August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb Squad

by GaTechGrad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Best played with a gamepad.

Evil terrorists are spreading bombs across the the city. These bombs are set to explode in ten seconds. It is your job as a member of the elite bomb squad to disable them and save the city!

Cut the wire that matches the color of the bomb to disable it.

Cutting the wrong wire will make the bomb explode.

Your suit will take damage from exploding bombs. When your suit reaches 0% the game is over.

Exploding bombs will damage objects, which will add to the property damage. Try to achieve a low property damage value.

Source is in the Windows package.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#278Humor2.78
#309Audio2.97
#389Theme3.34
#508Fun2.98
#551Graphics2.89
#596Overall3.02
#602Mood2.67
#674Innovation2.80

Comments

REIN1 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18am

I like time bomb and explosion with physics effect~good game~

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

I found myself just looking at the minimap the entire time, which is a bit of a shame since the game looks quite good...
I like the idea and this is a decent execution of it :)

Anton_D says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Good game, but I feel like it would play a lot better(like you suggested) with a gamepad,which i currently don't have.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Thanks for playing!

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Good use of the "10 seconds" theme. I also feel like the difficulty scaled well--not too easy, not unforgiving, and you can't get every bomb so you have to figure out the most immediate threat.

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

You sadist, I was running through the level like hell to disarm all of those little bastards.. My fingers hurt. :)

About the game, good idea, although it took me a while to notice the disarm buttons (no gamepad here). Maybe you could show them on the load page, or similar?

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37pm

When I first walked up to a bomb, I pushed the wrong button and it exploded. I need a gamepad. Getting blown up and watching the little blocks fly everywhere was actually half the fun for me. Poor little guy. He takes a beating, but keeps on ticking.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Great work Levi this is a lot of fun! Love the premise and overall presentation, you got a lot done :D

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I love the intro and the music. Also how the bombs are synced with the music, that was a nice touch. I played with a keyboard and mouse, that makes disarming the green ones easy with the left mouse button :)

olafurw says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:03am

I wish I could rotate the camera so much! Great concept but could use more of a puzzle mechanic, where you need to figure out where to disarm and at what time.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Wow, really great job on this game! =D It's fun and feels complete.

ocmu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

Really fun with the XBOX controller support!

Feffers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

Quite fun with the xbox controller, got into a nice rhythm while playing.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:34am

cool game -- like the idea and the graphics were slick

Orni says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59am

we need more games with the ability to (destructively) run trough walls - awesome game mechanic

lots of fun - although the camera angle/movement could be improved

well done :)

michail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Well done! I like your voice-acting, when I heard 'All bombs neutralized' I immediately thought about Amish Brothers ('All sheep returned to the barn'). It makes your games recognizable, so it's a good thing.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Thanks for everyone's feedback.

@michail - Thanks for noticing. It's sort of a running theme in my games, and it all started with my first XBox Live Indie Game "Resistor", where it plays "Lev-Lev-Level Complete" after each stage.

@Orni & @olafurw - I agree, the camera is something I would I like to improve upon.

@ddionisio - Glad that you were able to enjoy it with a keyboard and mouse! Each mouse button (left, middle/wheel, and right) should correspond to one of the colors. I'll make sure to disable the right click popup in a future release.

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Fun game! A bit difficult for dumb people like me that get lost if a game has more than 4 keys XD

vladimirdlc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28pm

The voice over makes the game feel truly unique, the addition of gamepad support is appreciated. Good work.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Great title screen. runs very smoothly.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:21am

Quite a lot of fun I must say. The first time I inadvertently burst through a wall like the Kool-Aid guy I nearly fell over laughing. That was a hilarious feature. The voice-over was a nice touch too.

Occasionally when two different colored bombs spawned really close together it would try to disarm both, and blow one up, other than that quite fair, and solid.

Lovely game!

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:31am

@BlennosoftGames - I didn't think about Kool-Aid man. That's too funny.

Honestly, I really only wanted the blocks to move if they are hit by a bomb. I'll need to do some more tweaking to the physics engine setting to make the blocks not move when hit by the player, but it sounds like people are having fun the way it is.

netguy204 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:09am

I thought the audio was good and this game definitely made me chuckle.

Trilby says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Were you trying to imitate this voice?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qF7CqSiAhUQ

I thought it was funny.

The controls are a bit hard with the keyboard. You should port this to the Ouya. Good game.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

@Trilby - Wow, I didn't know there were any other Bomb Squad games. I guess I'll have to change the name if I ever decide to sell it.

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

This was pretty funny, partly because of how terrible I was at playing it! I did get the hang after a while, though, and it's a pretty satisfying mechanic. Special mention should be made of the physics and the epic voice-over.

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:53am

interesting... xD
I like the concept :)

-ENDESGA

tigerj says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:08am

I like the speed this game runs at. it's intense and really gives you a rush.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I'm terrible at this game! I always have trouble mentally mapping 3 actions to 3 keys like z, x, c... Nice effort for 48hrs. Good base to build from.

jwolf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very nice entry! It's kind of amusing when you get launched around.

blackhornet says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:49am

Good idea.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I really liked the 'ragdoll' effect of the guy when a bomb goes off near him, pretty amusing. I enjoyed controlling the character as well, speedy without losing control of him. Good job!

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Thanks a lot for your comment on Lost in the Darkness! I'm sorry that you didn't find any friends - the hints were pretty subtle, but I guess that's what 48 hours without much time for playtesting do to you. Hope you still enjoyed it a bit!

A game that uses gamepads? Great! There aren't enough of those in my opinion, especially because Unity makes that so easy. It was super hard to match the buttons to the colors though - I mean they have the colors, sure, but my finger doesn't know that! After a while it got easier, but still, my best percentage was 60%. The voice over was a pretty nice touch!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]