August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to live

by lightsoda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have 10 seconds to live. Some actions may prolong that time, or reduce it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Audio3.63
#121Mood3.45
#243Theme3.50
#359Innovation3.24
#401Graphics3.15
#473Humor2.39
#647Overall2.97
#985Fun2.35
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Sherun says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Love the concept but a interesting social dialog system would make this game more challenging and interesting

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The time limit seemed a little pointless considering how easy it is to get extra time, a more multi-choice chat system would have been good. I liked the artstyle.

Webravenz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

nice concept ! how could a half person be in my funerals ? xD (3.5 people)

BenWhi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I liked that you made a philosophical game. Is there any sort of way to win the game?

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:39pm

A beautiful game, but yes, I need more content :/

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Nice concept but I wish there was more of a goal. Overall, great game!

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Nice song and style, I like the concept of different endings, it would be better if you can perform more actions. Is that yellow pixel a penis ? =D

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Great job! Interesting concept you have there! with a little bit more effort this could turn out to be a very cool game in the fututer :3

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

An interesting idea that could be executed a little better. The theme is pretty loosely tied in - gaining 10 seconds or losing 10 seconds of life depending on how you respond to people. I would have liked for there to be a little more to the dialogue mechanic than just a positive and negative response. As it is, it doesn't feel like you're really connecting with the other characters very much. Might be nice if the player had to solve some simple puzzles or help the other characters in some small way in order to be rewarded.

It's a bit tedious to move around and talk to everyone, and there is an issue where it seems like pressing enter makes you talk to the last person you bumped into, even if they are on the other side of the map. The art is simple but functional. The music is thoughtful and matches the mood, but sounds a bit too basic - would have been good to build on the theme a little more. Some sound effects for the dialogue would have been a nice touch. The writing could have been a little more engaging - there are a couple thoughtful remarks, but it's mostly forgettable, which is not good in a dialogue-driven game like this.

I played through once, but I didn't experience enough challenge or emotional resonance to care to try and get each ending, especially with the time a single playthrough takes.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Not sure what the aim of the game is and I only found two endings. Could have been a great game, but a bit too empty for now.

cjordan1683 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Definitely different, but a very intriguing concept. It's like a life teaching game for social interaction, almost like teaching how your time spent now, can greatly affect the future. A lesson that a lot of people would benefit from! Good game!

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:02am

I have to ask, what's with the avatar? matthias_zarzecki http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=3880
uses a very similar one, cat with frog head. Is this a thing?

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:09am

Interesting game, I felt it could use a bit more depth though. I just went around doing positive interactions with everyone, tried a negative once, found a knife, ran out of people to talk to so started murdering everyone simply to reduce the timer and finish the game. And I always play the good guy in games! Would love to see what you could come up with given a bit more time.

lightsoda says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:00pm

@The Evil Cult, dunno, just a funny avatar from quite a while back.

@everyone, thanks for the feedback. I agree with all the critique, and I know this "game" is lacks the necessary depth. Better luck next time!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Dooleus seems to have said everything that I would want to say, except that I got 4 or 5 out of 6 endings I think.

HippyJonYo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Cool game, I liked the philosophical nature of it. I also liked the background music, it fits the nature of the game well.

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Very cool idea, but it was too "gamey". It's very easy to get more time to walk around and explore. And the dialogue options were pretty "black and white", if you know what I mean. Great art style, specially the ending, that was beautiful scene. I also loved the song. It helps to set the mood.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:07am

Yup, this is how life works, if we become depressed and refuse to accpet our illness we end up living less while if we embrace our condition and act positive for the last days we live a bit longer.

Apart from the strong life lesson the game could still be more fun but it was a very nice and atmospheric experience.

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:25am

I agree with what's been said; It's fun enough that I got a few endings but didn't feel it would be worthwhile to get them all.

Very nice mood and music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]