August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BouncyTime

by Brejlounek - Jam Entry

Save your garden from bomb attacks of evil Hyghakaka by running over them with your car while ping-pong travelling through the same 10 seconds of time!

But beware, I don't recommend hitting yourself in the past, that could wipe out time. Sure, it's very crowded after a while. Time for which you survive is what matters!

Enjoy this simple time-bouncy driving game made using Game Maker 8.0 with mostly mouth-made sounds, rubber band-made menu music and time-bending gameplay :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#12Innovation(Jam)4.02
#26Theme(Jam)3.87
#90Overall(Jam)3.57
#109Fun(Jam)3.40
#166Humor(Jam)2.90
#264Audio(Jam)2.93
#273Mood(Jam)2.97
#449Graphics(Jam)2.70

Comments

7heSAMA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

Nice, this is the type of game I wanted to see more of - insertive time travel. Balance is kind of off, but big surprise there.

Instead of using esc to exit the level and mouse for the main menu, you should have stuck with one input type (or both).

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25am

Love it ! Can't pass 42 seconds haha too much myself from the past driving all the place. Funny sound effect, good gameplay!

PohyCZ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:18am

Awesome, this is such a great concept and well done!

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

Thanks! :) Lot of time went into balancing game (bomb slows done when there is smiley, for example), still the bomb detonates unfairly soon sometimes... Yeah, I should have stuck to keyboard input in the menu, I forgot in the process. I recommend headphones for the best sound experience :D

CoderDozer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Nice sound fx :-)

ErwanOfil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I love it so much, well done !! So addictive.. the audio fits perfectly :)

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice game and beautiful way of using 10 seconds as a theme.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Awesome. :) Not much more to say - I don't think there's much room for improvement, everything is pretty well executed and the concept is nice as well. Visuals are good, the sound is funny (so is the tutorial), so.. overall, high ratings for you, Sir!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Man, that engine sound, pure genius. The controls are nice, you've got a solid start for making some kinda time themed micro machines game.

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Best entry I've played so far, this is a really fun game and perfect for the theme. I love the lo-fi sounds!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Haha! Very fun game, the theme is very well respected and the SFX are priceless! :D

dook says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Great!

TeamAlpha says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

This game. It's fun, has an awesome use of the theme, the sound effects are simply amazing and the humor is perfect. Congratulations!

Blizzil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:20pm

The idea is really good, the gameplay works well and is fun.

The tutorial explains the mechanics well, the texts are funny, and the audio ... is freaking awesome! Best SFX EVER! :)

My favorite game so far.

Antidote says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Cool little mechanic! No spot is sacred after a minute of playing :D

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Excellent use of the theme, cool mechanic. Wheeeee!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:35am

Really nice play, interesting mechanic. Bug in the tutorial though where you can break spacetime as much as you like. Other than that a nice game. Good job.

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:38am

This is a very interesting gameplay concept!

I laughed at the sound effects

Quite fun to play :)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

liked the sounds in the menu.

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

VERY interesting concept, and well-executed!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Excelletn game and sounds. Great concept and implementation!

Too bad this wasn't in the compo :(

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:46am

Thank you all! Really glad you like it :) I originally wanted to put it in compo, but ran out of time. Coming up with something fun took me half a day :D

Vaalen says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:22pm

It's an interesting concept. The game is really addictive too.

Zammy says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Genius concept! Hilarious sound effects! Congratulations! :D

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:05am

Aw man, I want to play this but don't have access to a windows PC. :-(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:53am

very well done

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Great concept, mechanics, and theme fitting! Great to see sommething innovative unlike just slapping a 10 second timer on any regular game!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Fun game, simple enough at the beginning for the player to grasp which is nice

vladimirdlc says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Cool game, it reminded me of this one in which you had to kill yourself every 60 seconds and grab an energy ball, and the cycle repeated itself over and over again until you lose all your lifes.
I liked the interpretation of the theme, and the gameplay was fun. I would have prefered if the clock ran on the paviment instead of having an overlay, but is a minor detail.
Sfxs were cool, and art was ok, not my cup of tea, but surely is functional. The painted smile was a funny detail.
Btw, I tried to close the window, just hitting the 'x' on the border, and it did not work, is not a big deal, but I think is an usability issue to take into account in the future.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Thank you, everyone! :D

Jellycakes: That's intended, I thought player could die in tutorial too quickly and toss the game away. :)

vladimirdlc: Yeah, that not-functional [x] is a little weird, I programmed it as if it was fullscreen app... :D

psc1997 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Very Good Job :)
I really like this game :)

Almax27 says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Really nice idea :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]