August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Direction

by KingRageXIII - Jam Entry

This is a parkour based game where you only have ten seconds to live. You can prolong your life by collecting health packs along the randomly generated course.

*LINUX USERS*
To play, you will need Mono 2.10+

There are two modes:
- Learn the Ropes (So you don't get frustrated with Normal):
-You lose one health point every 10 seconds, and collecting the health packs gives you one life point back.
- Normal:
-You lose one health point every second, and collecting the health packs restores your health points back to 10

There are 4 moves (Controls are given in-game in the menu):
- Jumping
- Wall Running
- Sliding
- Climbing (Make sure you wiggle around a little bit when climbing)

My team:
- I did all of the artwork (aside from the fonts), as well as code, models, animation, and sound effects.

- My friend Lukas made the Theme music in the menu as well as the DnB loop during gameplay.

- Marobax (M@X) helped with ideas, balancing, and segment design.

My tools:
- Engine: CraftStudio
- Art: Photoshop
- Sound: Audacity (in-game sounds), and Ableton Live (button sounds)

NOTE:
Windows users:
- If you don't have it already, download the XNA Redistributable above. You need it to run the game.
OS/X users:
- If you don't have it already, download the Mono Runtime above. You need it to run the game.

Hopefully I did well in my first official Ludum Dare! If you find any bugs, please let me know in the comments (if you can tell me how to recreate the bug, try to include that as well).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#204Fun(Jam)3.13
#236Overall(Jam)3.23
#317Mood(Jam)2.86
#325Innovation(Jam)2.90
#346Audio(Jam)2.63
#351Humor(Jam)2.18
#396Graphics(Jam)2.87
#414Theme(Jam)2.84

Comments

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27am

Doesn't work on Wine

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

Interesting gameplay !

KingRageXIII says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:18pm

@vittorioromeo I will put up a Linux build for this soon.

Artylo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Looks like you may have had some inspiration from Mirrors Edge? :P

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Doesn't seem to load on my Mac

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Ignore that comment, it was meant for another ( too many game tabs open right now )

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Some nice ideas here but not very playable quite yet. The audio was very detailed!

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30pm

You might consider hosting on a website that doesn't require me to accept a EULA.

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Created a nice feeling of tension here, although the music was a bit grating the end. The game turned out really fun. Not sure about the keyboard layout you have but I found the Z key to be really awkward to reach for the slide move. Some of the mechanics tended to be a bit twitchy, but not surprising given you got so much working in the time. Really impressed with this effort. Well done on completing your first ludum dare :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Very fun!

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Fun game except the controls were awkward especially sliding and wallclimping was awkward

lulzfish_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

I really want to play, but the XNA installer hangs on determining disk space requirements.

Soundless_dev says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

Fun gameplay! Could use a bit of smoothing, I got stuck alot. Awesome Idea though

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13pm

With a bit of ironing out some kinks, namely getting stuck to the geometry at times, there's a fun game here! Keep at it!

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice game, the controls were a bit weird to handle.

sirdorius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Really awesome! I like the funky physics (though it is exploitable to stay a lot in the air). Like the other people here said, it just needs a bit more polish, and please never use the Z key ever again :)

KingRageXIII says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Hmm... I used the Z key because I play a lot of FPS games. So I guess it felt normal to me because im used to it. I can patch in an alternate key as well... But what would be best?

NachoDA says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

Strange keys distribution. Anyway, nice mechanics and good music choice.

ryebread761 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:17am

Great game! Quite fun. Learn the ropes seems to leave the theme out at first glance though!

MrBlade says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Awesome work! Nice music, good visuals. I love parkour and I speaking as someone who used to be all into the freerunner's mindset; THIS IS THE BEST GAME. Haha, no but seriously nice work. I liked how, like in parkour, there were often multiple paths for each "puzzle" (if you will.) You sound effects were rushed, you could tell, but at least you added them! Keep it up!

Aslai says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:30am

The game was somewhat fun, but that hosting service is awful. You should use something more along the lines of my site ( http://whff.frogbox.es/ )

Serishmus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I had a very hard time getting anywhere

darkshadow says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Really enjoyed it and shows what you can do with CS, more variation in generated obstacles would keep it entertaining for longer. While the z key feels a little awkward and a first I was constantly walking into walls I'm now leaping over everything! A prettified map and more music and it could be even better.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]