August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Samsara - Humanities Rebirt

by DangerPenguin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Side-scrolling shump based on Samsara, the circle of rebirth. After being oppressed by the machines for 1000 years, the humans have devised a ship that can bend time and space. They give this ship to a young, but promising pilot. It is her job to use the time/space bending properties to "reincarnate" another version of herself that is 10 seconds behind her. If she loses her reincarnation, the ship will created another every 10 seconds.

Go forth, bend time and space, and SAVE HUMANITY!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29am

Cool game! Catchy music and interesting concept. Needs something to make it more difficult over time, but overall I liked it!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Old-skool! Really liked the idea and the take on shooters with the shadow-self. Music and graphics and very fitting to the genre, would really really like to see a score, as I think I lasted quite a long time considering the hail of bullets!! ;-)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08am

First time I see a previous self in a space shooter game. Very good idea, I loved it ! Nice game and excellent application of the 10 seconds theme :)

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Really like the music and the concept of a shadow ship copying my last 10 seconds of moves - was interesting trying to cover as much of the screen as possible knowing that :) Good work!

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:15am

Old me is extremely helpful. Great game!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

Interesting concept and the music in the game. I wasn't sure if there was an end to the game, so I just stopped after a while. Hope I didn't miss a cool ending.

canvapps says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

space like shooters are always great, but you should add a score counter and speed up it a litle to make it challenging.
Great job!

Misfit says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Great audio, but needs more enemies and challenges.

brgarnet17 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Good game. :) Takes me back to the days of side-scrolling shooters and other shooters like "Galaga" and "Bosconian". The only commentary I have is that it could use a score meter and maybe some power ups and additional action sounds. Besides that, great mechanic. Hope to see later versions of it.

yagiz says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Nice music. Would like to see the game with more enemies/weapons etc...

euske says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Well made game, but it gets repetitive after a few minutes.

shard123 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Really awesome, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]