August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kittens Go!

by xhunterko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your drag racing kittens have only 10 seconds to live! Get them to the finish line faster by feeding them speed enhancing pellets! They're not drugs, honest! Can you balance your desire to win big with your urge to finish quickly? See if you can in Kittens Go!

Instructions:

1. Your drag racing kittens have only 10 seconds to live!

2. Get them to finish faster by feeding them speed pellets!

3. To place pellets, click on the black road!

4. Pellets cost money and their price changes all the time!

5. Go into too much debt and you'll have to quit!

6. Each kitten that passes the white line wins you random, yet decent cash prizes!

7. Get enough winnings so you can retire!

8. Press the Space Bar to pause! Press Escape to get out of pause!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#441Humor2.44
#705Graphics2.64
#925Theme2.70
#929Fun2.44
#946Innovation2.40
#1024Mood1.92
#1079Overall2.41

Comments

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37am

Interesting idea, I'd love to see if you took it farther.

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46am

White text on yellow background was a bit hard to read :/

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

Those kittens are cute... :3

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09am

For the love of God, change the yellow background or change the font to black, my eyes burn haha =) Good idea, would have liked to place multiple pellets instead of one at a time. Some basic sound effects would have helped a lot also. Really nice pixelart!

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Took me 20 seconds to finish. Maybe slightly too easy?

andwhatnot says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Cute and fun! I wonder what I get to do in retirement.

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Sorry about the text! I have added the instructions in profile.

@Zuige Maybe. Any ideas on making it more difficult?

@andwhatnot Whatever you like! It's your retirement!

Thanks to those who've rated so far!

xk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Its kind of easy, since you only need to click on those guys to win, there could be obstacles of some sort(for example some spike traps that you need to click on to deactivate). Graphics is not so great(kittens turned out cute though) white text on yellow background is terrible dont do that.

Prudiiarca says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:29am

It was hard to read the instructions (a darker background or font would be better) but it's a nice little game though. There could have been a more exact collision detection of pellets and kittens...

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:55am

Good concept, keep working on it!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:35am

Cool.

rezoner says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:43am

This is adorable. The gameplay is not so well yet but I think the idea has potential.

Andresh says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:49am

Would love to see you explore this idea more. Had fun though but some obstacles would be a good addition to the gameplay.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:37am

"Click to retire", hehehe. :D Funny concept, seems a little easy though.

Zap says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:04pm

White text on yellow was a poor, poor choice. Don't do that again. (Thank you for including the instructions here as well)
Interesting idea, but it's too easy and has no real strategy. Maybe it could be balanced by introducing a limit on how many pellets you can give at a time, or how much money is received.
The cats are pretty cute though! But I wish they had little legs that were frantically running :3

Lianne Booton says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:55am

Do they get sent to the glue factory if they don't cross the finish line? ;_; Good entry, and only the second game involving kitten death I've played this LD!

xhunterko says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:14am

@Zap Very sorry about the text. I thought it was a good choice at the time.

@Lianne Booton Sadly, no they do not. Thanks for playing!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]