August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

T minus 10

by Pixelboy_85 - Jam Entry

The Story:
You play an astronaut that is flying to space the next day. You go to a bar, drink a lot. You wake up and realise that you overslept. You manage to get to the rocket but have only 10 seconds left. You climb the rocket but it's too late. You get caught in a rope and here starts the actual game...

Controls:
Click and hold left mouse button to move the player. Grab stuff you need with your hands, don't get hit!

Not my jam this time. A lot of frustrating difficulties. At one moment my chair broke :D

I had the grand vision that you would travel through space and encounter more and more hazards and get new status bars on the side. Temperature, radioactivity, hunger, etc.

And I even voted against "space" :D
Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor(Jam)4.31
#61Fun(Jam)3.58
#85Innovation(Jam)3.53
#105Overall(Jam)3.53
#149Graphics(Jam)3.79
#543Theme(Jam)2.39
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

Zap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:03am

This is great! The art is pretty neat

It's a bit unclear where the helmet/health needs to hit in order to be collected - like helmet to head makes sense, but the health would often hit the body and just bounce away. It's also frustrating that collecting health destroys the helmet.

It would be cool to see this expanded in the way you're thinking - more status bars. Nice effort

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:14am

You have to catch everything with the hands, not the head :)

Zap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Ohhhhhhh... ha ha, I couldn't tell. I'll have to play again with that in mind. Maybe it was misleading because the head is much larger than the rest of his body?
Maybe if his hands grabbed at objects it would become clearer?

Pixelboy_85 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Yeah, you're right. There is a lot I could improve to make things clearer, but I won't :D I don't think I can make this a good game. I learned a lot with this project though. Check out my other games for a bit more fun.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice graphics, real style to it! I couldn't stop playing

awppy says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:54pm

The first time a space helmet fell out of the rocket, konked me in the head, and broke the helmet I was wearing made me laugh. Same goes for the first time I realised you can stay at the far left and be invincible...until I got smoked by a meteor. Kinda sucks that health crates can damage you, but realistically, it makes sense. Pointy corners and whatnot.

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:08am

Pretty cool art and concept.

I think this game can be expanded upon, could become a really nice endless space runner :P

So keep working on it! :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:11am

hahahaha OMG GREAT!
Very funny! I loved the animations and graphics!

A version for mobile would be great!
Congratulations! Epic job!

TeamFlare says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Brilliant and funny idea :) Controlls could be a little more responsive :)Otherwise, awesome.

ratking says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Haha, Super hilarious game! Getting hit by a satelite is a serious problem astronauts have to face! :D
I just miss some music here, and Ouch!-sounds.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Hilarious, awesome idea, just need some sound to make it epic :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]