says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:25am

graphics and gameplay are good, with sound and music it would be better. Why it is so dark ?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]