August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Parts Bot (Factory Worker)

by bobleny - Jam Entry

You have ten seconds to program your robot using a randomly selected list of punch cards. Your objective is to pick up the parts and place them in the parts bin. All while navigating a randomly generated factory maze. The game is won when you have moved all parts to the bin.

Edit-
I have moved my entry from my dropbox to my server. The code has not changed though.
------

I wrote this game for the 48 hour competition but didn't make the deadline, so I am submitting as a jam entry.

This game is written entirely in javascript, so no cheating!
------

There are still a ton of things I want to implement. If you guys like, I will work on those ideas.

Any thoughts or comments are much appreciated.
-----

I wrote and tested this only in chrome. It does appear to work better in Opera and Firefox, but no guarantees. I would be surprised if it works in IE...

If for some reason the board is drawing slowly or flickering:
If you are going to play the game from the link, use Opera or Firefox. Alternatively, you can download the source and run it locally.

Chrome isn't caching the background images, so each time the board refreshes, which is does often, it re-downloads all of the images, which is painfully slow from my dropbox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Innovation(Jam)3.50
#270Theme(Jam)3.13
#471Fun(Jam)2.45
#486Mood(Jam)2.31
#540Overall(Jam)2.52
#605Graphics(Jam)1.64
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

Tritax says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

The refresh time of the dropbox version is a bit slow, but the downloaded version plays really smooth. Fun - reminds me of RoboRally.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

interesting concept :)

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:00am

Very interesting. It took me awhile to get the hang of the game, but I'm still trying to understand how the conveyors work. I assume when you take full damage, you lose a life. I'm not sure if that's true.
Works in Firefox.

bobleny says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Yeah, conveyors are interesting. Basically, they don't turn on until you stop. This allows you to move past them in any direction. If the executing instruction ends with you on the conveyor belt, you will move forward one space and stop. If you are still on a conveyor, and your next instruction is to rotate, your robot will rotate, and then the conveyor will move you one space. I will have to play around with that. It might be cool if the conveyors moved you even in passing.

Yes, when you reach 100% damage, you lose a life. Unfortunately, the only way to take damage is by passing through or landing on an electrical hazard tile. I was really hoping to have lasers beaming across the board.

bobleny says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:18am

If any one is interested, my current, most stable release can be found here:
http://bit.ly/1doz3PD (It's a bitly, but I promise it's safe!)

Please note however, this should not be confused with my official entry. The bitly link will hopefully help prevent any confusion.

This version works a lot better in chrome but still sucks.

I fixed a weird bug where the squares rotation would affect the rotation of your robot causing confusion about the actual rotation of the robot.

Electrical hazards will now scramble all cards, not just the ones that have been executed.

You can now cheat by changing the time. Very useful for debugging!

I have also made a few visual / layout enchantments to the game.

Enjoy!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:23am

I agree with Tritax, I was not sure using the web version but the downloaded version play right. Nice idea. I played a game similar to this but yours have more features. Good work :)

ZYXer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19am

Wow! I must say this is one of the best games I've seen so far. Thinking spatially under time pressure is really challenging. Great work!

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

I found this so hard! Interesting idea but I just couldn't get much worked out in time

bobleny says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:20pm

The game is very hard with the ten second timer. I found the best way to play is to come up with as many game plans as you can before you deal the cards. The post compo entry will allow you to change the time.

Skye says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:10pm

very fun

Danvil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I really like the idea, but the 10 second timer is very hard...

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:15am

Neat idea, the refresh on card execution is a little choppy, would be nice to see the robot move with each card played.

h_double says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

Technically impressive, but a little too daunting for me with the 10 second clock. :-(

superfoonly says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:11am

That was really hard

4xisblack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:47am

I like that you have to both find the instructions you actually need and then attempt to flood the remainder of your queue with whatever worthless 'turnabouts' are available so that you don't crash into a wall. An interesting take on the whole 'RoboRally' thing.

01rafael says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:16am

this game is too hard for me. but, idea is nice. try to make features more useful.

loxo says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Nice game, but it's really hard to make the needed decisions in 10 seconds. I think I need too much time to look through the cards. Maybe it's because they look too similar. But it seems easier in the post-compo version, although the cards are the same. Maybe you find some time to include your additional ideas (uncontrollable lasers sound like fun), to improve the graphics and to add some audio. Also I think the game is well-suited for touch screens.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]