August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wall of Suicide

by dumasflo - Jam Entry

A little game made in about 12 hours :)

Wall of Suicide :
You must suicide yourself to honor your country !

The ritual requires you to explode your big alien head on the wall with :
- a maximum speed : you gain speed maintaining right (or left) arrow
- as close as possible from 10 seconds, but not above ! : try reaching 9.99s to earn more points !

A game last 5 rounds, the final score is the total of each round score.


Controls :
Left & Right arrows to run
Spacebar to stop your character and see your current score

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#70Humor(Jam)3.46
#290Theme(Jam)3.07
#416Audio(Jam)2.38
#456Fun(Jam)2.49
#502Mood(Jam)2.22
#520Graphics(Jam)2.40
#527Innovation(Jam)2.32
#591Overall(Jam)2.26

Comments

bukt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

It's HTTP 404 for both links :(

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I'm pretty sure I hallucinated this whole thing...

gbear605 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Interesting game. Kind of boring, and there are a lot like it, however. It did have a nice 'story' though

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I would like to inform you that I had a nice time and I laughed. I am laughing as I'm rating. For that, I award you a 5/5 in humor.
Good night.

Nights57 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Poor aliens :(, but who am I to judge their culture?! Nice simple game.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Hey,
@markengley : music fault :D

@gbear605 : We wanted it to be multiplayer, but not enugh time spent on it :p

@Feysoura : Haha, I laughed a lot too when the alien moved for the first time XD Thx ! :)

@Nights57 : Thx :))

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13am

No...but...wait a second :-O

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Haha Sergey :D

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:18am

Sometimes simple things are best :) TIL I'm a lousy judge of time :)

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:21am

@Will haha :p Thx Will !

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:31am

5 for humor ;)

coeoliver says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:45am

I like the game a lot it so simple in a good way :)
looking like I need to play your game for 28.

Yakka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:26am

Minimalist but good idea :) I think you could make it deeper.
And I was expecting some good sound from you! è_é

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03pm

@yakka 12 hours are not enough to implement all the ideas we had, at least we have a prototype here :D Thx you my dear Yakka !

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Reading the description, I thought that was a good take on the 10 second theme, but I felt the implementation didn't really reflect it well. I think for the scoring, it would have helped to see what you got each round, so you could see how your performance each time affected it. For just 12 hours of work tho, its a nice little game!

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:10pm

396120, woo! I think that was mostly sevens. You would think, after having worked on a game involving ten seconds all weekend long, I would be a better judge of time.

But I'm not! :-)

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Very nice theme usage, graphics and music. Pretty fun game, now I master the "count to ten in your head" skill

dumasflo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Hey guys,

@Jason : SpaceBar to see your current score :)

@Marcellus thx :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Nice and simple. With that music, I understand why they suicide ;)

Shmarah says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:01am

Lol I like it! I kind of wish the characters looked a little less out of place in that background, though. The music is adorable.

dumasflo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10am

Haha ! Thx ;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:31am

funny and simple. Good use of the "counting to ten" mechanic.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Well...very strange concept

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:48am

Got a final score of 291744! Was pretty funny but the eyes hanging down when you bash into the wall was kind of gross lol.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]